G1 going back to tmoGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Windchill

    Windchill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    5
    So after getting my G1 today and thinking I was the bomb, I am sadly let down. I can not get any of my pop email accounts to work. Customer care is clueless as to a fix but are aware of the problem. So it seem I have no choice but to send it back and keep my shadow. It at least works. :(:(
     

    Advertisement
  2. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    You're in real trouble if you are gonna rely on T-mobile tech support to help you set up pop3 access.

    I've got mine working fine with pop3, and my company has extremely restrictive and difficult to set up pop3. I guarantee it's just not configured right. Don't you have anyone other than T-mobile that can help you set it up?
     
  3. Windchill

    Windchill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have set up these accounts on every smart phone I have had. For some reason the G1 just wont accept them. And the line of work I am in, it is very important that I have access to these accounts 24-7.
     
  4. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's a bummer :(

    Have you tried setting up gmail to pull from your pop3? It can do that and then tag the messages as coming from the pop account, and I believe it may also straighten out the from: address when you reply.

    You might at least look into it.

    Oh and BANNED :D
     
  5. Windchill

    Windchill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah I tried that also. Its not even pulling emails from my gmail account. I went on line and made sure that my data plan was correct with tmo, it wasnt. Lol! I swear they must have some really low hiring standards there sometimes. So I changed it to the unlimited G1 data plan and gonna give it till tomorrow to kick in and see what happens then. Of course, you know I will be trying it later tonight again cause I do like the phone a lot. Its cool as hell and smooth as butter. Lol!

    P.S.

    BANNED for banning in the wrong thread! :D:D
     
  6. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is your (non gmail) email hotmail or another large email provider? Because if so you either can't (because they don't want you to), or you have to pay for a premium account.

    But hopefully getting your data plan corrected fixes the problem
     
  7. Windchill

    Windchill Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    5
    2 of the accounts are thru work and the other is thru cox cable. My ISP provider. none of them will work as of a few minutes ago when I tried. I will call tmo again tomorrow cause I really dont want to send it back if I dont have to. I really like it. Also, I eventried the K9 app that they were talking about on the tno g1 forums. No love there also. :(
     
  8. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just curious, have you tried it from both 2g and 3g? Its possible (though not likely) that someone opened a firewall for tmobile 2g ip addresses and not 3g..
     
  9. druminfected

    druminfected Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    sending back your g1 phone isn't going to solve the problem, I would suggest either getting help from another source or just waiting for someone posts better detailed instructions on how to do so. My gmail email works great with the g1 phone, I haven't set up my other pop3 accounts yet though, but I'm sure you'll see me in here, if I have problems like yourself. :D
     
  10. Mrqwebb2

    Mrqwebb2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    how would you go about doing this?
     
  11. pestilence

    pestilence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    4
    You just say BANNED and they are...

    j/k

    Go into gmail (from a computer) and click settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...