Foxfi /pdanettabletSupport


Last Updated:

  1. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have a Prevail thru Boost. I tether with Foxfi and pdanet for Bluetooth which doesn't work too well. I sometimes get a decent connection with Foxfi wifi but if I walk around it cuts in and out and then will jump on the first crappy connection it sees or just search for another open connection. Foxfi shows connected on my phone but not on the tablet when it drops. Is there a way to keep the connection more stable? I am using a Nexus 7 tablet Jellybean.
    Thank you for any help. My phone is not rooted. If there is a better way I will root if needed.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    If you root your prevail, you can just connect via wifi using this:

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?t=372451

    It creates a true infrastructure mode 'hotspot'. (as opposed to adhoc/peer2peer) Very stable, and will connect to any device.

    One note if you use this method.

    if the screen times out, your wifi shuts off... UNLESS you go to menu> settings> wireless & networks> wifi settings- then menu> advanced> wifi sleep policies- and set it to never
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  3. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    As Lordvincent said, once you root, your wifi will shut off when the screen times out. There is also a widget called " Stay Awake Widget that will allow you to set your screen to stay on while you are plugged in or are connected to a USB connection. This will keep your wifi on too.
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  4. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks for all the info! I read a bunch of the links but is there a no problems one click root available for the Prevail? I'm really not a pro so to speak. I have never rooted a phone.
     
  5. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426

    You've gotta use Odin which is pretty easy. Here's the link. You'll want to use this one. FF19 Gingerbread Rooted by Koumajutsu

    Just follow the instructions and post in that thread if you have any questions about it. I've used Odin more times that I care to count and it's easy once you get the hang of it. :D

    You'll need to install the drivers that come with the Odin zip, first. Make sure that you give it plenty of time for them to install.


    http://androidforums.com/galaxy-prevail-all-things-root/375550-odin-return-phone-stock-factory.html
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  6. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks guys took a while but I'm rooted with the new rom. I am trying to get the tether setup now.
     
  7. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I am now having wifi problems. It says error under wifi in settings and it won't let me check the box. I was trying to change the settings so it wouldn't time out but I can't even get that far. When I start the the tether app my tablet shows the connection but won't connect.
     
  8. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm In! I rebooted and then went back and things are fine. Tethered too! Thanks a million. I learned a lot tonight!
    What is access control? In was getting a message that tether was asking for it.
    Still having problems.. The wifi error is back. Damn.
     
  9. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I screwed up and I am back to stock again. I followed a different thread to root before I saw the post about using the ff19. I think that is where my problem came from. So how do I root from where I am? I followed the Odin thread and downloaded the root fff19 but I ended up back to stock.
     
  10. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    The easiest way to stay with a stock appearance and maintain root access is too use ff19 rooted image by Koumajutsu, and then to flash half-ass-rom (also by Koumajutsu.) There is a problem with the kernel in the ff19 rooted image and since Hroark is no longer a member of this forum, links in his Odin thread can't be updated.

    Half-ass-rom has its own kernel and full root access.
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  11. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks lord Vincent!
     
  12. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    oh, and access control, if you turn it on, restricts the people from accessing your data.
    they can still connect to you but they will have no access to your 3g unless you place a check in the box with their id
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  13. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    alright..I was all frikken wired out last night reading threads and learning to root and flash roms and CWM and...I ended up with the wifi error. I just went through the whole process again using the ff19 and partitioning my sd, flashing the rom etc. I used the ctmod3.68. Again, I am getting the same annoying wifi error. You suggested the half assed rom. Can I flash right over the current ROM or does it have to be removed in some way?
    thanks again for all the help.
    Edit: looking all over for the Half Ass Rom??? WTF
     
  14. vce2005

    vce2005 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    275
  15. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks brother. So I can flash right on top of the other?
    I see now that cwm wipe...
     
  16. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    yep flash right over the other one. h.a.r. removes everything as it installs
     
    lucky013 likes this.
  17. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    New rom same problem. When I try and tether a message came up that said "what the hell phone took over wifi.... Shutting down.. Now I have the wifi error in settings. Reboot fixes it for a minute.
    Anyone familiar with this and a fix?
     
  18. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    dumb questioon-
    are you turning off the wifi? it needs to be on to send data. (that is the message i get if i turn off wifi when i have the tether on, ir if i put the phone in airplane mode... )
    ____________
    did you set the device profile and method correctly?

    what version of the wifi tether for root users are you using?

    i use the one from the play store. setup is the same, you just have to turn off "force wifi driver reload"
     
  19. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    Turning off? No. That was the problem. When trying to turn wifi on I would see an error tag.
    I think I figured it out. I am using the version from the play store. I have it set to Samsung Captivate. I never checked the box to allow my phone as a user. I don't know if that was the reason but it is working right now.
     
  20. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    This is definitely keeping a connection better than Foxfi was. I just walked a route that Foxfi would drop in spots every time and this is connected solid. Now if I can figure out how to tweak the speed so I can stream video.
     
  21. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    You need to set it to Samsung indulge... And method to softap master

    And make sure wifi driver reload is off, or the phone well reboot when u get a call
     
  22. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I appreciate the help everyone. I learned a crap load in the last 12 hours! Great community!
     
  23. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I made the changes like you suggested but I wasn't having any issues. We will see what happens. I kind of liked that other rom better. This one is really plain. I wonder if it will work now that the wifi seems to be sorted out
     
  24. Lordvincent 90

    Lordvincent 90 ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓ Guide

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5,552
    Likes Received:
    4,380
    that wifi tether works on all of our roms. im using it on cm7 as we speak... very flashy as far as roms go :D
     
  25. lucky013

    lucky013 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm going back to cm7 :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...