Front facing camera mod for droid X?

Last Updated:

1. Ssully

Ssully Member This Topic's Starter

So has anybody done this yet, I could imagine 2 small mirrors attached on to the back of the camera would do the trick to angle the lens to face the front. It would have to be clipon to work over our cases. Any pics of this actually being done, if not lets get some pictures of future attempts at this. That would be finging fantastic.

-Sully out

Advertisement
  2. binary visions

binary visions Well-Known Member

I was actually thinking that a great mod would be a small LCD that could plug into the HDMI-out port, that faces backwards. You could launch the camera app and flip the phone around.

I really have zero interest in face-to-face chats over the cell phone but I am an amateur photographer and am really interested in about a 3" high def LCD that I could plug into the HDMI output of my camera so I could take oddly angled shots. That LCD would be equally usable in this kind of situation.

3. bigbadwulff

bigbadwulff Well-Known Member

Funny. As I read the title of your post I immediately thought of mirrors before I even read the post. Or put the phone facing one big mirror.

4. masse

masse Well-Known Member

Mirrors wouldn't work. I'll leave it up to you to figure out why. The HDMI LCD on the other hand would be cool to see.

5. Hrethgir

Hrethgir Well-Known Member

Yes they would, it would be like a periscope. And it's already been done, I saw something like this for the iPhone to make it easier to take a pic of yourself. It had 2 mirrors and 2 suction cups to hold it on the phone. But I also have no intrest in video calling, so I've never used anything like that, and probably never would.

6. Doit2it

Doit2it Well-Known Member Contributor