1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Foxfi and ZTE?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Team Android

    Team Android Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just got the zte warp sequent, not bad! but i can't get foxfi to work. my laptop and old android see the hotspot but won't connect, even though the foxfi hotspot is on! i remember my brother had the og warp and wifi hotspot wasn't working either, is this a zte thing?:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. SuperR

    SuperR Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    1,985
    there are 2 ways to get wifi tether working. first is by rooting your device and using one of the wifi tether root apps. second is using a custom rom that has it built in.
     
  3. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    its an incompatability with foxfi not an inability to use it as a hotspot. as superr said both of those things work just make sure you get wifi tether for root users off of the play store not from an outside source and use the generic ics/jb wlan0 profile
     
  4. Team Android

    Team Android Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    so rooting is a must if i want to able to use my ZTE warp sequent as a hotspot?
     
  5. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    yep. cant do it without root
     
    Team Android likes this.
  6. ral446

    ral446 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    10
    I agree with all the other posts. I have a rooted sequent with stock rom (b09) and use it regularly as a wifi hotspot. Right now, I'm using Barnacle Wifi Tether and it works fine.
     
  7. Team Android

    Team Android Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been reading about a potential Jellybean update, should i just root the phone now or wait until it's been updated? :D
     
  8. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    i never had much luck with barnacle it was always kinda buggy for me but im not saying it wont work. as far as the update goes though there are two problems with your theory. rooting wont effect your ability to upgrade. root now and youll still be able to run the update and do everything just fine

    also there is no guarantee youll be able to root the new update. the tool we have is built for ics, new update is jellybean. we may have to find a workaround
     
  9. rlphbgby

    rlphbgby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah root now. You can always go back to stock then update if you want.
     
  10. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    as far as i know rooting shouldnt effect the ability to update, as long as you didnt mess with any of the stock files that came on the phone. deleting or modifying anything that came on it originally will cause an ota to fail though. it checks the files individually on the system partition but if im not mistaken it doesnt check the system partition as a whole so adding things wont make a bit of difference
     
  11. Team Android

    Team Android Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    wouldn't the root just go away if i update to jellybean though? hypothetically speaking of course :p
     
  12. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    it should yes, then we may even have to find a new method to root it... though i have something in mind already ;)
     
  13. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    679
    and hey maybe if we're really lucky it will be a full update instead of an incremental one. that way i can just remove the checks from the original zip, toss root in there, and make it cwm flashable
     

Share This Page

Loading...