Full Exchange Support (Remote Wipe, Pin Lock, etc)Support


Last Updated:

  1. tipopilota

    tipopilota Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does the Incredible offer the full Exchange Support including Pin Lock, Remote Wipe without having to and get touchdown? That is the main thing that is going to keep me from getting it and staying with my iPhone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Reaver

    Reaver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have MS outlook at work and we have strict security settings that are placed on our personal phones when you add the exchange acct. The settings killed my windows mobile phone and restricted it severely. I synced using my incredible and the pin lock is there and so is the wipe but it did not handicap my phone at all. Droid is the way to go!!
     
  3. tipopilota

    tipopilota Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    2
    That is great news.. Finally a phone that offers this functionality on Android w/o using products such as Touch Down.
     
  4. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    A buddy at work got an Incredible and all he had to do was enter email address and PW and everything was set up for him automatically, full email/contacts/calendar sync, PIN lock/wipe set up.

    I was looking through some of the screen shots of the Incredible Exchange support, and frankly, (sadly for me) Exchange support on the Incredible kicks the Droid's a** in this area...

    Image Gallery: Verizon HTC DROID Incredible; Functions and Applications | ZDNet Photo Gallery

    I'm pretty amazed...HTC must have done a ton of work in this area, assuming that the basic exchange functionality in 2.1 on the Incredible is the same that comes w/2.1 on the Droid...really impressed. If that support could be sliced off and ported to the Droid that would be amazing. You guys are lucky.
     
  5. headcase

    headcase Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yup - this was why I returned my Droid in the first week it came out, and waited until the nex-gen HTC units came out. In short, it was worth the wait!
     
  6. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    How do you set up notification sounds for when you receive emails using the HTC Mail/Exchange app?

    Also can I accept meeting invites from my phone and the same question for notification sounds for meeting invites?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. IamReady

    IamReady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    19
    The email app uses the default notification tone for sound. Just open the app and select menu, more, settings. Same with calendar but you can select the sound you want for that...

    Yes you can accept/decline meeting requests on the handset! GO hTC!!!
     
    jprow507 likes this.
  8. bjanow

    bjanow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,763
    Likes Received:
    477
    Can you set up multiple Activesync accounts? The earlier versions had a one EAS limit which is why I have Touchdown. I have 4 accounts and previously I had to use iMap on the 3 additional ones.
     
  9. Duble_E

    Duble_E Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm reading to find that some people have remote wipe and pin lock working with Exchange Active Sync and some aren't with the HTC Incredible. Is the difference between having it work and not work depending on the consumer data plan ($30) vs. the corporate data plan ($45)? Which data plan have you guys that confirmed it works have? I don't mind spending the extra $15 but just need to know my IT department won't laugh in my face and tell me "I told you so!" if the active sync security policies aren't supported?

    Thanks
     
  10. johnperkins21

    johnperkins21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    36
    I have the $30 plan, and pin lock works for me. I believe remote wipe works, but I haven't tested it. I'll know more on Monday, but you definitely DO NOT need the $45 corporate plan to use ActiveSync.
     
  11. slbailey1

    slbailey1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    63
    You can only have 1 Activesync account.
     
  12. headcase

    headcase Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have a basic data plan, and PIN lock works fine for me. Even better, I installed LockPicker and now I no longer have enter my PIN each time I want to use the phone.
     
  13. Bunshaw

    Bunshaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    EAS is working great on my Incredible as well and I've installed LockPicker to bypass entering the password but I do want some security on the phone. Is there a way to use the unlock pattern with EAS? Has anyone figured that out?
     
  14. eyc

    eyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    97
    Were you able to get around to more testing? I just purchased this phone and although my firm supports it, they will have to install Good Mobile as a standard third-party program for Android-based devices. I've tested that program before and it is terrible. I would be stoked if we could go without any third-party. (I think the primary concerns are pin-lock and remote wipe).
     
  15. johnperkins21

    johnperkins21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    36
    Pin-lock definitely works, but as others have suggested, it's possible to get around, which might be an issue for some firms.

    I've not tested remote wipe. I was originally going to do a lot of the testing, but our Exchange Admin decided to pick up the phone on Friday and test it himself. :D I will try to talk to him about his test results then.
     
  16. hientule

    hientule New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first impression is this:
    1.The phone looks much better real than on the internet.
    2. It's fast.
    3. Gmail is great and it's pushed
    4. Screen is super nice and bright
    5. Conference calls doesn't work unless you made both calls. If someone call you and another one call in, you cannot merge the calls. If you made a call and another prison calls in, you also cannot merge the calls.
    6. You cannot copy/select in Native Gmail quoted text. You only can select text that you are typing for coping. You cannot select a text in an attachment. You cannot select text in SMS. It should be at least as good as iPhone in this area.
    7. Battery is running out faster than I would like. But the feature of changeable battery is great.
    8. Maps feature is great.
    9. Delete a person in favorite is a painful process.
    10. Skype doesn't work when WiFi is on but it does work on 3G
    11. During a call, other data service is not working unless you have WiFi on.
    12. In a Native Gmail thread, you cannot zoom on/out. It's particularly hard when it is embedded with some pictures.
    13. When you have 2 calls on, you cannot selectively end 1 call, all would be dropped.
    14. Verizon is great.
     
  17. eyc

    eyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    97
    Great. I am expecting to receive my unit on Thursday and I also will work closely with my Exchange Admin to see if remote wipe works properly. I will come back here to post my results.
     
  18. jliehr

    jliehr New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can verify, Verizon gave me one to test out and remote wipe works correctly. It will completely wipe the phone back to defaults. HTC has made Android a viable platform finally!
     
  19. getatjbrown

    getatjbrown Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been running it with Active Sync to Exchange 2010 since thursday of last week. It works flawlessly for me, including Pin Lock, and device wipe. My company is pretty strict when it comes to that stuff for mobile devices.

    I am using "No-Lock" though, to toggle when the PIN is activated or not. I use it all the time.
     
  20. johnperkins21

    johnperkins21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    36
    Our Exchange admin is out of the office until next week. I won't be able to confirm remote wipe until then, but based on other posts I'm confident it does indeed work.
     
  21. eyc

    eyc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    97
    I can also confirm that the remote wipe works. My Exchange Admins are testing right now, and I just received the following email in my Outlook email inbox:

    The remote device wipe initiated on 5/5/2010 3:54:15 PM is complete.

    Device type: inc
    Device ID: xxxxxxxxxxxx

    Note: To sync with Microsoft Exchange, you must remove this device from the list in the Mobile Options page.

    Otherwise, for security purposes, your device will continue to clear data if you try to sync again.



    Sent by Microsoft Exchange Server 2007
     
  22. Texag94

    Texag94 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    The only issue I'm having with EAS is that my all of my folders won't show up in the folder list in the HTC mail client. I can choose what folders to sync/monitor in touchdown. I called HTC tech support and they were aware of the issue and said that it was a problem with the Android OS and the Google was working on it. I was impressed with how quickly I got through to a real person and she was very knowledgeable and immediately understood exactly what the issue was. She said that HTC doesn't have a fix for it at this time and recommended a 3rd party app like Touchdown if folder management was critical.
     
  23. jaymz462

    jaymz462 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Bump- has anyone found out if using the unlock pattern instead of the PIN is possible?

    For the record, I'm the Exchange Admin for my company and I hate having to use the PIN. On my old Blackjack II with physical keys it wasn't bad, but it's a lot more annoying with only a touchscreen.
     
  24. jprow507

    jprow507 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    13
    How do you get shared calendars to show up? For instance I have a shared calendar I can see on my PC in outlook .... when I setup my account in HTC mail all my Exchange data came through (mail and calender) but not the shared Calendar.
     
  25. Bunshaw

    Bunshaw Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you are the Exchange admin I believe there is a setting where you can disable the requirement for a PIN but I believe it's global and would then apply to all employees.

    In the interim, I have uninstalled LockPicker and installed NoLock instead. It allows me to unlock once and leave the phone unlocked for as long as I need it and then tap the NoLock widget to lock it back. Let's not confuse things here though, it is only a stopgap solution at best and not a true workaround to the problem. The issue is that I still have to enter a PIN (a complex one at that) and the NoLock widget requires manual intervention and that I have enough foresight to know when I will need my phone unlocked for extended periods.
     

Share This Page

Loading...