Froyo on Hero!


Last Updated:

  1. rockypr

    rockypr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    From darchstar of XDA Forums...


     

    Advertisement
    vra111 likes this.
  2. rockypr

    rockypr Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    Includes JIT?
    I'll be really stoked to see some benchmark numbers off a Hero running this ROM for comparison.
     
  4. somedudeyouneverof

    somedudeyouneverof New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It kicks ass. Ive been running it for that last few days.
     
  5. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    the camera and video camera must be a pain in the ass to figure out since his darchdroid 2.7 had some problems with that too. will try this one soon
     
  6. chinkster

    chinkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    11
    whats new in froyo anyways?
     
  7. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    the biggest thing is that it's supposedly far more efficient than 2.1
     
  8. momoceio

    momoceio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    149
    native apps 2 sd, native wifi tethering, much faster browsing, voice search...voice everywhere
     
  9. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Just flashed it, gonna give it a whirl tomorrow. Can't wait to see what it is all about...
     
  10. Naz927

    Naz927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Link doesn't work anymore, any way to get a new one up, looked over at xda, didnt see anything.

    EDIT: Nevermind, I'm an idiot, copied the links wrong DL'ing now, gonaa have a few beers and mess around with it, I'll let everyone know.
     
  11. badkuk

    badkuk Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1

    ...and flash support
     
  12. wardfan

    wardfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've tested a few of the alpha build and they have all been super fast and battery life has been exceptional. Just flashed this version today and so far it seems on par with the alphas. I am still having some FC issues with the Market that started with the GoogleShits 91 version, I thought he had those fixed, but I guess not. Now if we can only get the HTC clock widget and vvm ported over I'd be happy. Before anyone mentions it, I did try Google Voice, and I was unhappy with how fast it picked up to vm.
     
  13. hakujin

    hakujin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    36
    wow.... it's pretty kick ass to hear that updates are efficient and use less resources, with better batt life, when usually in software these days, it's the other way around, more bloat, etc.

    I'm excited to sit on the sidelines on this one and can't wait to try it out when the minor kinks are worked out.

    BTW, since the devs are working on video, I wonder if there's any way to push the Hero video up to 640x480, with better audio codec support (for clearer audio)?!
     
  14. kermtfrg

    kermtfrg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might be a stupid question but thought I would try. I am coming from Fresh 2.3.3 and flashed this ROM today after doing a wipe. I want to re-install or move the apps to the sd card but mine is formatted with the partition. Everything I've read says I need to remove the partition. How do I remove it? I created the partition on the phone and was hoping there was a way to remove it on the phone.

    Thanks!
     
  15. D00mraptor

    D00mraptor New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    K, I guess this is a noob question but what exactly is Google shits?
     
  16. Thaxis

    Thaxis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9

    Don't feel bad I was thinking the same thing.
     
  17. kermtfrg

    kermtfrg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know it contains the Market because legally they can't include it in the Rom....not sure what else it has in it.
     
  18. longcoitus

    longcoitus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    google shits = all the google apps
     
  19. aceofspades626

    aceofspades626 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    10
    Can't include it in the rom?
    You mean exactly the way it's included in every other ROM? I'm a little skeptical of that explaination.
     
  20. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    This thing has been running super duper all dey for me. I haven't found any real issues with it for me yet. I wish facebook sync worked, but no biggie.

    Sent from my Hero CDMA using Tapatalk
     
  21. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    Oh, and 4.950 linpack score with jit enabled...



    Sent from my Hero CDMA using Tapatalk
     
  22. CRAZYISH

    CRAZYISH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    5
    sounds go0d just wish i had the BRAINS to do mine :eek:
     
  23. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779
    If you can flash a rom, you can get this working. It was easy, I actually think it was harder to set zen up...
    Sent from my Hero CDMA using Tapatalk
     
  24. CRAZYISH

    CRAZYISH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    5
    yea im doing some reading on it we will see ;)
     
  25. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    Yeah Zen was a pain in the ass for me, you had to flash updates for seemingly everything... didn't help that the updater wouldn't work for me either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...