g2 not upgradable to new android versions?Support


Last Updated:

  1. perrypainter

    perrypainter New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found this in a review on cnet.com:

    "It was announced yesterday that the G2 stores key components of the OS in read only memory. The purpose is to set itself back to a factory state if any modifications are made to the OS. Since ROM can generally not be changed without hardware surgery, I don't see how the phone can generally be upgraded to a new OS."

    Is this true? It makes sense logically, but how could they screw us so blindly? Seriously bummed if this is true.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Wingnut

    Wingnut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    36
    no no. They mean that the G2 is not rootable. That had nothing to do with the new android versions
     
  3. ElasticNinja

    ElasticNinja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,488
    Likes Received:
    472
    No that is a root protection system
    It will get 2.3 or whatever its called
     
  4. LickTheEnvelope

    LickTheEnvelope Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    23
    Um HTC will be able to access ROOT...
     
  5. Marc Wonderland

    Marc Wonderland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    15
    From what I was advised the G2 is rootable but HTC got heat from wireless companies that the phones are too easy too root (HTC purpose) so they made it more difficult to root, but it is supposed to be possible to root the G2. One of my classmates was telling me about this just yesterday.
     
  6. timahknoxville

    timahknoxville Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you guys not read any of the dozens of articles posted on the homepage? The g2 was unrootable because of a bug... htc/t-mobile did not do it on purpose at all. They claimed it was a security feature, but the guys over at XDA called shennanigans and proved it to be wrong. A permanent fixed was just implemented within the past few days. Check out the articles on the homepage to check out whats going on.
     
  7. Graham

    Graham Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    If there ever is going to be an unrootable phone, it will not be from HTC.
    Samsung maybe...
     
  8. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Well that's cool. At least it's been fixed...

    It was rather stupid to have all that awesome hardware only to have it locked out to stock, just like the Droid X. Just kind of stupid really, I think.

    Okay, so I think it's flat out ******ed but whatever.
     
  9. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    329
    Nice, phone made a double post. Oh well.
     
  10. mthguy

    mthguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    it would seem that the "perm' root is not actually chaning the ROM, but simply reRooting the phone on each boot. LAME.
     
  11. mthguy

    mthguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    double post, soory.
     
  12. jroc

    jroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    358
    Does it take long to re-root the phone each boot?
     
  13. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    if that is true... I hope they find a better solution.
     

Share This Page

Loading...