G1/T-Mobile Network down in the North East?General


Last Updated:

  1. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    7
    Has anyone else been experiencing Network down time this morning? It is actually quite the bizarre exerpeince.

    I can get TXT messages, email (though so far I have got none from my gmail account) but AOL and other POP/IMAP work fine.

    I cannot log on to IM services, surf the internet or log onto any internet dependant services.

    I have rebooted, reset my connections, tried 2G only, scanned for other networks, and nothing.

    Anyone else having this issue? I just get a server or connection issue in the browser for an alert error, though, its strange since I can get email and text... though data seems to be having its issues.

    Also, GPS is not working (not that it ever really did when trying to located me) though the maps will not download, and of course, the other data dependant stuff is faulting out with connection problems as well.
     

    Advertisement
  2. GODMODE

    GODMODE Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well, I figured that one out - My last mobile was a Sidekick, and when I switched over (now a week ago) it finally caught up and took my sidekick plan off, and never replaced it with the G1+ I ordered when I originally asked for the upgrade - so I signed onto Tmo and added it.

    Yippee.
     
  3. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72

    Did it work immediately? Or did it take a few minutes to update everything and get your data back?

    Same thing appears to be happening with me. SMS yes, full bars, 3G even tries to connect, but no data, no maps, no internet, no marketplace.
     
  4. simmcrd

    simmcrd Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    EVERYONE WHO RECEIVED A PREORDERED G1 TAKE NOTE: I too lost coverage, and this is what T-mo said:

    In order to prevent billing customers for upgraded services before they actually had the new phone in hand, T-mo put all preorder customers into a free internet limbo state.

    Their system was suppose to revert back to customer's new data plan of choice automatically, upon receipt of the phone. Due to a system glitch this auto revert did not occur and data plans where dropped instantaneously after the limbo period expired. T-mobile is restoring data service once the customer calls in to place a trouble ticket.

    Now hear this: the CSR/TSR told me not to expect service resumption UNTIL UP TO 48 hours!
     
  5. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    I did pretty much the same thing you did and my data is back now in less than 2 hours. I didn't feel like dealing with the reps.
     
  6. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72

    OR you can do like we did and just add the data plan back in and get service back in less than 2 hours.

    Just a thought.
     
  7. simmcrd

    simmcrd Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly what we did. Since it didn't happen automatically, the CSR/TSR had to add it back manually. The 48 hours is most likely a very conservative estimate, nevertheless I'm still down.
     
  8. chosun

    chosun Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yikes, my connection is dead altogether. The pre-recorded message is saying that there are outages in my area, and they're working to fix the issue asap. Oh well...no phone...
     
  9. killer3160

    killer3160 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    for me all my bars were dead and i had no edge or 3g thing at the top but i could still go on the internet which was weird but now i have all my bars but i'm only on the edge network i went to the store and got my phone on the 22nd and had my plan for unlimited activated on sat so does that mean my plan was removed too?
     
  10. chosun

    chosun Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, ok, it's back up. The woman on the phone was really helpful, and gave me 200 free minutes. Oh, and the data plan needed to be added, like previous posters stated.

    Also, I'm in midtown (Manhattan).
     
  11. killer3160

    killer3160 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    1
    i have the $25 g1 plan but i'm only connected to the edge network did they change the 3g network to a higher plan?
     
  12. stabby

    stabby Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm... mine only just stopped letting me use any of the internet features several hours ago. I switched to my G1 from a sidekick as well, but have had my G1 for a week now with no previous problems (service wise).

    Guess I should give customer service a ring tomorrow if things don't straighten themselves out. Gah.
     
  13. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    No, they didn't change the plans. Both plans are 3G, both have unlimited use of T-Mobile Hotspot WiFi. The only difference is the $35 has unlimited text, but the $25 only has 400 SMS/MMS messages.
    You may be in an area where there is no 3G or very limited 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...