Freeze with Bugless Beast


Last Updated:

  1. kassanu

    kassanu New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yesterday I rooted my phone and flashed BB 0.7.5 and I've had my phone completely freeze up, can't receive calls, buttons wont respond and I have to pull my battery to reboot the phone. I'm not sure what exactly is causing it, and it has only happened twice so far (both today). I wanted to ask if anyone else has had this happen.

    I have a nandroid backup of right before I flashed the ROM, should I roll back and try again or use a different ROM?
     

    Advertisement
  2. discohornet

    discohornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive had the phone hang up. Not hang up on a phone call but if I quickly go to phone and then wait for the dial pad to appear it would just sit black for three or four seconds. Kind of weird for something that was overclocked to 800.

    I imagine setcpu was to blame and it may have been going at a slow clip and was still juicing up.

    My guess though, and this is just a guess, is that setcpu hasn't updated but the bugless beast has. I get the feeling there are some minor tweaks that setcpu could do now that bugless has been updated.

    I don't know though. I ended up taking the beast off and settling for beauty because of the hang-ups i was experiencing. No point overheating a phone when it won't even go "fast".
     
  3. discohornet

    discohornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Overclocked to 800. Setcpu had all my profiles set (I think this may be the culprit).

    Everytime I go to use the phone I expect a dial pad but it takes three or four seconds to come up. It's not the end of the world but it's hardly the behavior of an overclocked processor.

    I have my profiles set like others have mentioned. Never really noticed increase speed and then the phone freezing began and that's when I decided it wasn't worth the hassle.

    I get the feeling with the new release of bugless beast that the setcpu needs to be updated too.

    Anyhow, anyone else notice this problem? Went to beauty until someone figures out what that was.
     
  4. jbarrett020

    jbarrett020 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    5
    been running BB 0.7.5 for 3 days and that hasnt happened once.
    not alot of help i know, but maybe its a home replacement you still have installed?

    just wanted to let you know i have not experienced this at all. maybe wipe and re-apply update.zip'

    i also have it at 800 mhz.
    what SetCpu profile do you have. i understand "ondemand" is best if your having issues
     
  5. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    95

    Just out of curiosity, do you happen to have your low clock set at 125mhz? A lot of people were complaining of insanely long waits for it to wake up from sleep with that setting.
     
  6. discohornet

    discohornet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually my setcpu would only go as low as 250 when using the beast. The beauty would go down to 125. For now I have it turned off to see if that remedies the problem. Thanks for the responses.
     
  7. geezman

    geezman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have had this happen once so far with BB 0.7.5. I had to do a battery pull. It's been totally stable except for this one time though. I have no idea what caused it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...