Fresh 2.0 Failed?


Last Updated:

  1. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    I flashed from the old Fresh 1.1 to its latest ROM. I followed the instructions step by step. Now when my hero boots up i get "Sorry the process android.process.media has stopped unexpectedly please try again." and "Sorry the process com.google.process.gapps has stooped." Then i get the "Complete action using" screen HTC Sense or Launcher. It seems like if i click HTC Sense i keep getting the Force Quit but if i select Launcher i get to the home screen but cant place phone calls......Someone please help.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Did you wipe before flashing the ROM as it says?

    I would re-flash the ROM, but make sure you wipe data/dalvik first.
     
  3. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    OK i dono what the heck i did but i had Fresh 2.0 running fine then i tried to update the radio and once i opened the update.zip in RA in it completely shut off my phone and now i doesn't turn back on....anything i can do to save it?
     
  4. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    There's been alot written here about warnings when updating the radio to be sure you use the one for CDMA Heros, and NOT for GSM Heros. Some have reported bricking their phones when using the wrong radio update. Did you use a radio update for a GSM hero? I hope not. :(
     
  5. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    did you get the update from geekfor.me or somewhere else? the one from geelfor.me is NOT named update.zip. did you rename it? if so why? (its no longer needed when using RA 1.5.2 or 1.6.2

    I would pull the battery out, let it sit for a few minutes, then put it back in and see if it boots. if it still won't power on, then you have bricked the phone.
     
  6. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. JB in AZ

    JB in AZ VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    267
    Yeah, unfortunately, that thread refers to the European Hero, which is GSM, not the SPRINT Hero which is CDMA.

    It even says:

    "The following Guides are for GSM Hero's Only (Europe)... US / Sprint Users Please See Here "

    There are many different opinions about what you should do now. Let your conscience be your guide.
     
  8. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    So, your phone doesn't turn on at all now? Can you still get to RA?

    You can try running the RUU also...if you can get your phone powered on.
     
  9. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175

    yep... you bricked it..you flashed the GSM radio.. what should you do.. there are several options.. one is to LIE about it and see if Sprint will replace it..

    another option is to LIE about it and claim it as lost

    or you could own up to the mistake and BUY a new phone..

    if you choose to BUY a new phone, then good on ya for taking responsibility for your actions (you knew there was a risk involved in rooting and flashing before you started right?)

    If you choose to LIE about it please don't post here saying how you pulled one over on Sprint.. as long as you can sleep at night
     
  10. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    Id be damned if i buy another hero thru sprint. Ill just buy another one on CraigsList :D

    For the meantime back to the Blackberry :(

    Thanx for all the help everyone!
     
  11. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    This just reinforces why it's important to read, read, read before you do anything like this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...