G1 BugsGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. stabby

    stabby Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    so I got my G1 yesterday.. and already i'm noticing some problems. Thought i'd run them by you guys to see a) whether or not i'm the only one, and/or b) if anyone knows of a way for me to fix them:

    1. myFaves - so first off, I tried to edit my myFaves icons and all of a sudden two of the circles merged together, so that one of the icons is kind of transparent, revealing the one below it.. and then there just an empty space where the 5th circle should be. That person's number still registers as a myFaves contact... i just have no way of selecting his circle in order to edit the icon or anything like that.

    2. Alarm Clock - NO ALARM! it goes off, but doesn't make a peep... i was almost late to work this morning.. eek!

    3. AIM - contact list doesn't refresh very often, if at all.

    4. GPS - thinks I live in Angola. ....I live in Boston.




    Anyone else having issues with these same things? ....Perhaps there's an easy fix I'm just unaware of?

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement
  2. turbo2ltr

    turbo2ltr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Adding.. ..this should be a sticky.

    If the gmail app was the last app running when you put the phone in standby, when you get a new email, the notification LED turns on, then off right away even though you have not read the email. I assume the notification is triggered, then immediately cleared because gmail is already running.. Kind of defeats the purpose of the LED though. It should stay on until you at least turn on the phone. You have to remember switch out of gmail before putting the phone in standby.
     
  3. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    the myfav issue - i had this issue on my bb, so i think this is a myfav issue, not the phone itself.

    as for the gps, it thought i was in the same location when i first used it but it updated soon after that. push menu and then my location and it should update it. it may also help if your outside as gps doesnt work very well if at all indoors.
     
  4. ram100987

    ram100987 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    the myfav issue - i had this issue on my bb, so i think this is a myfav issue, not the phone itself.

    as for the gps, it thought i was in the same location when i first used it but it updated soon after that. push menu and then my location and it should update it. it may also help if your outside as gps doesnt work very well if at all indoors.
     
  5. emonero

    emonero Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    My alarm works! did you choose a alarm tone? make sure you do.....I choose the rooster :D
     
  6. Mrcoolbrad

    Mrcoolbrad Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same issue with my alarm.. Luckily I don't put my faith in only one alarm and have an alternate alarm clock, I then set 6 alarms in a row for the next six minutes, changing alarm type, vibrate on/off, different alarm tones, used a sound from SD card, all No Go... I was pissed.. Because when I first turned on the phone I tested an alarm and it worked perfectly.. so, then later that night, I set an alarm and it worked, and then my alarms went off this morning on it.. so ? I don't know what happened. ?? either way, it works as of this morning, test again tomorrow morning.
     
  7. Huey Freeman

    Huey Freeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    Definitely woke up to the rooster today :cool:

    Annnd the AIM application is really blowing hard.. I hope the OTA can do something about that.
     
  8. ryansullivan

    ryansullivan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    My rooster works too! My roommates think that it's a new Woot-off item every time!

    My GPS is a little off too, by about 3 blocks.

    Also, my main problem is that my G1 locks up about twice a day. I was innocently trying to use the calculator to make a quick calculation, but when I tried to go back to the home screen... nothing. I have to remove the battery every time to get it working again.
     
  9. stabby

    stabby Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the rooster selected too, the time it didnt work! ..however, this morning I instead used an mp3 that I had imported form my comp... and it worked fine. i dont know if it was just a one-time-thing or if it had anything to do with the rooster tune? ah well... guess it's time to invest in a back-up alarm just in case ;-)
     
  10. Sundog

    Sundog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah, nothing more useless than an alarm clock that works SOME of the time, eh?
     
  11. rogue6

    rogue6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    AIM is regrettably very hit or miss. There should at least be a way of manually refreshing.
     
  12. PhantomTrace

    PhantomTrace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    5
    hahah i choose rooster too... today was the first day i used the alarm.... and today was the first day i smiled waking up to know i have the g1 :D

    & if your alarm clock isnt working you have to change your volume in settings.
     
  13. stabby

    stabby Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its official.... my aim is completely useless! 9 times out of 10 I have 0 buddies online... which is bull. A manual refreash option would be nice, for sure... but a usable application would be even better, hah

    anyone know of a way to save photos that were texted to you? If not, that's another feature android should get on ;-)
     
  14. Mrqwebb2

    Mrqwebb2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah my aim sucks too..half of the time it doesnt work and when it does it has people signed off who are on!!!
     
  15. obisununome

    obisununome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    +I read on another site that for gps to be accurate you have to go into your security settings and make sure GPS satellites and use wi=reless networks are checked. Then when you go into google maps locate yourself and let it get a lock on you. I got a lock after a few minutes and I was only off by a foot or two. and maybe that was because I was in my house by a window and the gps had me just outside my window. As for the alarm goes I use the roostere and im about to change it. Works great for a week now, just freakin annoyin.
     
  16. Danil

    Danil New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    But for some reason, my phone seems to fluctuate between losing and retaining reception randomly, even when I'm just standing still. I took it to the tmobile store yesterday, and they replaced the sim card, which temporarily fixed the problem, but now it's started up again, and I can't for the life of me figure out why =( Supposed to have full 3G coverage, according to the tmobile website, and it just tells me i have no signal sometimes even when i'm outside.

    Also, the battery life isn't quite as bad as people say it is... mine lasts for 2 days at a time with moderate use, which is a lot more than I can say for my old T-mobile Dash (HTC Excalibur), which sometimes wouldn't last a whole day on standby.
     
  17. FlyerG

    FlyerG Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    reception wise I've noticed.

    I get 4 bars when I have it 2G only. When I change it while I'm still in the same place it drops to 1 maybe 2 bars a somtimes drops out totally. I'm sure they still need to tweak the 3G network since it was just turned on recently but it might be an issue with the phone as well.

    Also, the vibrate is awful, it's seems so cheap and rattles my phone, it's just not a smooth vibrate.

    The speaker phone is horrid as well.

    I'm having a love hate relationship with this phone. I really like Android and see the enourmous potential, I don't care for the phone except for only a few aspects. I like the screen and I like the trackball but as for the rest of it, not my cup of tea.

    Personally, I would like to see it a touch smaller, thinner and lighter.
     
  18. emonero

    emonero Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    The only complains that I have with this phone is that doesn't play videos on the web other than youtube.....but that I'm sure will be fix with a software update....

    I like the keyboard...the keys feel ok for me.
     
  19. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone that is having issues with AIM or MSN....try logging into meebo.com and using data to talk to your buddies. :)
     
  20. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    I haven't had a problem with the alarm,
    I know this is dumb question, but are you setting it up to repeat? Turning your phone off at night? I leave mine on and charging at night.

    I've noticed if I just shut the phone off, give it a couple minutes, then turn it back on every couple days, it seems to help with battery life and the rest. Considering I used to have to restart my Wing every night before bed or not have any alarm to speak of, even a 3rd party alarm, this is fine with me.
     
  21. stabby

    stabby Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    the alarm is kind of hit and miss lately... sometimes it works, sometimes it doesnt. i always have my phone plugged in as i sleep... andset a new alarm every night (i get up at different times each day). i will try shutting off and restarting the phone more often and see if i notice a difference
     
  22. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    My alarm worked fine this morning, even though I had set my phone to silent.
     
  23. stabby

    stabby Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    the issue i've been having is that it goes off, but never makes a sound.... hence defeating the purpose of an alarm.
     
  24. qman

    qman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just encountered this problem yesterday. From what I can tell this affects more then just the alarm. I'm still trying to deduce what might be causing it but for those who want to confirm as well, if you notice it not going off, just set another alarm for a couple minutes and see if it happens after it is in this limbo state.

    The first time I noticed this was when I had some missed calls when I woke up the next morning. I thought maybe I might have just slept through 3 missed calls, didn't think much of it. Then today, the alarm didn't go off and that's when I started noticing maybe there is something wrong. The alarm popup was on when I unlocked it with the option to snooze or cancel but no sound went off this morning.

    So I'm pretty sure there's a bug here but can't identify what other app or sequence is causing it. I did a fresh reboot and tested the alarm and it went off with no problem so this might be the only temporary solution until a fix is hopefully released.
     
  25. onthefence

    onthefence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah, I have the alarm issue too. Almost late to work Too!!!:mad:

    So far that is the only bug I've found.
    There's an annoyance that the phone goes into standby while in a phone conversation, so if you want to check something while on the phone with someone, you have to unlock the phone. You would think that as long as the phone is active, it wouldn't lock itself. Hopefully that can be changed in a setting if not now, in the future.

    Is an independent programmer going to have to write an alarm app that works???


    Edit: Seems to be working, now, but i still don't feel safe relying on it. bummer....
     

Share This Page

Loading...