Friendstream?General


Last Updated:

  1. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    So i got the OTA update last night, but I do not have the friendstream on my phone. Where is it? lol I thought we were getting it with 2.1
     

    Advertisement
  2. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    no. we didnt get it.
     
  3. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6

    WTF!?! any reason why not? I must have not seen why.
     
  4. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    I guess the same reason we didnt get 3D gallery, pinch to zoom in maps, voice to text, etc...
    But whatever that reason is... I dont know.
    Maybe someone will figure out how you can get it like it has already been done with voice to text, and 3D gallery. But I havent seen it on here yet.
     
  5. DjCalvin

    DjCalvin Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Because they are resource hogs?
     
  6. lilbballer27

    lilbballer27 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    6
    Could be but my eris lags like shit now with this 2.1 I hate it.
     
  7. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    41
    I'm sure this is part of it.

    I'll bet they want to keep the Eris different from the newer Android devices. Probably to try and encourage people to upgrade and sign new contracts.
     
  8. akillys

    akillys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm running on 2.1v3 leak.I have heard a lot of people talking about not getting speech to text.this may seem like a noob question, but I have a setting for that in my menus and I can use it on the handcent app maybe this helps some one maybe I'm stupid but I'll gladly try to help anyone with my thoughts
     
  9. jlrosell

    jlrosell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    56
    In the Droids update the stock keyboard you use when texting or whatever has a microphone button. This was supposed to happen for the eris, but we didnt get it for whatever reason.
    You are right though. Handcent has that functionality.
    You can also download a keyboard replacement from XDA that looks like the droids with the mic key. That is what I have, and it works great.
     
  10. akillys

    akillys Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using swype beta and enjoy it so I'm not to sad that the key board wasn't included.Also the google search widget has the mic on it for those who want something else with speech to text.
     
  11. ericDylan

    ericDylan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    34
    because we eris users do not use the stock android keyboard ... we use the sense one. the eris has had the speech to text functionality since 2.1.1 but the sense keyboard has never utilized it, but other keyboards can access it (such as swype, better keyboard ect.)
     
  12. rvpartsguy

    rvpartsguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    25
    well i can say this, i like friend stream ....and it definitely does't lag my phone
     
  13. jpzsports

    jpzsports Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    7
    is there any way we can get the FriendStream app and install it similar to the News and Weather app for the N1?
     
  14. Praetorian

    Praetorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    23
    Mine did as well after the update but I performed a hard reset and the lag is gone now.Its also possible that lockpicker was the culprit as I experianced issues after re-installing that app. Its gone now and my phone is still performing well.
     
  15. alprazolam

    alprazolam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,722
    Likes Received:
    194
    If you want to look at this from a money standpoint. It is much better for Verizon if you stay on the same phone because you make up for the subsidy that they paid for the phone and then they are making major money off the data plan and your other features.

    Verizon sells faster and better phones because they have to if they want to remain on top as the number one carrier.
     

Share This Page

Loading...