• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Freezes after recovery

Found a few threads similar to this but not quite the same, so hopefully I haven't opened a new thread when there is already one out there. I'm fairly new to the whole ROM thing, so please excuse me if I'm missing something glaringly obvious.

I have managed to root my Nexus S 4G succesfully. And I wanted to try and install some ROM's, specifically CM7. I have installed Rom Manager and flashed Clockwordmod recovery and everything was fine up until that point. My problem seems to be in installing new ROM's, I can download the ROM but as soon as it boots to recovery I get a little android next to an exclamation mark at which point nothing will respond and I have to remove the battery. If I try and fastboot and then go into recovery I get the same thing. I can then if I need reboot and flash clockworkmod's latest recovery and boot into recovery, and try and flash the ROM from there, but then anytime I use ROM Manager to try and backup it freezes up again anytime it wants to go into recovery.

I have restored my backup from before I tried CM7 and everything works fine at the moment, but I seem to be having the same problem, where now I can't even backup backup my current ROM in ROM Manager without flashing the Clockworkdmod recovery first. Is this normal?

Should have waited. Last time I looked at the list of supported phones the Nexus S is not there yet.
Updated 10/10/11
CyanogenMod-7.1 Released! | CyanogenMod

I'm a moron, didn't even think to check, all the instructions for doing it came from a Nexus S tutorial, which I thought was legit.