Froydvillain & sense??


Last Updated:

  1. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    What do I lose regarding the htc sense if I install the froydvillain 1.2.1?? Sorry for the Q, but I'm a noob at this...
     

    Advertisement
  2. Karum

    Karum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    FroydVillain has NO HTC Sense UI whatsoever meaning you'll lose the HTC Sense type widgets as well and your lock screen is different to HTC Sense also.

    Instead it comes with LauncherPro as the launcher/home screen UI which is based on stock Android with it's own flavour and to be honest it's a great interface, at least in my opinion anyways. This is not a bad thing though as LauncherPro is being updated with it's own widgets which are very similar to some of the Sense widgets but you have to upgrade to the paid version of LauncherPro (LauncherPro Plus) which is pretty cheap and is imo definitely worth it as the widgets are quite nice. I combine those and an app called Beautiful Widgets (which is a paid app but is awesome) to run on my Hero running the latest FroydVillain which is 1.2

    Here's a quick video showing some of the features of LauncherPro

    YouTube - 3 New Killer Features Added to LauncherPro

    However, if you're really attached to Sense I'd suggest just VillainROM 12 or maybe checking out a different Froyo ROM that maybe keeps HTC Sense in there.

    Hope that's of some help.
     
  3. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    I don't think that out there is a custom ROM based on froyo 2.2 with SENSE UI on it.

    But I don't miss the sense. In fact, the sense is more sluggish and laggy than launcher pro and the sense ui has the widgets and that weather animation and all but, apart from these features, the launcher pro is equal to it.



    offtopic: the froyd v1.2.1 makes the notification bar, white? thanks!
     
  4. Karum

    Karum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah wasn't really sure if there is one that keeps Sense or not but I really like LauncherPro as a replacement anyway and it works brilliantly.

    And yeah it does make the notification bar white.
     
    1ceb0x likes this.
  5. 1ceb0x

    1ceb0x Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    Shit. I liked my bar to be black. Bollocks. Now this would be a nasty thing!
     
  6. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Karum

    Karum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Personally I don't have any experience with that particular app so I can't confidently give you a definitive answer so up to you if you want to try it out.

    I used the following thread to get my hero rooted and get my custom ROM installed. Obviously when it gets to the part about VillainROM 12 you just substitute that for FroydVillain 1.2

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-hero/54802-how-root-install-custom-rom-backup-more.html

    The method in that thread works just fine, little bit of work involved in it but if that 1-click root method works then that'd be awesome and I'd definitely be interested in knowing the outcome for future reference.
     
  8. Karum

    Karum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    I hate the white notification bar too.

    I'm waiting for the BlackMod theme to be updated for 1.2.1 :)

    @ Djdios: Don't use that app you linked to. It wasn't designed for the hero and you're just asking for trouble. Any of the several rooting guides stickied at the top of this forum (like the one Karum linked to) will work just fine :)
     
  10. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,478
    According to the xda thread the '1-Click Root for N1' app is confirmed to work on the 2.1 Hero. I believe our very own Nedamdam used it recently, in fact.
     
  11. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Oh really? Cool.

    Is there an equivalent app to flashrec that works on 2.1 then?
     
  12. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,478
    From reading the thread it would appear that ROM Manager is supposed to allow the flashing of Clockwork Recovery.
     
  13. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Do you need root to do this?

    I want to know if it works. We need a guinea pig here :) It might have to be adz :p

    Being able to root/put a custom rom on without downgrading to 1.5 would save everybody a lot of time.
     
  14. Karum

    Karum Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not to mention having me having to set up dual boot for XP/Win7 because HTC Sense decides it doesn't want to work with any other OS for me....or maybe it just does that in general.
     
  15. birthofahero

    birthofahero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    81
    Sure there is, Skyraider 2.5.2, I believe frankenrom has sense too.
     
  16. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,478
    Neither of these are ROMs for the GSM Hero though, which is the subject of this discussion. ;)
     
  17. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Not to mention the subject of this entire section of the forum :)
     
  18. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will try the 1-click root one of these days, and I let u know. Have another Question though. Is it enough to make a backup with the ROM manager (from market) and can I install Froydvillain rom via the rom manager???
     
  19. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Well, if the ROM manager works (and that's a big if, we don't know yet), you can:

    -Install the ROM Manager
    -Use that to install the custom recovery menu (That's where the big if is).
    -Make a nand backup
    -Do a full wipe of the handset
    -Flash the new ROM.

    You'll need to have a backup of your data because you'll be wiping the phone during the process. Oh and I don't mean the nand backup by that either. You need apps like MyBackup Pro (30 day trial) which will let you backup apps and text messages and so on.

    The nand backup is just there in case of emergencies and you need to go back to your previous firmware.
     
  20. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, thanks alot. Seems a bit more difficult than so. But i'll give it a try one of these days.
     
  21. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    One last Q. If the rom manager flash doesn't go through, does it brick or crash the phone?
     
  22. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    8,888
    Nah. You can't brick a phone by flashing firmware/recovery images (radios and SPLs can brick if you interrupt the flash though). Either it works, or it will give you an error message.

    We now know for sure that ROM Manager is a working way to get a recovery menu on whilst using the official firmware though :)
     
  23. Djdios

    Djdios Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool. Then I might try the 1- clcik root, rom manager and then install froydvillain.
    Fangx for the help :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...