Froyo/Android 2.2 won't run on your phone? Join us here...


Last Updated:

  1. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    This thread is intended to do a couple of things:

    - Keep all my whining posts about how Froyo won't run on my phone from cluttering up the various Froyo threads here
    - Bring together other Droid owners who can install Froyo just fine, but after Froyo installs, after all their apps have been reinstalled and their email accounts sync'd, find that Froyo won't run on their phone - they get extreme slowdowns and/or lockups and have to switch back to a 2.1 ROM
    - Suggestions for troubleshooting the inability to run 2.2
    - See if we can figure out what's going on!

    This thread is NOT for:

    - Advice on how to install 2.2 - please ask for help in the Froyo ROM threads. Please don't post here if you're having general problems installing or booting Froyo, or installing your apps on Froyo, or any other Froyo setup issues.

    This thread is for those Droids where setup, app reinstall, account setup, etc., is the easy part, but actually running Froyo after setup is where the fail occurs.

    If it turns out that set of Droid owners with this problem = just me, I'll have my quiet cry and move on. ;) But I'm thinking that others must be having similar issues w/the 2.2 ROMs, and maybe we might find a common theme.

    My results...after install of Froyo and sign-in to my primary Gmail account everything seems like it's going to be OK. Apps reinstall (put the phone down and wait for this to finish), setup email accounts and they sync, etc.

    Then, after it seems like it's going to be OK, the extreme slow-downs/lock-ups begin to occur - sometimes it takes 10 or 15 minutes, sometimes it takes an hour.

    2.2 ROMs I've tried:

    - The initial release (from My Droid World)
    - Birdman's release (from Alldroid)
    - Fabulous' release (from Android Forums)
    - Multiple kernels (from My Droid World)
    - Running and not running SetCPU, overclocking and not overclocking
    - Many battery pulls and restarts
    - Updating to the new baseband

    All w/the same results.

    I've wiped everything before installing, let the phone sit after install until all apps are restored and accounts sync'd, rebooted, pulled the battery, etc. I even updated to the new baseband in case that might help, but still no go.

    I've been loading ROMS for months, know the steps and gotchas, but 2.2 has completely stymied me. My phone just will not run it, no matter what I've done/tried. I'm actually beginning to wonder if I'll be able to run the official release when it comes out, if there's something fundamentally off w/my Droid that will make it incompatible w/2.2 (maybe the JIT component - earlier JIT releases always gave my phone fits).

    If anyone has any good troubleshooting suggestions for Droids that are 2.2-phobes, love to hear 'em.

    My next step is to load a ROM and then try to block app install by going into the market right away and downloading an app - I've heard that will stop the automatic app reinstall. Going to try that to see what happens, in case it's a specific app that is causing my issues.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    My phone is purring along great, but my brother is experiencing some issues. They are not as drastic as yours, so he's keeping it until Pete releases a BB...
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    RedFlea - have you tried aborting the autoinstall of your apps and manually installing them one by one? I have a feeling that one of your apps is causing your issues....

    Are you replacing hte default kernel that comes with the install? Are you going back into SetCPU and changing the values to match the new kernel?
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    1. Yup - I listed that as my next step in my OP - great minds... :)

    2. Yes, tried multiple kernels w/no joy...however, jdlfg is going to release a couple Froyo kernels this afternoon, and I definitely will be trying those!

    Thanks!
     
  5. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
    Who is jdlfg? Are you referring to Jake?
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    nope two different guys. Jdlfgs kernels were awesome for me in 2.1 roms
     
  7. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    ULV kernels. jdlfg somehow got 400MHz to run at 250 levels.

    I had pretty good success with them too on 2.1 ROMs. Can't wait for his Froyo compatible release.
     
  8. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
  9. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Update - trying again w/the ROM I got closest with on previous tries, Fabs themed Froyo.

    Trying to stop downloads was not too successful - I kept locking up as soon as I launched the Market, but I was finally able to get in after several tries and am blocking all but the most basic downloads - allowing temp monitor, setCPU, root explorer, and beautiful widgets.

    Droid is still responsive at this point as it's doing the downloads, and I have a weak signal at work so it's taking a while...I'll report more later.
     
  10. maddigital

    maddigital Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    44
    My first time setting it up, i logged into my gmail account during the initial setup.. it did the whole auto download app thing.. i wound up flashing back to try something else.. my 2nd time loading froyo.. i didnt login to my gmail account during that inital setup. I clicked,the bottom option of sign in later... or something like that. I got to the desktop and bam, everything ran amazing. Went on the web. tested that out. fast as anything. I then launched the market, it prompted me to login or create an account. Logged in and bam.. no auto download, no automated anything. it just gave me a list of items on my account. You could try that too.
     
  11. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks! I'll try that next...my current try looked good for a bit, but is heading south now... :(
     
  12. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I actually have a semi-stable setup running...replaced the broken Maps.apk w/the one that Fab posted, and I am charging now.

    Runs VERY hot...haven't seen it below the high 90s yet, during download of the few apps I allowed it was up in the high 40's consistently - took off the battery cover and was blowing cold air in!!

    Seeing if it will charge now - the other odd behavior I had was that it didn't seem to charge properly.

    Haven't done anything but run Temp Monitor - still haven't started SetCPU (but need to, to manage the temp issues) and haven't added my work email (exchange) account yet either. Going to let it sit as-is for a while and see if it charges and then try other stuff...
     
  13. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Ended up fail...tried the newer Froyo release, FRF57, and it looked promising for a bit, but then browser started locking up, then everything started locking up. :( Tried the kernel that came with it, and the 1.2GHz LV kernel that jdlfg released.

    Guess I'll wait for the next leak. :)
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    As we started discussing in the other thread, perhaps your phone has some obscure hardware that is going / has gone bad, to make the JIT fark up on your phone like that....

    Of course, it could also be other things, but as you mentioned, JIT was always evil on your phone to begin with, even pre-2.2
     
  15. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I wonder if there is a way to disable JIT on the Froyo leaks so I could at least confirm what the issue is...from what I've heard, the build.prop settings that we used to enable JIT on 2.1 builds aren't the same in 2.2...
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Good question - let's go take a looksie at a build.prop.
     
  17. smoked_toast

    smoked_toast Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to load Froyo +re-root +updated baseband in exactly the same circumstances as you and I've had the exact same experiences. Everything loaded just fine, logged into Google, did the sync but man was it slow!

    So I rebooted twice thinking maybe that would help and no dice. Still slow. Took forever for the SD-Card to initialize, everytime I rebooted too. So I restored my v8(?) nandroid backup of Bugless Beast and was amazed at how much faster it was than Froyo. Noticeably MUCH faster. Mostly with the transitions from screen to screen. Also noticed that the update baseband was still there. For me the performance hit isn't worth the update just yet, sticking with 2.1 BB for now.
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks, Toast.

    I'm noticing a pattern, I think.

    I load a new 2.2 rom and it seems to run fine. Get all my apps installed and add my email accounts, things look good.

    So I decide I had better make a nandroid to lock in what I have...that works fine as well. But as soon as I reboot after the nandroid things are never the same...lock-ups, reboots, slowness, etc.

    Anyone know what might be happening on the reboot that might be causing my problems?

    It doesn't help for me to go back and reload the nandroid I made before the reboot, since then I have to reboot to start it, so I'm in the same situation...

    Any suggestions/ideas?
     
  19. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Maybe ur phone just don't like the taste of frozen yogurt? :)
    Fix permissions, lay it down for a few minutes after you reboot, let it do its thing and then watch it fly.
    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  20. mhome

    mhome Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    10
    Swap SD card?
     
  21. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    SDCard is a good idea - but previous 2.1-based ROMs work perfectly fine for him.
     
  22. riffdex

    riffdex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    32
    I've noticed that some apps have strange problems on my new Froyo ROM (in addition to a few FC every once in awhile), but other than that Froyo's working pretty well for me. One example of problems I'm having is bTunes seems to have this problem now where every once in awhile it will glitch up so that it will not load my music library. All of the tabs will be blank. I can try to do "manual refresh" and it will stay that way. I can remedy this by going to Settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Downloaded > bTunes > Clear Data.
    This resets all my settings but it fixes the glitch and I'm able to see and listen to my library (at least until it happens again, inevitably). Or I can reinstall bTunes to fix it. There are other quirky problems like this I can't really think of other ones at the moment though.
     
  23. Rons

    Rons Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    If it might be an app try going back to a 2.1 rom and uninstall your apps then try it.
    So this way nothing reinstalls when you load 2.2.
     
  24. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks for the ideas...i appreciate them.

    I do have some good news, I have a working 2.2 rom in place!

    It's Fab's nexfro, and it's been running now since yesterday.

    Fingers crossed...didn't really do anything too different, except I didn't reboot after installing it.

    Before the fail would occur after first reboot when I made a nandroid, not doing that seems rio have helped. I did apply an update.zip he made, and rebooted after that successfully...

    :)
     
  25. JMTownsend83

    JMTownsend83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,
    I've had almost the same situation as you...
    I have tried Froyo first release, FRF57, BBV0.1, NexFro, Team Chaos Froyo...

    each time I have the same results...except that my situation seems a bit worse than yours...
    As you said, install/loading goes fine, but once loaded up, I log in to my google account, and then it freezes up on sync. so I disable sync, and it seems ok for a moment or 2, and then the sync icon appears in notification bar and it freezes.
    I have noticed that if I click "skip" on setting up my google account, everything is fine, but as soon as I log in to my google account, I'm frozen. also I do have problems with Market freezing my phone too, but considering it seems to be the google login that freezes me, I'm not sure.

    I wanted to state though, NexFro is definitely the rom that ran the longest before freezing up on me.
    I have been posting this question/issue on forums since Saturday, and until today I thought I had the one Droid that can't handle Froyo, but then a friend on Droidforums.net told me about your thread here...so here I am...
     

Share This Page

Loading...