Froyo (frozen yogurt, Android 2.2) up and running on my Aria! A step by step guide to installation..

Last Updated: 2010-12-04 22:10:38
  1. mrdoc

mrdoc Well-Known Member

So.. finally i decided, its about time.. I got sick of low disk space issue and went ahead to root my phone and decided to go with Froyo. So far, I am absolutely loving it.. Even nicer UI, smoother and faster performance..

Here is a very simple guide on the process in case anyone is interested.. ( i should mention here that although i m pretty good with Windows as an amateur, i have NO experience with Linux at all. I was using Windows 7 and i believe it should not be any different for Win XP or Win Vista. Also, i have never rooted any phone before)..

1. Root your phone using Unrevoked recovery installer: Follow the steps in this guide or this guide.. (either one is fine)
    U only have to go as far as it says "Congratulations, your phone is now rooted and has ClockworkMod recovery installed."..

2. Then i made multiple backups of my phone using lookout, Astro, Gphone manager, Sprite backup and of course nandroid.. No u do not have to do all of these, probably nandroid is most important one but i just wanted to be ready as much as i could in case any thing didnt work too well!! I also copied the entire contents of my sd card to my pc..
    I also noted down the names of all the apps that i was using on stock rom..

To make a nandroid backup, power off ur phone, press volume down button and keep holding it and press power on button. Use volume up/down key to go to "recovery" and use power button to select. Then go to nandroid and press power to select.. From there it is simple to make a backup..

3. Next step is to wipe data/factory reset: Again, power off ur phone, press volume down button and keep holding it and press power on button. Use volume up/down key to go to "recovery" and use power button to select. Now select "wipe data/factory reset" and confirm..