1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

FYI "Weather Bug" is a battery killer


Last Updated:

  1. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just a heads up
    I have a HTC Eris and I loaded the "weather bug" app and I set it to update the logest setting it let you "60 min" and my battery was gone in a day all the time.
    It didn't matter if I had it set up as a widge on the home screen or just had it set up as a short cut and didn't open it unless I need info, every hour it would show up on my "app killer" screen running,
    So I removed it and for three days in a row know I'm getting pretty much 2 days run time on a charge.

    Just a heads up
     

    Advertisement
  2. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Did you you have it set to always use your location?

    If so, that might be what was draining your battery. Geolocation only works when GPS is always on (as far as I know). GPS, when it's on, is a crazy power killer.

    Just a thought.
     
  3. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6

    Hmmmm thats a god thought...:)
    I didn't think of that and I did have it setuse your location.
    Is there a setting to NOT be tracking your loc all the time?
    I didn't see it.
     
  4. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Yep. Go to preferences, scroll down to my location, and uncheck the setting that says enable my location.

    I also noticed that you said the update interval was 60 minutes. The highest is actually 6 hours.
     
  5. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Really 6 hours??
    I moght have to go back and take a look at that.

    thx
     
  6. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    No worries. Also, if you don't really need the widget then that'll help out with your battery life.
     
  7. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    well I just down loaded it again and set it to update every 4 hours and shut OFF my location and just set up a couple location by zip code.
    Going to see how it does.

    thanks
     
  8. RyanB

    RyanB Guest

    Do post how you make out, as I'm also having trouble getting a full day out of my battery (Droid). I've turned off the location feature, and may have to scale back more, or replace WB altogether as well.
     
  9. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Good luck!

    You can also try downloading Weather Widget. Takes up less memory than WB or WC apps. Its very accurate too. Doesn't drain the battery as much either.
     
  10. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK well the battery is doing waaaay better know that "my location" in the WB app is off. I think that the "my location" was the problem, setting it for 4 hour up dates is going to help big time. I think the " my location" setting was killing the battery because I was in my car on the highway and it just keeps trying to find the location, but you are flying by the cell towers so it never really locks on.

    Its better than the weather app that comes on the phone, I think that one is every hour at most??
    I'm much happier with it now.
    I really think people are setting there phones up to get info way to often and thats whats is killing the battery's so fast. Like with the mail I have mine set for 4 hours, its not a work e-mail so do I really need it every 15 min.??

    Just my thoughts...;)
     
  11. RyanB

    RyanB Guest

    Yeah, so far so good for me as well, just in killing the GPS for it.
     
  12. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Glad everything worked out for you.
     
  13. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6

    BIG help killing it.....:):)
     
  14. MileHighAko

    MileHighAko Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a big weather bug fan. As a hobbiest weather spotter and storm chaser, I have found it to provide the most accurate up-to-date information. But yes, it can consume a lot of batter depending on how you have it configured.

    If you move around a lot and want location based weather, but still want to conserve battery, try disabling the "Follow Me" feature, which tracks your location in the background. This way you'll still get your current location weather information when you open the app, but the background updates won't be consuming battery.

    Or, go like you've discussed, turn off the locate me feature all together and just pre-program the specific locations you want to track.

    I've been using the app for a year now, and have gotten into a habit of changing things based on the time of year and what I'm up to. For example, in the spring time when we have a lot of severe weather, I have it follow me and locate me with frequent updates. In the fall and winter, It's mostly just static on one or two locations.

    Either way, I'm very pleased with the application for what it gives me.
     
  15. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    So kind of an update.
    I set the "my location" off (much better battery life), Updates set to every 6 hours
    BUT I have noticed 60-70% of the time I wake my phone to do something (inside those 6 hours) and then check my advanced task killer app before putting the phone back to sleep, weather bug shows running......Why would it show running if it's not time for an update???

    I think I might remove weather bug for a week and see if my battery gets even better, that would tell me if WB is really draining the battery
     
  16. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Do you have the WB temperature notification in the notification bar? If so then WB, I assume, will be constantly running.
     
  17. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    no I don't
    thats whats weired

    I have been using the weather widget that comes with the phone and using it as a short cut on my home screen NOT a widget on my home screen, that way it won't update til I open it.

    Tried that with WB and it was still showing running like when I had it installed as a widget on the home screen. I also installed a rader widget, that only getting data when you open it.
     
  18. jwmacdon1231

    jwmacdon1231 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,139
    Likes Received:
    119
    Hhhmmmm...that is weird. Have you tried using Weather Channel app? Maybe WB just isn't for you.
     
  19. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    No not yet, might have to try it.
    Will post what I find
     
  20. droid51378

    droid51378 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have also ditched WB. I had it on my Moment & I never had any battery drain issues. Now that I have it on my Hero, it keeps my phone awake 100%. If I can not have it follow my location, have the temp in the nav bar or use the widget ... then what is the point. I guess I will switch to WC, but I like the WB better.
     
  21. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6


    My phone was NOT awake 100% of the time with WB installed it just showed up in my task killer all the time, when I had it set for updates every 6 hours. I don't need it to follow my locating or have the temp in my task bar, thats just asking for battery draining, Being able to get weather off the phone with one click on a short cut is good enough for me.
    We have to remember this is still just a phone with a small battery, not a laptop, granted it does almost as much.....lol
     
  22. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    Update, this set up is working as I like, the weather never showd up in my task killer unless i open the short cut on my home screen for weeahter info.
    Perfect.....granted not as cool as waking the phone and having the temp and condition right there, but the loooonger battery life this way is better for me.
     
  23. culo77

    culo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    i noticed a nice improvement on battery life once i set up a location and turned off the find me thingy.
     
  24. pjakesmith

    pjakesmith Guest

    Thank You for the post. I love to read interesting post that has knowledge to impart. These kinds of post are very helpful to me to increase my knowledge on different facts about life and other matters. I hope to read more articles from you and in return I will post also my articles in the forum so that others can benefit from it. Keep up the good work!
     
  25. gm991

    gm991 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6

    Who me???...LOL
    No prob, justing trying to optimize our phone...:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...