Frustrated with music/podcast playback


Last Updated:

  1. Vance

    Vance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have had my Droid since release day, and I am still carrying an iPod Touch as well. My problem is that I keep getting problems with audio playback using headphones with an inline remote.

    For me, it is absolutely essential to be able to pause/play audio when out and about. People talk to me, I get up to the checkout stand, etc. And, the process of pulling the phone out, swiping it on, getting to the app and pressing pause just won't work. Headphones with inline remotes are the only thing that really work for me.

    The problem is that the Droid can't seem to play nicely with these remotes. The volume controls never work at all, and sometimes the pause/play works, sometimes it acts like a skip to the next track. Sometimes it just freaks out and starts cycling through my various audio apps (Listen, Pandora, the stock music app) and then eventually freezes.

    Has anyone found a workable way to do what I want? I need to be able to pause and play audio while the phone is entirely stashed away. Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. calbruc

    calbruc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    How about a set of Bluetooth headphones?
     
  3. Vance

    Vance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have a bluetooth earbud, but the pause/play does the same thing. Since this is for out in public, I don't want full headphones, so I have not tried any of those.
     
  4. calbruc

    calbruc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    Does your earbud have A2DP support? If not, that's probably the issue there. And, really, you wouldn't want to listen to music on a little mono thing meant for phone conversations anyway, right?

    What about something like these?

    Amazon.com: Motorola S305 Bluetooth Stereo Headset (Black): Cell Phones & Service

    They're behind the head, inexpensive, and should be able to control Play, Pause, Next, and Volume on at least the Music app. Probably Pandora, but I'm not sure about Listen.

    I haven't splurged for BT phones yet, but I can check out how those apps work on my father's Sonys tomorrow night, if nobody else chimes in here.
     
  5. Vance

    Vance Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    55
    I listen to mostly podcasts, so the mono would be fine, and these do have the A2DP support, so you can stream the music there. The problem is that the Droid can't seem to interpret the remote commands correctly all the time, whether from the headset or the inline remote. I have tried full headsets (thinking for the gym), but they all have the same problem.

    I can't be the only one who uses an inline remote for audio with the Droid, but I can't seem to find anyone else who is doing this and has found a solution.
     
  6. calbruc

    calbruc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    4
    FWIW, I messed around with my father's Sony DRBT50 headset for a few minutes over the weekend, and mostly everything seemed to work just fine. I couldn't control Pandora (when running Pandora and using the Play/Pause buttons, the stock Music app would start playing), but I'm not using the latest version, so that may have been fixed. Stock Music player and Listen both worked as expected. Though "Back" in Listen didn't move to the beginning of the current podcast, or the last one, it worked as if you'd hit the "Back" soft key, moving you to the prior screen, which was a little weird.

    Should also mention I'm rooted running Froyo, but I should still think you'd be able to get some decent functionality from your BT devices.

    Have you considered that maybe it's your Droid? Especially considering that it works sometimes, and not others. You may have faulty hardware.
     

Share This Page

Loading...