Froyo 2.2


Last Updated:

  1. Ostate24

    Ostate24 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was wondering if anyone has tried to put Froyo on there Cappy yet or if it is even possible? I know we only got a month yet till its hopefully released for us but thought maybe someone got the jump on it!
     

    Advertisement
  2. naxir

    naxir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    There have been numerous threads asking the same question. answer is that the international version has froyo but flashing it onto ours yields a lot of bugs since we require a different kernel than them.
     
  3. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate Captivate

    "Cappy" sounds so incredibly lame and immature. Let's not insult our phone, shall we? :D
     
  4. kisner

    kisner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    all i can picture is happy gillmore saying "just give it a little cappy...cap cap cappy....cap cap caperoo"
     
  5. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    What's a cappy?
     
  6. Graceflanger

    Graceflanger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Agreed..please lets not call it a cappy.
     
  7. kisner

    kisner Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's like a captivate...only extremely homo.
     
  8. acertainman

    acertainman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lol. I've been thinking the same thing but I'm new to the forum and just wanted to fit in, so I remained silent. :p
     
  9. Vtec

    Vtec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    4
    Lol
     
  10. Ostate24

    Ostate24 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cappy!
     
  11. John I

    John I Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    31
    Any word on when the 2.2 will be pushed onto the average man on the street's Captivate? Those of us who don't feel the need to root or run beta ROMs etc would like to know!

    John

    (Who also hates when people call is a cappy. It's a freakin Captivate!)
     
  12. Ostate24

    Ostate24 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a phone people relax....anyways they are calling for it to be released in September!
     
  13. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    Not until late this year....Unfortunately.....
     
  14. ronaldramsayii

    ronaldramsayii Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    118
    The Vibrant already has Froyo loaded onto it. I imagine someone will get it running on the Captivate soon. I don't have mines yet, so i can't do to much.
     
  15. King Stampede

    King Stampede Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone please explain to me what big changes Froyo will bring to the Captivate?

    Will it speed up the phone? New features?

    I played with my coworkers EVO that had Froyo and in all honesty it felt like my Captivate was a little snappier.
     
  16. TDQuiksilver

    TDQuiksilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    16
    I could have swore the Vibrant ran 2.1. Eclair.
     
  17. King Stampede

    King Stampede Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    The Vibrant does have Eclair. My cousin got his Vibrant a week ago and I checked. He was rocking Eclair.
     
  18. smeltn

    smeltn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    What he meant was the dev community already has a modded it to run 2.2
     
  19. mesasone

    mesasone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    7
    The three big changes are that you will be able to store applications on your SD card, support for all 512mb of RAM (currently we're only using 325 or something like that), and JIT (Just In Time) compiling which makes the phone 3-5 times faster. Yes, 300-500% faster. There are other features of course, such as native wireless tethering - although you can bet AT&T will be disabling that feature ($$$).
     

Share This Page

Loading...