Froyo 2.2, Settings > Privacy > Backup option, GONESupport


Last Updated:

  1. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    I posted this in the 2.2 thread but it seems to have been overlooked so i will ask here instead.

    The option to allow the phone to backup automatically to SD card in Settings > Privacy have gone, does anyone know where the setting is now or even if a backup option is even available in froyo 2.2, because i can't find it anywhere even after a factory reset.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. naths

    naths Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    10
    same here???....odd?
     
  3. carcotix

    carcotix New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    so..how restore a back-up?
     
  4. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    Doesnt it backup settings to the cloud now? Think it mentions this if you run the setup program.
     
  5. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Even after a factory reset you no longer get the option to enable backup during the initial setup.
     
  6. haris9

    haris9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    same here back up restore option gone. thats not good:mad:
     
  7. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not that i can see, i have performed another factory reset and gone through the setup app and there is no info about the cloud or backup/restore.
     
  8. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
  9. haris9

    haris9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    there is no option of privacy for me in setting. may be u have nexus one
     
  10. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Same here, privacy is not an option for me either.
     
  11. Mushhushshu

    Mushhushshu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    Nah I have the desire but Im using MCR rom which explains why I have it and you dont. Odd that the stock rom wouldnt have this anywhere though. Is it in accounts and sync or something like that?
     
  12. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    It's nowhere to be found, the option simply isn't there, unless a backup operation has to take place automatically before the option becomes available.
     
  13. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    Looks like its only the custom roms that still have the setting
     
  14. rasobey

    rasobey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did anyone except me notice a progress bar running after the update occurred, and seemed to be counting up in the background while the initial setup/tutorial ran? That could be the new online backup service.. if not I have no idea what it was doing :)
     
  15. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    huh seriously there is no more back up option in Froyo (sad)
     
  16. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think that was just restoring all apps and settings that were present before the update.
     
  17. stuball89

    stuball89 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    9
    Slightly crude work around;
    Make sure your settings are searchable (menu>settings>search..) then hit the search button and key In privacy.
    It'll probably be hidden at the very end of the list.
    Was there a restore option before? Cause its gone now. But presumably when you reset to factory defaults now it'll automatically restore??
     
  18. d.chatten

    d.chatten Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanks ever so much, no there was no restore or auto restore option there before, i must admit, it's rediculess having to do a search for an option that should be available in settings by default.

    Is there any way to add a shortcut to the home screen for this?

    Thanks again!
     
    yenrod likes this.
  19. dotmike

    dotmike New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Enabled the setting with the work around - doing a factory reset would just disable it again and not restore anything.

    Is it possible to restore old settings/data from the existing backup?
     
  20. shug176

    shug176 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone worked out how to do a backup yet ????
     
  21. dodgerthedog

    dodgerthedog New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Suffering the same problem having flashed from 2.1.:mad:

    Have done the settings search for Backup but no option to backup from SD card where the backup in 2.1 stored the backup data:eek:

    Lost all contacts, will be re-syncing phone later to try and recover which is maddening!
     
  22. idea

    idea New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just in case someone can't find it, Factory Data Reset has been relocated to Settings>SD & Phone Storage since it used to be under Settings>Privacy which is gone now.
     
  23. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    I read in another thread that this feature, despite being accessible via the search function no longer does anything. I think someone phoned HTC and that's what they were told.

    Whether it's true or not, I don't know.
     
  24. sookster54

    sookster54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    56
    During initial setup when you go through login gmail it shows you to backup settings after you login, not sure if that's the same thing.
     
  25. williamj1

    williamj1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    214
    when you start up the phone initially from factory reset, it talks about backup and says it automatically backs up contacts, messages, network settings etc to the sd card.
     

Share This Page

Loading...