FRG01B Forced now phone is almost unusable.


Last Updated:

  1. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last week I forced the OTA 2.2 for droid and now my phone is almost unusable. It was "kinda laggy" right after the update but now it is a 2 second delay just to get numbers to type in on the dial pad. It makes me wish I had waited.

    I did notice that EVERYTHING is starting in the background when I look at my task killer. If I kill everything then it runs smooth for maybe 30 secs before everything starts back up again.

    Is my slowness being caused by this or is there something else I can do to make is usable again. I am really hoping that FRG22 fixes this major problem for me as I loved my droid before but almost want to toss it out the window now.

    Kills me waiting 5-10 secs for handcent to even startup.


    Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may have to help me out here.
     

    Advertisement
  2. bzgunner

    bzgunner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    What apps are running in the background? There could be one that has a bug with froyo.

    Try turning off syncing and background data settings and see if it helps.

    Task manager can also mess up the normal operations of froyo. Uninstall it and see if it makes a difference.
     
  3. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Is there a list of Apps that have issues with Froyo?

    thanks for the reply.
     
  4. jdsingle

    jdsingle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    181
    How many programs do you have installed?
     
  5. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    75 or so I think....
     
  6. Darkwarrior006

    Darkwarrior006 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    10
    you may have to clear out your cache and do a factory reset. I do that before i load most of my roms and it works perfect. Back up your apps with astro, then do a factory reset and then force the update.
     
  7. bzgunner

    bzgunner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only one I know is task killer that can cause problems with froyo. I would try uninstalling that one first and see how it works.

    You can also just try killing one task at a time and see how it works. Most apps should not be slowing down your phone unless it is something poorly designed, but there could be one or two rogue apps that are causing all the problems.
     
  8. djembeman

    djembeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    Just doing a Factory Reset/wipe seems to have fixed my problems of lag. The instructions I followed. I also made sure to check the box in settings to back up settings to google and all of my apps automatically downloaded again.

    How to hard reset the Motorola DROID - Know Your Cell
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Task Killers that you have installed on the phone (but not actively running kill tasks all the time) will not hurt you or mess with FroYo.

    task Killers that you have monitoring for and killing tasks on a regular basis / routine schedule will degrade your performance, especially if the task keeps restarting itself.

    Moral of the story - don't let a computer program do for you what it thinks is right. Do some reading and realize that task killers are only needed when you get into a bind and have to force close a task. They do you no good for use every day, hour, minute, or any other time interval to repeatedly kill tasks even if you do not use them.
     
  10. crackdroid1

    crackdroid1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had the same issues, including random selections and closing of apps without user interaction...Then I went back to Cyanogen 6.0-RC2 with Watermark'D...
     
  11. Outlaw.99

    Outlaw.99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    34
    Im not sure its Froyo thats the issue... I manually updated, but started fresh on a clean slate and its been great... I only use like 5 apps though.....
     
  12. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I uninstalled some unneeded apps that looked like the were just starting and running. Then removed task killer.

    It is running better. Not great but better.

    If I backup my app with astro and restore it later will I have to redo all my custom settings for that app?
     
  13. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    Yes, user data and settings aren't backed up in Astro. If you are rooted, Titanium Backup will backup user data and settings.
     
  14. upsjopop

    upsjopop New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    "Moral of the story - don't let a computer program do for you what it thinks is right".

    John that is part of the problem. It is already doing what it thinks is right-loading the key ring app, Amazon and all the other apps that I have never used. Has anyone ever explained the reason for these apps loading on their own?

    John
     
  15. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Hi, John, nice to meet you - I am John. :p

    Actually, no one has ever given me a good enough explanation - and it is one of the reasons I rooted my phone - so I could get rid of those pesky apps, like AmazonMP3, and Corporate Email, that I never, ever use and never plan on using - by the time I am done with my Master's and Ph. D, this phone had damn well better be just a memory... and I ain't doing anything corporate before that, AFAICT.

    Besides, I can always add them back in if I really really really need to.
     
  16. Borntu

    Borntu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had major problems with lag after forcing the update, especially with my 3G. I held my breath and did a factory reset. Everything seems to be fine now. Remember to backup your apps with astro first.
     
  17. jdsingle

    jdsingle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    181
    You can always flash back to a previous build 2.0, 2.0.1, 2.1. I finally gave up on 2.2 after experiencing some weird SMS problems today. I'll sweat it out till OTA update comes.
     
  18. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I may have found it...

    The other day I decided to uninstall WaveSecure since I never payed for it.

    When I was done I rebooted my phone. Everything started working really well... I thought "there is no way that program could have done that to my phone".... It was almost as frustrating at it pausing because I had done really nothing and it was working correctly now.

    Well I think i just figured out what the real culprit is..... FLASH BETA 3.... Right after I forced 2.2 I put the beta on.... Well I was in Dolphin looking at a website and started the embedded flash vid and after that my phone started acting really laggy again. Not until it finally closed flash by itself did it speed back up again. My guess is that flash was stuck running in the background and was causing all my lag.

    If this is true I really hope it doesnt happen in the full version.....

    Anyone else having the issue may want to try killing Flash if it is running in the background and see if things smooth out.
     
  19. Lock-N-Load

    Lock-N-Load Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,309
    Likes Received:
    195
    1. I have never seen flash listed in ATK after using it.
    2. I have never seen Flash listed in about phone > battery use
    3. I have never seen Flash listed in Spare Parts as a running battery using task

    SO... not sure how it could be running in the background and affecting anything after it is used?
     
  20. BigDaddyCool

    BigDaddyCool Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well that may explain it... It has to "run" in some fashion on the phone.

    So if the phone is not registering it properly and some of it's components are getting stuck in mem then that could be cause the slow downs.

    I am going to test this theory more and see if it holds up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...