FroYo FaceBook Sync?


Last Updated:

  1. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    Anyone know how to sync their contacts with Facebook on Froyo? I'm not receiving that error anymore (com.htc.bg) or whatever it was so i'm guessing i can probably sync now. thx

    SyncMyPix is an alternative but i actually want the sync!
     

    Advertisement
  2. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Found a solution yet?
     
  3. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    nah..just got off work and was expecting some answer but instead a :( lol..

    i don't think it's possible actually
     
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Syncmypix is probably the best solution

    Also try: open contacts, pick a contact, menu, edit, join, Pick FB Profile, done
     
    androidtp likes this.
  5. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    seems like that method would require me to sync all the friends on my facebook to my contacts..i have over 2000 friends :cool: lol..way too many contacts! feel like that would lag my phone :D
     
  6. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
    Nevermind
     
  7. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
  8. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    this method is assuming that you choose to sync all facebook friends to your phone's contacts, then go in a join them individually, right?
     
  9. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
    I was asking what happened to the "link" feature from 2.1 then read the previous post suggesting "join", which is the same thing. I didn't even know join was there lol
     
  10. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    yea it's there..but when you select it, it gives you the contacts that you already have. i'm guessing that you have to actually sync all the facebook friends to your contacts, then go back in and join the contacts to you want to sync..seems like a lot of trouble considering if you have a lot of friends it'll clog up your contact/people app..currently i have 352 contacts..don't need that to sky rocket to 2000+ ya feel meh????
     
  11. zkirkpatrick

    zkirkpatrick Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Settings > Account & Sync > enable/disable auto-sync for FB here
     
  12. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    thanks, but that's actually a known given. i'm actually referring to syncing individual contacts without putting the masses through your contacts
     
  13. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Most of mine Sync'd automatically. Those that didn't I "Joined." The trick is this. If you want them to auto sync, your contact name needs to be the same as their Facebook name. For example, if you have a contact name "Mom" and your mom is on FB, unless you join the contacts, it will not sync. So if you "Mom" contact isn't "Mom" on FB, you must join them. However, if your "Mom" is called Sue on Facebook, then change your contact to Sue WhateverLastname, and it should auto sync.
     
  14. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Yes, I think that's the general idea. Sync only those that you want synced with FB
     
  15. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    lol:)
     
  16. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
    Have you tried contacts->menu->display options & checking "only contacts with phones"? I doubt most of your FBFs entered their #s so this could greatly reduce the amount of contacts you'd have to "join"
     
    androidtp likes this.
  17. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    your first thank you!
    cheers :D
     
  18. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    this is a very good start
     
  19. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    anyone know if theres a way to sync the fb birthdays into your gmail calendar for 2.2? I know its possible on blackberry, not so sure about android
     
  20. JD_from_da_80s

    JD_from_da_80s Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    38
  21. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Try Ebo birthday from the android market
     
  22. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    andygu comes through again haha. thanks
     
  23. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Froyo and facebook is a $hitty combination.
     
  24. Phateless

    Phateless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    22
    Is any of this possible on 1.6? Would love to have all the pics connected.
     
  25. androidtp

    androidtp Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    64
    what makes you say that?
    you should have no problems with 1.6 although you may be using the "people" app instead of a "contacts" app

    also..this is froyo 2.2..not 1.6
     

Share This Page

Loading...