Froyo help pleaseSupport


Last Updated:

  1. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have tried on 3 occasions today to update to froyo with no success. Thing is when my Desire goes to save data on my SD card I get this message; "an error occurred while saving your data to your SD card, the backup cannot be completed."

    Can anyone advise me as to what to do as I can't proceed any further.

    By the way my Desire is sim free if this in anyway helps.



    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You have space in SD? It's ota update?
     
  3. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes and yes.
     
  4. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Maybe not enough memory on SD card?

    EDITH: I see, I'm late :)

    Harry
     
  5. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    I am using the SD card which came with the phone, a 4gig.
     
  6. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have 2.55GB of available space on my SD card. Does that sound like enough space??
     
  7. Harry2

    Harry2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    5,186
    Likes Received:
    1,347
    Did you charge while OTA?

    There are some auto-mounting apps like iSincr, Double Twist, WinAmp.
    If so, the SD card is not visible for the Desire.

    Harry
     
  8. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Didn't charge during OTA.
     
  9. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    So can anyone else throw any light as to why that message appears when phone try's to save data to SD card??

    It looks also as if I'm going to need to do a factory reset. Is it best to try and upgrade froyo first before 2.2 update?

    Any advice would be very much appreciated.
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Froyo is 2.2
     
    zafonic likes this.
  11. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes I know, my error on my part. I meant to have said update from eclair to froyo.
     
  12. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Anyone else know why I am unable to save my data to my SD card??
    Like I have said previously i have 2.55GB of available space. Does this sound enough?
     
  13. swgastro

    swgastro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    15
    Try unmounting then re-mounting your SD card.

    Then press the power button + volume down + optical trackball to do a fast reboot.

    Then try OTA update.
     
  14. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    If it still doesn't work, download one of the official ROMS from shipped-ROMs

    Shipped ROMs

    That's the latest one.
     
  15. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks for the advice but all to no avail. Still coming up with the message as shown in my opening post.

    Could it have anything to do with the SD card?? I have heard there are different class SD cards.
     
  16. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    I thought with having an unbranded Desire I wouldn't have to do that. I thought it would have been straightforward when doing OTA??
     
  17. zafonic

    zafonic Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    18
    Would it help if I 'formatted' the SD card?? Would that stop the message appearing every time it goes to backup data on the card?
     
  18. bbanana

    bbanana New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with my HTC desire, when I'm trying to update the system the msg "an error occurred while saving your data to your SD card, the backup cannot be completed.", subsequently the update is failing in the middle of the process.

    Did you manage to solve this problem? I tried to fastreboot but without any success.

    Many thanks.
     

Share This Page

Loading...