Freeing up memory


Last Updated:

  1. jayb5

    jayb5 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might be common knowledge, but just wanted to share for those that don't know. You can free up a decent amount of memory by clearing the cache in your email, android marketplace, and people client (in addition to your browser cache).

    The easiest way to do this is go to settings -> applications -> manage applications. After everything is loaded hit the hard menu key and sort by size. From there you can click on each of the above applications and press the "clear cache" button.

    For me the email cache had the biggest cache size of about 9 mb. People or Albums will clear the cache but i'm assuming the next time you load the widgets, the pictures will take longer to load.
     

    Advertisement
  2. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    I have posted many times about this. People don't seem to understand how simple Android is and try to make things to hard.

    Just glad I am not the only one to get this. My phone goes so fast, sometimes I can't keep up with it.
     
  3. lldsandsll

    lldsandsll Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    1
    is there a clear all option?
     
  4. Dreamliner

    Dreamliner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    86
    No, that would be 'simple'

    :p
     
  5. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    no, but I believe there is an app that will do that.


    More Memory tips

    Have your SMS backed up and delete threads every so often. I use SMSBackup, which forwards my SMS to Gmail, labels it SMS, marks it as read, and archives it.

    The Marketplace and the browser are the heaviest cache users. if you don't have time to go through app by app taping the "clear cache" button, then just zap those two and you'll gain a lot of memory back.

    Some apps you don't use may be caching data anyway. I never use the IM or Voice Search apps, but they periodically accumulate some data in cache anyway. So just because you're not using it, doesn't mean it's not caching data.

    For the G1. Try to keep 25-30mb of space free on your phone. I rarely need to use the task killer now that I watch my available memory like that. I don't see lag at all. Yes, it was neat having 75 apps on my phone, but what good is that when i have to yank open the task killer because a bunch of them love running in the background, and there's so much lag. Honestly, of the 30+ apps I have on my phone now, I use MAYBE 10 of them on a daily/weekly basis. I had the bubble level, compass, light saber, metal detector, sky map, layar, and psycho knife apps for fun for 6 months, but what it came down to is that I didn't really NEED any of them. I used them each a couple times just to see what kind of cool stuff my phone can do, and showed them to friends and family -- but they're really anything I need to use on a daily basis.
     
  6. troyboytn

    troyboytn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an app in the Market for this but unfortunately it is for rooted phones only.
     
  7. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try it with 150+ apps. Not fun. I have a rooted G1 so I can keep more apps, just takes longer to clear the cache manually.

    Going to try the clear cache app for rooted phone and see how it does.
     
  8. jahsh

    jahsh Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see The Market in my list of application for my Droid. Any trick on deleting the memory for this application?
     
  9. kabbie_mcfeely

    kabbie_mcfeely Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    On the G1 it is listed as "Market" right under "Market Updater".
     

Share This Page

Loading...