Found & Disabled: AT&T Startup SoundSupport


Last Updated:

  1. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    I know some of you have been wanting to get rid of that annoying startup sound on your phone. Here's what you'll need....(some instructions copied from Maerlim to save time)

    You'll need the Android SDK (guide to download and install is here)
    You'll need the USB drivers (Stickied post in this forum)
    You'll need root access (look for the Captivate Root thread by chaoscentral)
    You'll need Busybox (available on the market after you root the phone)

    Connect USB to phone with USB Debugging ON
    Open a Windows Command prompt in the SDK install directory
    cd tools
    adb shell
    su
    cd etc
    *******************
    I suggest backing up the file before deleting
    cp PowerOn.wav /sdcard/
    *******************
    rm PowerOn.wav
    exit
    exit

    THAT'S IT! I renamed the Windows 7 logon .wav file to PowerOn.wav and copied it to the /etc directory on the phone played it on startup, so you should be able to put whatever you like in there!

    If you want to copy a file there.....
    Open a Windows Command prompt in the SDK install directory
    cd tools
    adb push "the location and name of the file on your pc" /sdcard (example adb push %userprofile%\Desktop\PowerOn.wav /sdcard)
    adb shell
    su
    cp /sdcard/PowerOn.wav /etc
    exit
    exit

    If you don't know what ADB, Android SDK, or root access is - please don't try this and don't ask a million questions about it! Go read the forum stickies on rooting and sideloading FIRST!
     

    Advertisement
    LukeOlson, belyle and emuneee like this.
  2. emuneee

    emuneee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    31
    Will try this tomorrow...thanks!
     
  3. kkeo

    kkeo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works! Instead of doing a rm, I just did a "mv PowerOn.wav PowerOn.wav.old" so it's still there for whatever reason.
     
  4. Chromag

    Chromag Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    6
    Probably not a bad idea in case you have to return the phone.
     
  5. fojae

    fojae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    There's an easier way if you just want to get rid of the sound. Go to the "Sound and display" settings. Set "System volume" to 0. You will still see the animations, but at least no sound.
     
  6. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    fojae: that only works if you don't want to hear ANY system sounds. There are other sounds than that one.

    Here's how I did it:

    If you spend the small amount of money for Root Explorer (once your phone is rooted) there's a much easier way to do that.

    Open Root Explorer

    Go to "system" folder

    Go to "etc" folder

    Scroll down to PowerOn.wav

    Tap and hold the file to bring up menu

    Tap "rename"

    I renamed mine to PowerOn.wav.old

    Tada!
     
    droidgrl64 and tman42 like this.
  7. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    Come on Chick! I'm Jewish!
     
    Pinetree09 and radi0chik like this.
  8. gephoria

    gephoria New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    can someone post their default PowerOn.wav I acted to quick and deleted it without re-naming. thanks in advance.
     
  9. fojae

    fojae Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just curious, what other system sounds are there?

    Thanks

     
  10. jsmith8858

    jsmith8858 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's lots of system sounds, including the shutdown sound which you can rename/edit/remove, stored at /system/media/audio/ui. The shutdown sound is shutdown.ogg.
     
  11. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    The button push "beep" or whatever you want to call it is system tones. There are lots of them that I wouldn't want to get rid of just to save myself that one file :) Easier to rename it.
     
  12. olieebur

    olieebur Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    I bought root explorer, used it, and refund and uninstalled. Yes you can do that.
     
  13. radi0chik

    radi0chik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    16
    that works, but an explorer with that capabilities is worth it IMHO for what it can do :) But hey, whatever works :)
     
  14. gephoria

    gephoria New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    some people would consider this steeling. especially since it is such a helpfull app. way to not support the scene. -1 human point for being a cheap skate.
     
  15. lsutigers03

    lsutigers03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    42
    Here you go.

    PowerOn.wav
     
    oldTech likes this.
  16. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    +1 on that! As cheap as these apps are and as long as it takes the developer (usually one person) to perfect them, it's completely unacceptable to do something like that.
     
  17. JScott21

    JScott21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, im new to this and everything and im trying to do this, i have all the reccommended stuff installed and i have the sound i want to use renamed and ready to be put on the phone... but how do i use the command prompt to do all of the mumbojumbo. im trying to learn, im coming out of the blackberry side of this so im familiar with that sort of stuff, but this kind of has me stumped. i have the phone connected to the computer with the debugging on> but im unsure what it means to use the command prompt in the SDK.


    If i have the command prompt open, i write what exactly?

    C:\????

    i have my folder for my SDK saved right on my C drive as Android. so im just absolutely lost here
     
  18. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    You're actually really close! Just go into your SDK\Tools directory. From what you said it would be C:\Android\Tools.

    Once there, just follow the instructions above. ADB SHELL, ADB PUSH, etc. are all executed in your C:\Android\Tools directory.
     
  19. JScott21

    JScott21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0

    problem is my computer is saying this "C:\Android\Tools\ABD SHELL\ABD PUSH" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    it could be my computer... darn windows 7... i dont know whats going on with it
     
  20. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    No! Those are each separate commands!
    C:\Android\Tools\ABD SHELL
    su
    su
    cd etc
    *******************
    I suggest backing up the file before deleting
    cp PowerOn.wav /sdcard/
    *******************
    rm PowerOn.wav
    exit
    exit

    C:\Android\Tools\adb push "the location and name of the file on your pc" /sdcard (example adb push %userprofile%\Desktop\PowerOn.wav /sdcard)
    C:\Android\Tools\adb shell
    su
    cp /sdcard/PowerOn.wav /etc
    exit
    exit

    Get it now? You're calling a program in a directory.
     
  21. JScott21

    JScott21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    even if I type C:\ it goes to C:\Users\Jeff


    then if i move my android folder into there and i type C:\ - then i type android

    it says the same thing as before.... C:\Users\Jeff\Android is not recognized as internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
     
  22. Croak

    Croak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    29
    I suggest you do nothing at all if you don't even understand ADB commands.

    I've done an informal count on the various Captivate related forums, and I'm up to over 20 units returned to the store because people were dicking around without understanding what they were doing.

    At least that many more T-Mobile Vibrants have been claimed to be returned due to bricking, and keep in mind, this is just the people that posted about it. That's TWENTY FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS WORTH OF BRICKS people. Heaven knows how many "lurkers" screwed their phone up and returned it, but wouldn't be surprised if the returns number in the hundreds by now.

    That's pretty close to fraud, by the way, if not outright theft, and at the very least, it means that the NEXT high-end Android phone AT&T releases (if they do) will be locked up even tighter.
     
  23. JScott21

    JScott21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    well thank you croak, i really appreciate it, and i might be new to commands, but how do you think people learn, and believe me, im not worried about BRICKING the device, i know how to fix that too. I used to work for Blackberry, and all i need it the loader files. I work for at&t currently and have already fixed the Captivate for a few people, so I appreciate the words of wisdom. but honestly...... waste of time. I'm here looking for help, not here to be ordered around by someone with informal counts.... :)
     
  24. JScott21

    JScott21 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    and oh... by the way... the steak isnt locked down to bad.... so theres your next at&t device!
     
  25. MrTony

    MrTony Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    36
    JScott, I have to sort of agree here. You obviously don't know DOS commands enough to move around the OS. If you're at c:\ and want to get to C:\Android, type CD ANDROID <enter>, but I don't know if you should keep moving ahead.
     

Share This Page

Loading...