Fresh 1.0 causing 100% Awake


Last Updated:

  1. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    I am having this issue. I have removed all third party apps and the problm still exists. Is anyone else experiencing 100% awake time while using the Fresh 1.0 ROM?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Nope - I hate to beat a dead horse, but please download "Close Everything" install it, run it. push the end button to force phone sleep. Wait 1 minute. Turn back on and check awake time.

    I'm at 7% this morning.
     
  3. Herodroid

    Herodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    48
    I'm not having that problem with Fresh 1.0. I'm usually at 12-15% most of the time.
     
  4. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Nick, I hear you about Close Everything. but #1 its a paid app right?

    #2, I wasn't having this issue until recently (last two days) and I CANNOT FOR THE LIFE of me figure out what changed.

    i've been fresh for a week, had all my apps 3-4 or more days and have made no system changes. I just can't figure it out and it's driving me crazy.
     
  5. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Its' Free.. there is a paid one but I've been using the free on since Oct 11th
     
  6. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Alright, I downloaded it. Rebooted. ran it twice. Put phone to sleep, check in 10 minutes, still 100% awake. Reboot. Runt it 4 times. Reboot. run it 4 times. Put phone to sleep. 15 mins later, still 100%.



    AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!! WTF is going on with my phone now!!!????
     
  7. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Wow, so you have no widgets and no apps installed on the phone at all?
     
  8. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    I have widgets, but I removed 3rd party apps. that didn't work so I installed all again.

    Then I opened adv task mgr and kliied weather bug elite (which continues to keep starting again) and it slept.

    Then I turned on again, checked task mgr and weatherbug running again. now I am checking awake again and it seems to not be sleeping again.

    I feel like it's weatherbug, but uninstalled it and still get issue, but installed and killed, it sleeps. this is really weird.
     
  9. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    What active widgets are you using ? Like ones that update by themselves other than weatherbug...
     
  10. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Sportstap, no updates, clock/weather widget, Astrid, battery widget, weatherbug elite widget.
     
  11. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    It's definitely the weatherbug elite app causing the problems.

    I just soft reset my phone and didn't touch it after reboot AT ALL for 6 minutes. I power screen on, check awake time and it's 100%. Then I used task killer to kill weather bug and cut off screen again. Two minutes later the awake time is 2 minutes shy of up time. I am going to remove weatherbug again, pull battery and power on but leave to sit for 6 mins again and see if it slept at all.

    ***Weatherbug didn't cause this problem before ROM Flash, maybe something with weatherbug and fresh just doesn't agree...?***
     
  12. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    ive seen lots of people have problems with weather bug (i think its the source of your problems) unistall it and reboot do the wait thing and double check your awake time
     
  13. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Well I didn't give it 6 mins this time, more like 3.5 but the phone did sleep for about 20 sec of it, which was not happening before. I will let it sleep a bit more and recheck since mail and apps were probably starting up.
     
  14. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    @Nick - Force close, explain it a little more. I guess it doesn't kill all apps, more like it hunts for apps that should be closed and aren't and only closes them???

    I ran it and still had 15 things going under adv task mgr, but it said it couldn't close any apps at that time.
     
  15. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    Thats messed up, I have weather bug and no awake problems with fresh. I do not have elite... i hate to say it but would you mind trying it with the free version of weatherbug and see what happens ?
     
  16. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Confirmed, Weatherbug Elite was the culprit. That sucks, it didn't cause any problems until two days ago, I've had it for a week or more.

    Dangit, and now I spent my $$$ FOR nothing. Grrrrrrr.

    @702, have you heard issues about lite and elite? ...or just one of them?
     
  17. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    That is pretty accurate. Its not going to mess with anything that the phone really needs running.

    I also thought certain task managers were causing 100% awake issues :p
     
  18. nick325i

    nick325i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    189
    You could always hope an update fixes it or write the dev and let him know..

    Just out of curiosity, were you experiencing significant battery drain or are you obsessed with your phone sleeping for no reason ? I hardly ever check my awake time as it doesn't make any difference unless i'm having battery or performance issues.
     
  19. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Um. Well this could be a long-winded explanation. here it goes.

    After installing fresh. battery life got better. after the thread I read about not using task managers, I stopped using mine and was getting like 20 hours with moderate use, EFFING AMAZING!!
    But yesterday I saw my battery was just flowing out, and I was shocked compared to the recent days prior with such phenomenal battery life... this is what drew me to check awake time. That's when I saw the 100% awake for the entire day since my morning reboot.

    So ever since i have been messing around trying to find the issue... now I know it is weatherbug, all of the sudden... for no obvious reason.

    And yes, I will test the free one. I am also going to test elite again. This will happen over the course of today so check back later on this afternoon for my findings.

    Thanks guys, take care.
     
  20. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Okay, well I have determined that after a re-install weatherbug elite is now behaving correctly. Maybe something got hung up somewhere, I have no clue.

    Weatherbug free also not giving any trouble either.
     
  21. RhinoDoc

    RhinoDoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    I downloaded and removed WeatherBug for the same issue. After a few days my battery life plummeted. Now, I didn't try re-installing it since I knew it was the problem, I am happy with other apps.

    I installed Fresh ROM on Sunday and have been up 57 hours since then (well, at least my phone has been) with only 6% awake time, so I don't see a problem with Fresh.
     
  22. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Well!!! here's a nice little update, I emailed the creator of weatherbug, we went back and forth and he just released an update to market (only hours after speaking back and forth) that should fix it.

    @Nick - For all of our future reference, Spare Parts actually has a built in option that shows what is keeping the Hero from sleeping. It's VERY HELPFUL and the WB Dev was the one who told me about it.
     
  23. Penny

    Penny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Fresh 1.0 installed and Free weather bug app and no problems here either my phone is at 25%.
     
  24. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Penny,

    I'm not trying to be rude or burn you, but what's the reason for this? We are trying to solve a problem, obviously not everyone is experiencing the problem or no one would want the app.

    You're simply stating that you don't have the problem adds absolutely no value nor does it progress our trek toward a solution.

    Okay, so you have Fresh and WB, with no problems. Great.
     
  25. TF1984

    TF1984 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    277
    Update:

    WB Elite and Free widgets are again causing sleeping issue, even after Dev released another update.

    I am beginning to realize that I am basically the only one in the world having this issue, and that my continual updates are meeting no one's eyes. But, I will continue to push toward success, and document all the way. For there may one day be another who finds satisfaction and closure in my unwavering pursuit of a 100% functional WB Elite app.

    Here's to you bud.
     

Share This Page

Loading...