G1 + Prepaid + Sim Card


Last Updated:

  1. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i really want a g1 but my dad and i have a family plan with verizon and i have a 1 1/2 year contract left on my storm. he pays most of the bill because im only 16.
    My question is if I bought a g1 and tmo sim card on ebay, and went to a local convenience store i should be able to buy a prepaid card and put it in the phone right? Aside from having a few hundred minutes [or whichever one] i should have full access to the internet and text [tmobile.com says 5cents per text] right?

    im willing to hack? if needed...
    what are my options here?
    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i just read a post by you saying u put ur prepaid sidekick sim card in ur g1 and it fully worked?
    I would do that, but would i be able to transfer my number?
     
  3. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.i buy an UNLOCKED g1 on ebay
    2.i buy a tmobile prepaid sim card
    3. i activate it over the phone and chose sidekick plan...

    ?????
     
  5. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive seen videos of the att go phone sim card in an iphone w/unlim web, txt, and 200 min...
    would that potentially work in an unlocked g1?
     
  6. ManLike

    ManLike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    You'd think so, but you'd be wrong.

    I just upgraded my wife's Sidekick to a G1, and guess what? No access at all until I switched the data plan over.

    In fact, you can't even manually turn WiFi on until you've registered your Gmail account. So unless it's on by default and you don't have any encryption on your access point, you're hosed.
     
  7. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so i think im just going to buy the g1, and get flexpay with the g1 unlim data and txt, and load money on it every month by buying prepaid cards.
    just saw it on tmo.com
     
  8. balazer

    balazer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's just because you didn't have the right APN set in your G1. The G1 is preprogrammed to use the epc APN on T-Mobile.
    You can, but it requires either an exploit of the old RC29 ROM, or one of the modified ROMs like JesusFreke's or CyanogenMod that lets you bypass the activation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...