Frozen HTC Dream / Google G1 - Interesting situation


Last Updated:

  1. vertigo3009

    vertigo3009 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, although i am not technically new to the forums, i just recently made an account. But I have used this website numerous times as its damn good.

    UPDATE: The recovery mode cannot be accessed by the phone... Should i still buy it? is it still possible to fix this phone that keeps on freezing at the GSM proviers Logo/ opening video (Rogers). Someone, please advice.
    Cheers


    I have an interesting situation here: I have been offered a HTC Dream / Google G1, that is locked to Rogers and has the Rogers firmware et all. The price is $100.00 Cad or approximately $95 US. The problem is, the phone was interrupted during a software update (I dont know the details as to what and when the update occurred). The phone powers on and off but gets stuck on the Rogers screen. Thats all the information I know.

    Now, the person I am buying it from claims he does not know how to fix it (we all know thats bull as he must have tried a Hard reset). My question to you guys is, say he did try a Hard reset, but it didnt work, is it still possible for me to somehow reflash the phone completely, by for example, hooking it up to a computer. Or is there any other way to fix it? The only thing i do not want is a $100.00 paper weight that i knew i was buying, haha.

    Now, if it helps, i am pretty confident with playing around with software etc, but by no means am i an expert. The most extensive tinkering with cell phones I have done is Flashing Sony Ericsson phones via A2uploader (debranding it, or fixing ruined phones). So, i dont mind playing with this phone, as long as i know there is a light at the end of the tunnel or atleast a glimpse of it.

    Please advise
    Sincerely


    Vertigo3009
    PS Just to recap: The phone was interrupted during an update, Has rogers firmware, is now frozen, and i dont know if a hard reset was done, but for now i am assuming it has been tried and i am seeing if its worth the buy to fix it myself.
     

    Advertisement
  2. plugsmustard

    plugsmustard Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can easily fix that. just hold home when restating,with the right files(the FW you want) or try getting the update software from HTC
     
  3. vertigo3009

    vertigo3009 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting, i know all i need to do is reflash the firmware. But, from the procedures i have seen so far, for example, holding the home key etc, how am i able to put my own firmware? do i somehow add it to the root directory of the phone via a computer? or is there a program similar to A2uploader, where i connect the phone to the computer, i get the firmware from an independant website, then all i do is click on the "flash" button and it does it.

    Is there a step by step instruction as to how i can install my own FW when for example a hard reset does not work and the phone is frozen. For now, i think i am going to get the phone, as fixing it, eventually there will be a solution. I have not seen the phone with my own eyes, but was only told of the problems, and i doubt its a hardware problem as everything starts up, but it freezes.

    thanks for the reply!!
     
  4. plugsmustard

    plugsmustard Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    get the firmware from htc.com
    rename the files (radio and such) to update.zip (not update.zip.zip)
    put them on the root of your sd card one at a time.
    power off phone.
    turn on holding home
    press "alt L"
    press "alt S"
    (wipe data if needed)
     
  5. vertigo3009

    vertigo3009 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is what i found out after i talked to the seller. He said its a permanent brick and the phone can only be used for parts as he cant gain access to the recovery mode. Because he cant reach the recovery mode... he cannot do anything.
    Also, i read in a lot of places, that if thats the case, and the user has no access to the recovery console, you now have a 400$ paper weight.... but atleast it slides open haha.

    thanks for your input! much appreciated!
     
  6. plugsmustard

    plugsmustard Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    no problem...kinda shitty though
     
  7. vertigo3009

    vertigo3009 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So if its a permanent brick, with the solution provided above, i will be able to unbrick it? even though i dont have access to the Recovery Console / Recovery mode?
    thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...