Froyo 2.2 update on Droid

Last Updated:

1. pTac

pTac Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I am pretty new to the smartphone world and just recently got a Motorola Droid. I am still learning the ins and outs of these phones, and was wondering when Froyo 2.2 comes out will my phone automatically update to it or do I have to go somewhere and download it? Thanks for any help!

Advertisement
  2. caustic

caustic Well-Known Member

It should automatically update

3. rolltide2663

rolltide2663 New Member

Is the moto a855 getting 2.2? If so when?

4. larz

larz Member

supposedly July 13th

5. supertaperking

supertaperking New Member

Should I wait till the stable (verizon) 2.2. Froyo and then root and overclock? Or should I root and oc now? If I do root and oc now will I have a problem with the ota verizon update..... SORRY SUPER. NOOB

6. alamoe

alamoe Well-Known Member

If you root you will not get the OTA

Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

7. ttaylor0024

ttaylor0024 Well-Known Member

If you root the ROM you select will already have 2.2...... (You wont want to go back to stock either)

8. dmodert66

dmodert66 Well-Known Member

But in case he does... OP, yes, you can go back to stock, then apply the update manually once released, but as ttaylor said above, you probably won't want to...

9. supertaperking

supertaperking New Member

OK. I think. I will wait for the ota.... then
    Go root. Thanks guys.

10. tenpin477

tenpin477 Member

We don't know if we will be able to root 2.2 when it is released. If you are planning on rooting your device anyway there is no reason not to root and install a 2.2 ROM now

11. parlayguy

parlayguy Active Member

Holly cow. What are you guys talking about: root, oc, OTA, etc. What does this all mean and do I need to understand it to upgrate to Froyo, aka 2.2?

I have the Droid Incredible and am anxiously waiting for 2.2. How will I know when its available to download?

12. justinstrife

justinstrife Member