Froyo on Virgin Mobile branded HTC Desire phones


Last Updated:

  1. rumbataz

    rumbataz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    16
    Does anyone have any information on Froyo for Virgin Mobile HTC Desires?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    87
    try looking here:

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138774-froyo-has-senses-interface-s.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138703-froyo-made-browsing-more-laggy.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138808-froyo-2-2-ota-update-o2.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138567-official-2-2-out-ota-now-uk.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138757-froyo-2-2-settings-privacy-backup-option-gone.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138800-stupid-noob-i-apolgise-advance-2-2-problems.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138792-froyo-2-2-prob-lems.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138750-after-2-2-upgrade-no-keyboard.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138569-what-new-froyo-desire.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138671-help-cant-connect-my-wifi-network-after-froyo-update.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138665-how-long-did-your-update-take-im-stuck.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138716-cant-update-2-2-a.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138730-music-player-acting-weird-after-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138659-2-2-update-failed-stuck-help.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138741-gps-not-working-after-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138712-froyo-hd-video-lagging.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138740-how-i-got-mine-update-2-2-a.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138640-lost-3g-connection-using-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138725-what-am-i-supposed-have-after-upgrade.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138675-issue-vodafone-update-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138610-froyo-has-broken-my-camera.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138629-question-regarding-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138639-moving-apps-sd-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138110-has-anyone-got-official-froyo-yet.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138608-dictionary-question-froyo.html

    http://androidforums.com/htc-desire/138618-got-froyo-where-flash.html
     
  3. ukzen

    ukzen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    12
    Virgin is T-mobile in all but name ,so it will probably be September.
    There, that answer took less effort than copy/pasting all of the above links!,if you dont know dont answer.
     
  4. rumbataz

    rumbataz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    16
    Virgin Mobile uses the T-Mobile network, I am aware of that. However, handsets from Virgin Mobile are branded by Virgin Mobile. My question was whether anybody had information about Froyo becoming available on VM-branded Desires as the update will come from VM.
     
  5. PsychoMania

    PsychoMania Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    6
    A tech team rep from virgin mobile called me yesterday (after i'd sent an email asking) and said that they don't have to test or approve new firmwares. They said it was HTC's responsibility to release it and to inform us VM customers of the release date.

    To me it sounded like absolute BS so i've stuck froyo on using the goldcard method.
     
    rumbataz likes this.
  6. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    87
  7. Evil Genius

    Evil Genius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    87
    if you can't read, don't post.
     
  8. muzland

    muzland Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I asked something similar in another thread but got no responses.

    Check your firmware version as my Virgin branded handset is 1.15.405.4.

    I have read somewhere but been unable to confirm that this is generic firmware (indicated by the 405) so I dont think we have to debrand as they have simply changed the splash screen and the internet icon. So I disagree that this is the same build as T-Mobile. Virgin use the same network but not the same firmware.

    I can't see any updates when I check through the phone.

    If the above is true then we need to know if the phones are locked or not. I will try to give virgin a call today.
     
  9. rumbataz

    rumbataz Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    16
    ^ That is my understanding also.
     

Share This Page

Loading...