G1 t-mobile total newbie rooting HELPSupport

1. exmortis

exmortis Member

i don't know alot about this subject, i have a G1 with firmware 1.1 and rc9 can update to cupcake or htc magic , if so how do it , what would be the benefits of cupcake from the t-mobile software ?? if any please help

Advertisement
    :
  2. justjimjpc

justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

Reasons to Root

Why Root - AndroidWiki

Rooting for UK :
    If you are wanting to do a Magic/Cupcake/ 1.5 Flash then 1.5 Should work for UK as well.
    (see below for options)

OP by Devolio ...

.... additional info on Step 2:

3. justjimjpc

4. exmortis

exmortis Member

It's all going wrong on step 2

cannot create recovery.img read_only file system

what iam doing
  5. justjimjpc

Not sure what to tell you just Carefully follow the Steps ... also at the end of the instructions is a post by another "randel77" his steps for #2 might help you out ...
  6. exmortis

exmortis Member

i don't know what iam doing wrong , get to step 2 all ok until i put in the recovery image and then it goes wrong , it's on the sd card tried 2 different ones formatted to fat 32 or fat it just comes back with read only file or can't find it...... through telnet on the phone , iam puting in telnetd and then opening the telnet app on the phone gives me load of charaters ending in ## then i start , ive downgraded the phone from rc9 to rc7 with putting the file NEEDED then deleteing it off the sdcard so the sd is clean with every step ???
  7. justjimjpc

There aren't many people around today ... so give your post sometime ... maybe someone with more expierence than me can help you out ... I am new to rooting as well ...
  8. justjimjpc

Possibly the following link will help you through step 2.

Updating to RC33 - ModMyGPhone Wiki
  9. exmortis

exmortis Member

Thanks all for the help!!
    Rooted the phone OK through a UTube video i watched using telnet and terminal emulator:)