Fresh 2.1.1 is really good


Last Updated:

  1. redandblack1287

    redandblack1287 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    3
    Discuss.
     

    Advertisement
  2. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Fassssssssstttttt!!!!!!!! Holy crap! And my phone memory is way better than it was
     
  3. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Oh yeah, the bootscreen android does the running man better than I did in '96

    :D
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    except it's got the espresso launcher bar, and I'm too lazy to change that back to stock the way I prefer lol (yes, I know, that's being REALLY damn lazy :p)
     
  5. ptamburino

    ptamburino Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed this first thing this morning, after charging all night, and within fifteen minutes my battery was at 85% ! Does flashing ROM's drain the battery??

    When I realized this I restored my nandroid back up and had no battery problems for the rest of the day.
     
  6. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    did you reboot after flashing?

    Check your awake time.

    Also, sometimes it seems to take a day or two for the ROM to get the battery life it should, probably partly due to everything syncing up the first day
     
  7. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes, erasing and flashing ROM takes a LARGE amount of power, relatively speaking. You are wise to have started with a fresh battery -- many folks suffer a bricked phone by starting a flash on a battery that is almost flat. And the phone dies in the middle of the flash.

    Nothing wrong with your phone and certainly 2.1.1 is working very well. Been running it all day and it is super!!! :D
     
  8. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    Jumps right out at ya, doesn't it?? I could not believe the memory improvement. Wow. We knew there would be some improvements from the Sprint/HTC crowd and there are probably a number of "under the hood" improvements that they did, that we cannot see yet. But that is the nature of the beast.

    I have been evaluating Fresh 2.1.1 all day, just installed the radio upgrade from Flipz's site, and all is going well.

    Enjoy!! --- :)
     
  9. JonB

    JonB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    So it there anything that doesn't work still?

    I've always been afraid to root my phone, but recently, i've been craving something new. I'm just worried that simple things are going to get screwed up like VVM. I have never had it before, and now i'm spoiled with it...

    I'm just getting started into researching the whole rooting process, anything else i should know that isn't readily available in the tutorial?
     
  10. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    The tutorial is really complete. CCapasso did a great job and he updates it often. Just read it a couple times till you get the jist. You'll be alright...
    ;)


    Don't be afraid, Come to the darkside.
    Most everything works, at least the stuff you need. And they are always working to patch and make things better. And you will be so happy that your phone works the way it does that the little things that may come up won't even bother you.
     
  11. JonB

    JonB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome, i'll give it a go tomorrow night then! Off to do some more reading...
     
  12. apollomaker

    apollomaker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    8
    There is a great piece of wisdom floating around the forum when it comes to your upcoming experience. That is to both (1) use RA ver. 1.6.2 instead of 1.5.2. and (2) as soon as you are rooted and have the RA (recovery application) installed, MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP COPY OF YOUR PHONE.

    Explanation: 1.6.2 contains a fix for when you might want to partition your SD card that fixes a problem in 1.5.2. And, if something does not go like you want it, you have a backup copy with which you can reflash your phone back to your "starting" point real easy.

    Good Luck --- Ask for help if you need it --- Bob -- :D;):D
     
  13. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just got done flashing, syncing, and tweaking all my preferred settings.

    Noticeable decrease in overall lag. We will see how it holds up tonight.
     
  14. ptamburino

    ptamburino Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have re-flashed (is that a word) 2.1.1 on my phone and so far so good! Has anyone noticed any sign of the audio problem that was plaguing some phones? I had to go back to fresh 1.0 because I couldn't shake it.
     
  15. frylock

    frylock New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just rooted my hero a couple days ago and it was so easy i'm pissed i didn't do it earlier. I have yet to flash a rom or make any changes since that seems like where bugs and glitches occur, especially with the 2.1 stuff. I want to try the new fresh or damage 2.whatever but when I rooted I used the 1.5.2 recovery. Do I need to change to the 1.6.2 to avoid problems with the new roms, and if so how do I change from 1.5.2 to 1.6.2? Thanks
     
  16. reesejeric

    reesejeric Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    is flipz 2.1.1 a rooted rom. I have read about the latest 2.1 that closes the door on being rooted. I want to stay rooted. also i am running fresh 2.0d now what will be the ups and downs of going to 2.1.1 from 2.0d
     
  17. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    Fresh's 2.1.1 will keep you rooted. Also coming from 2.0d myself, it is noticeably less laggy and seems to be more stable. My battery has been lasting longer it seems, and it doesnt get hot as much.
     
  18. reesejeric

    reesejeric Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for info..
     
  19. puffx0r

    puffx0r Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had 2.0d for a day but couldn't stand the fact that when I pressed "Menu" twice, instead of just unlocking the phone, it would bring up the wallpaper/scenes menu. Is this still an issue in 2.1.1?

    And what's the "free space" on your internal memory like after a fresh install (before installing any apps)?
     
  20. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    Just tested the Menu > Menu. No pop up!

    Internal memory was in the 130 mb range. After a few apps I am at 127 mb.
     
    puffx0r likes this.
  21. ToxicToastKatz

    ToxicToastKatz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    37
    I'm trying to find information on installation of 2.1.1 over 2.0d. can it be done or does it require a complete wipe of the phone?

    If so, how would I handle a wipe w/ apps2sd active? Would I then have to reinstall all my apps?
     
  22. stinky

    stinky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    44
    I read a post or 2 on XDA of successful attempts from 2.0d to 2.1.1 without wiping. It is recommended to wipe every time though. Try it without and see what happens.

    Cant help with app2sd, dont use it.
     
  23. vastateofmind

    vastateofmind Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    8
    I, too, am absolutely ASTOUNDED at the extra space that's been freed up by (no doubt) Flipz' and Sprint/HTC's additional optimization -- I just flashed Fresh 2.1.1 ROM over my Fresh 2.0d ROM a couple hours ago, and after re-installing my 40 or so apps with only about 20% space remaining on my Hero under Fresh 2.0d, I *NOW* have over 50% space remaining on my Hero after Fresh 2.1.1! I really don't say it enough -- Flipz, you freakin' ROCK. Thanks a million for your hard work, and for giving new life to this semi-old HTC Hero! :D
     
  24. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    to flash this, is it a must to have the 1.6.2 RA cuz i'm still on the 1.5.2 (if those are the numbers)

    after flashing, do u have to update the Radio? does facebook sync work? i'm sure you all know i have to be the only hero user who has flashed these ROMs and facebook sync has yet to work for me
     
  25. pinoy724

    pinoy724 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm using fresh 2.0d and there is a flash update to get rid of the menu unlock button. Bugfixes & Requests: Lock Screens Geek For Me – Android CDMA Sprint Hero

    There is also a update for vanilla lock screen and menu unlock bug in one flash.
     

Share This Page

Loading...