froyo on rooted eris


Last Updated:

  1. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've seen videos on youtube where someone has rooted an eris and put froyo 2.2 on the phone. The question I have is if you can root the eris if its already been upgraded to 2.1 and if you can how in depth is it. Where would you go to get the program and is it as easy as the videos up for rooting with 2.1 from 1.5.
     

    Advertisement
  2. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    The reason I ask is because the videos I've seen have said that if you have already upgraded and try to root then you may brick the phone. To someone that knows what they are doing my question may sound ridiculous but I'm new at this. I'm also a gadget head and the idea of changing and adding things on the phone sounds awsome
     
  3. droblyer

    droblyer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    19
    Check out the stickies in all things root for eris. Not hard at all. I recommend KaosFroyo V30 for a nice stable 2.2 rom.
     
  4. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks. I went to all things root and found a good post called rooting for dummies. The only thing I don't understand in the prerequisite is that you have to download the rom you want on to your sd card and I'm not sure how to do that or where to go to decide what rom I want. Is every rom similar or do they each have their own tweaks and appeals. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated because as soon as I can get the rom on my card I'm gonna follow the steps in that post and hopefully root this sucker!
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I moved this to the Eris - All Things Root area, magic1, where you'll get exposure to many rooted Eris users with you questions. ;)
     
    magic1 likes this.
  6. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks a lot buddy. I need all the help I can get. I found a list of custom roms on the website the fuzz. It had kaosfroyo v30 and the newest v32. But instead of seeing one file to download it had like five or six. They were all identical except for one or two letters in the file. Do I have to download allof them or just one. I read thru the post "rooting for dummies" and feel like if I can figure out how to get the rom on my sd card and which rom to get I can manage the rest. I hope! Also once I get the phone rooted how hard is it to change roms if a better one comes out or if I have problems with the one I choose now.
     
  7. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    There's a great 1 click root app that you can d/l and use to root your phone in under 5 minutes. I believe you're required to donate a meal to a local shelter, the details should be in the thread. It's a great deal IMO. It takes all the labor and risk out of rooting and you get a brand new, customizable phone. Here's the link for the 1 Click Method http://androidforums.com/eris-all-t...is-app-apk-no-pcs-no-scripts-needed-easy.html

    I use this website for ROM's. HTC Droid Eris ROMs | TheUnlockr

    I'm currently running xtrSENSE 4.0.6.1. It's stock, sense, based but super super quick. I'm new to rooting and ROM's myself so I wanted something as close to stock as possible. It is a great, stable, everyday ROM. Here's a link for xtrSENSE 4.0.6.1 http:/http://androidforums.com/eris...4-0-6-1-apps2sd-oc-jit-flash10-htc-sense.html

    As far as D/L the ROM's, I D/L them from my phone's browser. I find that to be a lot easier than moving it from my comp to phone. Once you're rooted you'll want to D/L a program called "Astro File Manager" Once you have that installed you can use it to move the ROM you D/L'd to the root of your SD card so you can flash it.

    VERY IMPORTANT-Before you flash a new ROM make sure to do a Nandroid backup in case anything goes wrong. Once rooted, shut off phone, boot into recovery (hold volume down and end button), select create backup, nandroid backup. This will create a backup of exactly how your phone is set up. That way if anything happens when you're experiementing with ROM's you will always be able to go back to your original settings.

    Good luck and if you have any more questions make sure you ask. This is an awesome community and everyone is extreemly helpful.
     
    magic1 likes this.
  9. gotweed

    gotweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys which version of kaos is the most stable?
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    gotweed likes this.
  11. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Frisco. I see where you recommended v27 of kaos as being most stable. How well does v32 work? I'm just about ready to try and download a Rom and want to do it rite the first time.
     
  12. stanlalee

    stanlalee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    21
    Go with the latest version v32. faster, more stable and less things broken than previous versions IMO. Before v32 I couldn't make up my mind which I like better between Kaos and CELB froyo. Now with Kaos v32 + Launcher Pro I stopped trying new roms on my phone (though I'm going to try some 2.1 roms on my wifes eris to compare).
     
  13. eldealero

    eldealero Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have been using Kaos 32 for a couple of days now as my first ROM and I think it is great. I just used the usb hookup and moved the zip file from my PC to my sd card and followed the rooting for dummies method. Was very easy to do and well worth it so far!
     
  14. The Natural

    The Natural Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    v32 will be perfect to me if I can get the stupid navigation to work! Oh, and a fix to the gallery would be welcome as well.
     
  15. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's the method I'm planning to use. Do you have to use a computer to move the Rom to the SD card. I've already downloaded kaosv32 using my phone browser. If I have to have a computer then how do I move it?
     
  16. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    v32 is another great ROM by Kaos.

    However, I found v27 faster loading of the Gallery than v32 (neither one overclocked) and also the camera in v27 operates as it should, whereas in v30 and v32 it was unpredictable in more than one function.

    After some time, I came away with mixed feelings about v32, but the main one is that Kaos is moving forward (obviously ;)) but not all Erises are responding the same from ROM to ROM as the versions advance.

    I also found this true of releases of xtrROM (again, for my particular Eris). I have seen nothing as fast, stable and perfectly reliable as v3.0.3, and it remains my default as I test all releases as they come out for at least three days.
     
  17. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    I definitely want the fast and most stable Rom so if you have that with yours Id like to try it. Could you give me the download link. I hate to keep asking but like I said I'm very new at this. I did go to the site the unlockr that was recommended earlier in this post and looked at the different roms but I didn't see a big sign with an arrow saying "if you want this Rom, click here!"
     
  18. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Here's the Sense version of xtrROM 3.0.3:

    http://zach.xtr.i6ix.com/xtrSENSE3.1-SDclean.zip

    Generic version (the one I have as default):

    http://zach.xtr.i6ix.com/xtrROM3.0.3-fixed.zip
     
    magic1 likes this.
  19. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Another looming question I've got is once I've got root how do I change roms when I find on I want to try. Will I have to download the Rom with the phones browser and go thru the steps I performed to originally get root or is there something else I have to do?
     
  20. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
  21. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    I download the ROM zip to my computer,

    then attach the USB cable to the Eris and computer (making certain that USB Debugging is enabled via menu > applications > development check box),

    drag the ROM zip from my downloads folder in Windows 7 to the sd card root folder (the "E:" drive on my computer, yours may be different),

    then detach the USB cable,

    power down the Eris, go into the recovery menu via holding the volume key up and pressing the power key and holding them while waiting until the screen lights up,

    then using the trackball to navigate to "wipe," doing factory wipe, dalvik wipe and sd:ext wipe,

    then volume down to return to main menu, then flash from zip. ;)
     
  22. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Like Frisco, I download the ROM to my computer, but we differ at that point (naturally, my way is better... :) ). I have Dropbox installed on by my PC and my phone. I move the zip file to a dropbox folder. Then when I'm actually ready to flash the ROM I'll pull it from the dropbox onto the phone.
     
  23. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks to ya both. Can't wait to get started with this!
     
  24. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    You're welcome, magic1.

    Have fun and above all, as with most things worthwhile, take each step slllloooowwwwwwly. ;)
     
  25. magic1

    magic1 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've got one more question. I decided since this is my first go around I would try the 1 click method by jcase. It seems incredibly easy even for me! The only thing I want to know before I finish in recovery mode is if there is any way to use one of the two custom time I have downloaded with my phones browser. I have kaosfroyo and xtr3.0.3. When I went into recovery mode on the phone the only Rom was rootme.zip so I know the Roms I've downloaded arnt on my SD card. Is there Amy way to get them there without a computer?
     

Share This Page

Loading...