Froyo (2.09.405.8) update - Windows not required


Last Updated:

  1. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    This is an alternative installation method for this thread.

    Read the first post in that thread fully before doing this.

    As before, this will update or restore your phone to froyo, and the exact same conditions apply as with the RUU: you need a goldcard if your phone is branded, it will upgrade any GSM phone, and it will wipe your phone's settings completely. It will debrand a branded phone, which may affect your warranty.

    This will not downgrade your phone, so will not work if your software version is higher than 2.09.405.8/2.10.405.2. However, if your OTA upgrade to 2.10.405.2 has failed (no wifi) then you can restore your phone with this.

    The flash takes place after the file is downloaded to your phone, which means there's no chance of a USB connection problem, and this method doesn't require a computer, and there's no need to have HTC Sync.

    Procedure

    - First of all, if you want 2.09.405.8, download this file, rename it to PB99IMG.zip and put it on your sdcard.
    - If you want 2.10.405.2 instead, download this file, rename it to PB99IMG.zip and put it on your sdcard.
    - Next shutdown the phone and start it up by pressing the vol-down key and the power key together for around five seconds. This will start the bootloader.
    - Wait for up to 20 seconds, and the phone will check for various files. It should start loading the downloaded file and then check it.
    - Once fully checked, it will offer to let you flash the file. Press vol-up for yes.
    - The phone will reboot fairly quickly, check the file again, and then flash the phone fully. At the end, select to reboot and you're finished.
    - Once complete, remove the PB99IMG.zip file from your sdcard.

    Problems/Questions

    If you receive a CID error it is because you don't have a goldcard. If you think you have one you don't, so try making another.
    If the phone does not find the PB99IMG.zip downloaded file, check that you haven't renamed it to PB99IMG.zip.zip. Otherwise try formatting your sdcard (FAT32) and try again.
     

    Advertisement
    Ravin Dave, yousurf, amir88 and 10 others like this.
  2. gr8lats

    gr8lats Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick question. Will following this procedure on an unrooted HBOOT 0.83 prevent me from rooting in future?
     
  3. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    No. It upgrades you to froyo and you can't currently root that with any released software (this will change soon), but you have the option to downgrade again.
     
    gr8lats likes this.
  4. courserage

    courserage Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for this. I tried last night and actually got the same invalid model error (130) that I was getting with the windows solution.

    I even factory reset the phone to try both solutions. Guess I am SOL for now....:(

    Thanks again for helping folks like me.
     
  5. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    If you get a model error, you'll never be able to flash it. It suggests you have different hardware - are you using a CDMA phone?
     
  6. vdubu

    vdubu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question. I have a Telus Desire (branded). If I use a goldcard and the method above, is there a possibility of returning it to the original branded condition (through backup or any other method)? If so, how (point me to the right forum)?

    Very much appreciated.
     
  7. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Lots of posts about this already - you can't rebrand a Telus phone, so you should check with Telus if they'll honour a warranty on a phone running official HTC but not Telus branded software. A backup can return you only to the rooted Telus ROM.
     
  8. courserage

    courserage Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Nope it is a TELUS phone (HSPA). The weird part is other TELUS folks have made this work, which of course suggests I am doing something wrong, but this method seems completely idiot proof.

    Going back to the windows thread there was also one other person with a TELUS phone who was getting the model error as well. Wonder if they had 2 different software loads out there....
     
  9. vdubu

    vdubu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah I see. Thanks. Ya, I'm still new here, so once I looked around a little more I found some more info. I guess I'm just worried because I really want this phone to do the trick for me, but I want to see its potential with 2.2, but if I don't like it, I still want the option to take it back. I dunno, I guess I can always try.
     
  10. legend618

    legend618 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    one i upgrade to froyo on my telus htc desire do i have to keep using the same goldcard or i can install a new Micro SD?
     
  11. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    I'll update this with a version of 2.10.405.2 later, since a lot of people are having problems upgrading to it OTA.
     
  12. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    I've updated the thread. I can't seem to change the thread title though, so if a moderator could do that please.
     
    DaveY62100 likes this.
  13. DaveY62100

    DaveY62100 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks very much for your help Teppic74.

    My phone is now working fine on 2.09.405.8, but it says there is a System Software update available. I am ignoring it because when I accepted this - Twice) I lost the use of Wi-Fi and had to go back to 2.09.405.8.

    The only question I have with ignoring it, is will that block any future OTA upgrades / updates that come in from HTC?

    Or would I be better off flashing to 2.10.405.2 as a file PB99IMG.zip. I don't want to loose wi-Fi again because in this poor signal area I need it for Internet and any downloads.
     
  14. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    OTA upgrades are usually incremental, in other words you have to go from 2.09 to 2.10 to whatever.

    If you install 2.10.405.2 and it doesn't work, you can always downgrade (using the tool I developed) and start again. But I think it's the OTA update failing, rather than 2.10.405.2 itself.
     
    DaveY62100 likes this.
  15. DaveY62100

    DaveY62100 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks. I agree. I'll wait and see what happens with the next update.
     
  16. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    When I rolled back using teppic's guide I was offered 2.10.405.2 straight away, didn't need 2.09.405.8 - this was 4 days ago
     
  17. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Oh, that's interesting. Usually you have to upgrade in stages.
     
  18. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    I was expecting to need to but it didn't...I assume there is more than one OTA as Vodafone had 2 for their 2.2 update (same build 2.10.xxx.2)
     
  19. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Every release needs its own update version, as it patches an existing release. The name will tell you what it installs to and from - e.g. OTA_Bravo_HTC_EU_2.10.405.2-2.09.405.8_releaseol2djq7rqarka2ka.zip.
     
  20. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
  21. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    Yes, they'd have to do that.
     
  22. scorror

    scorror New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've a branded O2 desire, just downloaded the O2 froyo .exe file. pls i need help and instructions on how to manually install this .exe file on my desire.
     
  23. teppic74

    teppic74 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    146
    You seem to be posting to the wrong thread.
     
  24. screamer

    screamer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    3
    Can you not get it from OTA and let it install It's self
     
  25. scorror

    scorror New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i couldn't get it from the OTA, i want to manually install it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...