Frequent Battery Pulls---Bad?General


Last Updated:

  1. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a sports blog that I read on the train every morning on the way to work. However, something with the blog's mobile site causes my phone to freeze frequently and not be able to be turned off via the sleep button. My only solution is to complete a physical battery pull (HTC Droid Eris).

    My question is this: Are frequent battery pulls for the phone bad? It seems like the answer would be "very much so", or "not at all, pull away!".

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes very very bad..

    You are forcing apps to stop without giving them time to cleanup..
     
  3. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    If the phone is completely frozen (as in not responding to anything and won't even lock with the power button) then a battery pull really can't do much more harm.

    However, if it is frequently freezing completely, I would suspect something is wrong. Even visiting a website and crashing the browser should not bring the whole OS down with it.
     
  4. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes it can do much more harm if it is done all the time..
     
  5. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    A follow-up question:

    If I would like to visit the same website (I've posted on there, nobody seems to have a problem with it, and other websites I look at on the train never cause a freeze), is there a solution? Or just avoid that website on the train?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    It could be a bug in the site that the phone gets caught in. Possibly a Javascript loop? Maybe you should post a link to the site here and maybe someone else could investigate.
     
  7. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Could be something on the site pegging the CPU on your phone..

    Iv seen sites before that can bring any system to its knees..
     
  8. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gotcha, i'll try emailing the admin of the site. For reference, it's the mobile site of: Blazersedge.com

    Go Blazers!
     
  9. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    I went to the mobile site, and my phone is having no problems with it. However, I'm rooted and running a vanilla Android based ROM (with the vanilla browser). Someone with a stock phone will have to test it.

    Did you ever try clearing your internet cache by the way?
     
  10. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe I've ever cleared my cache...sorry, could you provide a pathway for that?
     
  11. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    And FWIW, I never have a problem with the site, unless I'm on the train. Not sure what that means.
     
  12. Tooleman694

    Tooleman694 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    11
    Im stock 2.1 and I went there and it slowed my ERIS down pretty good..

    Was able to get out and use advanced task killer to bring my phone back..
     
  13. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting. I haven't heard back from the admin, but I googled for info then cleared some of my bigger apps cache's and im playing around with my phone seeing if it helped at all, search from previous threads everybody seems to think it does.
     
  14. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    Is your train a EMD F40PH? Your phone can't stand to be in the presence of its awesomeness.

    ....sorry, internet joke.

    Anyway, in the internet app, press menu, then more, than settings, then scroll down and press Clear Cache.
     
  15. max.bern

    max.bern Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I just cleared my cache for some of the bigger apps, and wow, that did more for my operating system than everything else I've done previously combined...very fast!
     
  16. Demache

    Demache Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,011
    Likes Received:
    341
    So you might have had bad cache or not enough internal memory left causing it to crash. Good to see you've got it working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...