Free Wifi Hotspot app?General


Last Updated:

  1. JonDroidX

    JonDroidX Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello all. Just wondering if there is an app out there for the HTC Rezound that will let you create a free wifi hotspot (like the dozens of apps that work for other phones). I don't mind paying for the app, but shelling out 30/mo to big red for something I will hardly use would suck...
     

    Advertisement
    mahdiss likes this.
  2. JonDroidX

    JonDroidX Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    No?
     
  3. Bhelios

    Bhelios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    31
  4. JonDroidX

    JonDroidX Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, but the only problem with this is I have to use bluetooth mode, which won't work for me because I am trying to connect my wife's iPad and in order to use foxfi I would have to jail break the iPad (which I don't want to do)...
     
  5. Bhelios

    Bhelios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    31
    In that case, rooting your phone will give you free wifi hotspot -- you'll be able to connect any device.
     
  6. JonDroidX

    JonDroidX Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was hoping to avoid doing that...
     
  7. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    87
    was really hoping to find one. foxfi doesnt work on any htc phones, which is crappy. 1-click wifi tether no root doesnt work either for some reason.
     
  8. Bhelios

    Bhelios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    31
    Definitely hear you. I'm not one to push ROOT ROOT ROOT on anybody -- I had my Droid Incredible for 2 years and only rooted it about 6 months before I got my Rezound.

    Once I rooted, I did NOT get into ROMs... just a perfectly stock phone with the added advantage of having free hotspot capabilities.

    Have not rooted my Rezound... once VZW drops ICS on us, I might consider it (mostly to remove all the crapware they have forced into my phone)

    Good luck with your search!
     
  9. JonDroidX

    JonDroidX Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Bhelios for your help
     
  10. Mountain Flier

    Mountain Flier Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I tried Foxfi for my HTC Rezound and it works great in bluetooth mode with my Asus Transformer Prime.
     
  11. Cares

    Cares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    38
  12. Bhelios

    Bhelios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    31
    Yep, works for us... OP would have to jailbreak iPad and doesn't wish to do so.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Hate to bump an old thread but I was wondering if anyone has tried foxfi running ICS?
     
  14. not2gutta

    not2gutta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wonder if it works with Ics as well. So foxfi only can be a hotspot with devices that have Bluetooth? I really want to use Xbox live thru it. Saw on the reviews that others were running their Xbox through it fine...hmm anyone do this? Also is verizon going to monitor me and throttle my data? I have unlimited and never use more than 4gb a month but Xbox would prob make it a lot higher.. hmm
     
  15. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    The app description says it's fixed for the rezound with ICS, if that's so I might just go ahead with the leak as I might need it next week.
    I tried to be nice with VZW and just pay to tether but use it for 5 days and 2 months worth of charges show up on the bill....even though I'm supposed to get it refunded that's just silly, your going to charge me for something I already pay for..then double charge me at that and waste my time calling in.
     
  16. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    28
    In my case, the updated version of FoxFi (ver 1.92.1)does now connect to the Rezound.

    In the past, it wouldn't...

    As it does now connect, I still can't get it to work... When I try the browser, it gives me nothing and Outlook fails to connect.

    I have even turned off the AVG firewall and it still doesn't connect.

    I'm not sure how to use the bluetooth selection. Everytime I active it, I can't connect to it..

    so, if anyone out there is getting positive results, Please let me know what I am doing wrong...

    Lego
     
  17. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Same here, it isn't handing out IP addresses like it should. wish they would fix it, with ICS I don't even see any reason to root other than that.
     
  18. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    I tried Barnacle. It worked for me. Weird, because it would not work on my OG Incredible, but works on the Rez.
     
  19. gruss

    gruss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    116
    Barnacle worked without root?
     
  20. Mr. Boom

    Mr. Boom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    84
    Forgive me. No. I am rooted. That's what I get for skimming and not fully reading every post.
     
  21. Corki2

    Corki2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    80
    I found out that you don't have to pay for the month of you only use a day here or there. You just have to add the feature (hot spot) when you need it and remove it when you don't. You are billed for the month but the days you don't use the feature are refunded on your bill. Verizon said you can activate it and deactivate it as many times as you need to during the month. I use it when my home WiFi goes out.
     
  22. Ted1Jones

    Ted1Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
  23. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    28
  24. Ted1Jones

    Ted1Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    I didn't try Extended Controls since it's not free, but FoxFi worked in BlueTooth mode only.
     
  25. Legobricke

    Legobricke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    28
    I can't get BT to work on the latest ICS leak...

    So, once the OTA hits (if ever) you may lose it.

    Lego
     

Share This Page

Loading...