Fring on Verizon's network


Last Updated:

  1. skier10

    skier10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi there.... Just a quick question to pose to the forums today :)

    A couple of minutes ago I downloaded fring to my incredible, and I tested out two-way video calling with a friend. It works pretty well, and I like it. The only thing that I'm wondering about is whether doing that is against any of Verizon's service agreements related to data or something? Doing two-way video chat is definitely using a ton of bandwidth, and is there a limit to how much bandwidth you're allowed to use (not MBs per month, but actual live bandwidth)? It shouldn't be a problem, but I don't just want to make any mistakes.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32
    Wow that's pretty awesome. I was skeptical, but just called a friend on skype via fring and it was amazing. The picture was crystal clear on both sides, although the audio lagged a couple seconds behind, it was still audible. That's definitely something I'll have to try from phone to phone, I just have to get other people to download it.

    Thanks for the tip!
     
  3. illwill 12

    illwill 12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    17
    How do you get it to work with other phones? My brother and I both downloaded the app to our phones and added each other to our fring accounts, but when I try to do a video call there was nothing in the big screen. I have the incredible and he has the eris. Thanks
     
  4. skier10

    skier10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does your brother's Eris have Android 2.1? I think I read or was told somewhere that the new feature requires it.
     
  5. illwill 12

    illwill 12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    17
    Nevermind, I just found out that the Eris is not supported with fring.
     
  6. skier10

    skier10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh, okay. Maybe they will change that sometime? That's one thing I don't like about android, is that developers seem to not support not-very-old devices :(
     
    illwill 12 likes this.
  7. illwill 12

    illwill 12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    17
    Yeah, his eris is running off of 2.1. Yeah I really hate that too. I can't wait to try this out though, but none of my friend's phones are capable. lol
     
  8. skier10

    skier10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh, yeah. Also, note that you can hook up fring with Skype so you can do video calling with all your skype contacts. That's actually what I did for my first test earlier today. It's so cool! :D
     
  9. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32

    I already said that......geeeeeeeeeeeez :D:p:cool:
     
  10. illwill 12

    illwill 12 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ok. I will give skype a shot then and see how it works. Thank you both for your help
     
  11. Dewprism

    Dewprism Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    From what I was told 5GB within 3 months is the max and once you've hit that cap they throw you off the data plan. Wack. Which ill never reach but don't call it unlimited data if you cap it.. I've had a Verizon Wireless sales lady tell me that.
     
  12. Liquoredolce

    Liquoredolce Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    32

    If that's the case, who has an idea of how much bandwidth video calls really use?

    I also feel like Verizon shouldn't be able to do that. Granted next to unlimited they say "5gb" or whatever, it's still labelled UNLIMITED, limiting the data should be considered false advertising.

    You can't go into a steak house for dinner and order a 12oz steak (8oz) or an all you can eat buffet (2 plates maximum).
     
  13. sail4fun201

    sail4fun201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    46
    You'll have to read Verizon's fine print about data plans and their permitted and prohibited uses here: Terms & Conditions

    Based on the permitted uses, it seems ok, seeing as "(iv) uploading, downloading and streaming of audio, video and games; and (v) Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP)" is permitted.

    Seems like you'd be ok. I'd tread lightly though.
     
    skier10 likes this.
  14. bgrutter

    bgrutter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    47
    My understanding is that they reserve the right to refuse data service once 5gb has been exceeded in a 1 month period. However, there are many members of this community that have reported use in excess of 15 on numerous consecutive months.
     
  15. merkcityboy

    merkcityboy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    This might sound stupid but how does video chat work without a front facing camera
     
  16. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
    Mirrors ftw :)
     
  17. merkcityboy

    merkcityboy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
  18. craigrn16

    craigrn16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wanted to try this but don't have that many skype buddies. I wished yahoo was supported :-(
     
  19. contagous

    contagous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    132
  20. skier10

    skier10 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah it actually wouldn't be very difficult to build some mirrors from the back. It would be a really nice thing for people who actually want to seriously use fring video on their incredible :D I'm so excited!
     
  21. kayst

    kayst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    63
    How did you get it to work to call a skype contact? When I select the option to add a contact, it wants me to enter a fring username. I added my skype account in the accounts section.
     
  22. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    FWIW, my Skype to Skype (no Fring involved) video call bandwidth was between 150Kbs -280kbs, depending on how much sound/speech was going though, per "Networking" tab in Windows Task Manager (didn't feel like breaking out PRTG). My 5 minute call racked up a little over 4MB sent and 3MB received...YMMV.
     
  23. Stormyfour

    Stormyfour New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm considering a Incredible 2 on Verizon. When I travel overseas I want to use wifi to make calls. Does anyone know if I can use Fring on wifi and not have verizon phone charges?
     

Share This Page

Loading...