GalaxHero ROM slower than thought?


Last Updated:

  1. GalaxyMeh

    GalaxyMeh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm using the GalaxHero ROM (based on II5), and I think drakaz did a great job. Thank you!

    I'm not using compcache/swap, and the problem I'm having is that the ROM seems slow. Posted on HDblog.it but got no answer so far, so I thought I'd ask here:

    1. For example, after I exit some applications, it takes ~5 seconds for the home screen icons to appear.

    2. Worse, Waze stutters when it speaks directions. (Waze is an awesome GPS navigation app, free, with crowdsourced, community-built maps and live traffic, much like OpenStreetMaps.) Anyway, T-Mobile G1 users report that Waze does not stutter on their devices.

    Can anyone reproduce these? Should I buy a class 6 SD card and use swapping?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    do you have quite alot of icons on the home screens?
    have you tried waze on a standard ii5 build as i cant see it being slower than standard ii5 in any way
     
  3. GalaxyMeh

    GalaxyMeh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the Google search bar widget, and 9 icons on the home screen. I did notice that GalaxHero came with the Google search bar on the screen page to the right of the center screen, but I moved on the center page.

    Haven't tried Waze on bare II5.
     
  4. GalaxyMeh

    GalaxyMeh Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    I found the cause of this slowdown:

    I had AndNav2 installed, with the offline map of the entire USA. Due to AndNav2's idiotic storage model, that unzipped map consisted of about 65,000 (sixty-five thousand) PNG files.

    AndNav2 was never running, so I'm not sure why exactly just having those files in /sdcard/andnav2/ slowed down the Galaxy so much. But after deleting them (I had to SSH in and run rm -rf, because ASTRO would force close/time out every time), my Galaxy is way faster, and Waze stutters much less.
     
  5. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a similar problem to this also where once I pressed the home key it would take a while for the icons to appear. I found that after uninstalling Advanced Task Killer it did not do this anymore and became smooth.
     
  6. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Put advanced launcher in the exclusion list and it'll not kill your launcher.
     
  7. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I did when I had it installed. But will try installing again to make double sure it wasn't that. Also it Advanced Task Killer would not allways load too.

    EDIT:
    It does seem that when I load Advanced task manager it seems to load and leave a blank screen
     
  8. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I wonder if it was quickdroid trying to index them? I totally removed quickdroid, but just disabling it is probably good enough.
     
  9. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kam i've been trying to work out how to uinstall quickdroid? If I look in manage applications it does not allow me to uninstall. And appmanager does not even list it
     
  10. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    You need to use adb shell

    # Remount read/write
    adb remount

    # open shell
    adb shell

    # go to apps directory
    cd /data/app_s

    # delete QuickDroid
    rm QuickDroid.apk

    # delete NPS sync
    rm wssyncmlnps.apk

    -----

    Do an 'ls' to check the name of quickdroid, but i think thats what it was called. Case matters so make sure to use capitals letters where they are. You can also delete the nps sync app, since NPS is pretty useless!

    Keep it if you want to use NPS for updating. But I assume since you have a custom rom, you wont ever use NPS with this firmware.

    BTW you can type 'top' in the shell to see what processes are running, the % memory and CPU they are using. Handy to keep that running whyle u remove widgets and close apps to test stuff
     
  11. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes thats done it advanced task manager now loads. And the system seems to have less hiccups generaly. Thank you very much
     
  12. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmm any idea what npsmobex is? I one a strings and i see a load of sync stuff in it. Is it obex authentication for the sync, or maybe sync over bluetooth?

    Anyway I cant easily modify the init.rc without remaking the rom so i just renamed it:

    mv /system/bin/npsmobex /system/bin/npsmobex.off

    Now after reboot, and killing the left over task taskbar shows i have 37 mb free :)
    (compcache off btw) The fact that i now have left over tasks with compcache off means it definatly has more ram available!

    If someone is using a bluetooth device could they check it still works after doing this?

    Do undo obviously just rename it back and reboot:

    mv /system/bin/npsmobex.off /system/bin/npsmobex

    Now, what else can i kill :p
     
  13. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    So to answer my own question that i had is one of these threads...

    "why does free show only 17372kb free, but taskbar (part of taskiller) show 35mb free?"

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. / # free
    3.               total         used         free       shared      buffers
    4.   Mem:        95948        78576        17372            0          568
    5.  Swap:            0            0            0
    6. Total:        95948        78576        17372
    7.  
    8. / # cat /proc/meminfo
    9. MemTotal:        95948 kB
    10. MemFree:         17372 kB
    11. Buffers:           276 kB
    12. Cached:          19172 kB
    13.  
    Libraries are cached into RAM in case they might need to be used. This RAM is technically free, because the cache can be dropped and the memory overwriten if needed. Free shows the ACTUAL memory that's totally free. A cat of meminfo shows you the free memory and the memory being used to cachelibraries.

    So in the above case the actual usable memory is 17372 + 19172 kbs, which is (17372 + 19172)/1024 = 35.6875 Mb of free usable ram :)

    Really, if you type 'free' and see alot of free ram there, that means the system is caching normally and still has a load of RAM free. If you see 2 or 3mb, then its having to drop some caches to keep some instant RAM free.
     
  14. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right just done what you said above. And a cat /proc/meminfo shows this:-
    And free displays this
    So by doing this is it good for the mem?
     
  15. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    So you have 1.6mb free, and 20.36 free memory being used for caches - total free about 22mb. Do you have compcache on or off?

    So turning mobex off saves about 5% memory best case, which is about 5mb.

    On a seperate note...

    The same cat of meminfo shows that just under 64mb is being mapped out to devices. That means the other frimware in the app processor is using just under 64mb of memory, leaving 128mb for the OS. We have 93.70mb available, so where is the other 34mb, and can we steal some of it?

    VmallocTotal: 409600 kB
    VmallocUsed: 65300 kB -> 63.77mb
    VmallocChunk: 312316 kB
     
  16. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    No compcache
     
  17. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    run 'top'
    then press q to quit it
    copy the window and past it here :)
     
  18. boomtopper

    boomtopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right have reset it backup again. On boot up i've run taskiler. Here is the output for free:-

    Code (Text):
    1.               total         used         free       shared      buffers
    2.   Mem:        95948        92620         3328            0         1468
    3.  Swap:            0            0            0
    4. Total:        95948        92620         3328
    and the output for cat /proc/meminfo :-
    Code (Text):
    1. MemTotal:        95948 kB
    2. MemFree:          1824 kB
    3. Buffers:          2288 kB
    4. Cached:          22972 kB
    5. SwapCached:          0 kB
    6. Active:          73124 kB
    7. Inactive:         6232 kB
    8. SwapTotal:           0 kB
    9. SwapFree:            0 kB
    10. Dirty:               4 kB
    11. Writeback:           0 kB
    12. AnonPages:       54160 kB
    13. Mapped:          17692 kB
    14. Slab:             6160 kB
    15. SReclaimable:     1748 kB
    16. SUnreclaim:       4412 kB
    17. PageTables:       3712 kB
    18. NFS_Unstable:        0 kB
    19. Bounce:              0 kB
    20. WritebackTmp:        0 kB
    21. CommitLimit:     47972 kB
    22. Committed_AS:  1083196 kB
    23. VmallocTotal:   409600 kB
    24. VmallocUsed:     68384 kB
    25. VmallocChunk:   308220 kB
    And lastly the output for top :-

    Code (Text):
    1. ←[H←[JMem: 93480K used, 2468K free, 0K shrd, 2324K buff, 22912K cached
    2. CPU:  9.0% usr  0.0% sys  0.0% nic 90.9% idle  0.0% io  0.0% irq  0.0% sirq
    3. Load average: 3.21 3.27 1.61 2/217 1652
    4. ←[7m  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM CPU %CPU COMMAND←[0m
    5.  1652  1593 0        R     2064  2.1   0  9.0 top
    6.  1097  1020 1000     S     155m166.0   0  0.0 system_server
    7.  
    8.  1159  1020 10005    S     131m139.8   0  0.0 android.process.acore
    9.  
    10.  1191  1020 10026    S     109m117.2   0  0.0 com.google.process.gapps
    11.  
    12.  1314  1020 10005    S     103m110.2   0  0.0 com.android.inputmethod.latin
    13.  
    14.  1157  1020 1001     S     100m107.3   0  0.0 com.android.phone
    15.  
    16.  1513  1020 10074    S    94984 98.8   0  0.0 com.levelup.beautifulwidgets
    17.  
    18.  1545  1020 10075    S    94696 98.5   0  0.0 com.twidroidpro:remote
    19.  
    20.  1203  1020 10004    S    94232 98.0   0  0.0 android.process.media
    21.  
    22.  1406  1020 10075    S    93448 97.2   0  0.0 com.twidroidpro
    23.  
    24.  1521  1020 10035    S    93284 97.0   0  0.0 com.google.android.gm
    25.  
    26.  1369  1020 10058    S    92132 95.8   0  0.0 com.android.alarmclock
    27.  
    28.  1020     1 0        S    71300 74.2   0  0.0 zygote /bin/app_process -Xzygote /
    29.  
    30.  1021     1 1013     S    21708 22.5   0  0.0 /system/bin/mediaserver
    31.  1018     1 1001     S     9576  9.9   0  0.0 /system/bin/rild
    32.  1019     1 0        S     8500  8.8   0  0.0 /system/bin/drexe
    33.  1025     1 0        S     3328  3.4   0  0.0 /sbin/adbd
    34.  1145     1 0        S     2012  2.0   0  0.0 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant -Dwext
    35.  
    36.  1593  1025 0        S     1400  1.4   0  0.0 /system/bin/bash -
    37. q1017     1 0        S     1276  1.3   0  0.0 /system/bin/akmd2
    I hope this helps?
     
  19. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm... this drexe seems to be by samsung and it calls npsmobex

    Oh and npsmobex has a lot of syncml strings in it. Seems like samsung did include a nice syncml server in the phone. Pity it doesn't have a good client.
     
  20. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Looks fine, the programs you're running are using the other 20mb or so. Here's the tasks with descriptiont. I'm checking out drexe now

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. ←[H←[JMem: 93480K used, 2468K free, 0K shrd, 2324K buff, 22912K cached
    3. CPU:  9.0% usr  0.0% sys  0.0% nic 90.9% idle  0.0% io  0.0% irq  0.0% sirq
    4. Load average: 3.21 3.27 1.61 2/217 1652
    5. ←[7m  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM CPU %CPU COMMAND←[0m
    6.  1652  1593 0        R     2064  2.1   0  9.0 top
    7. # core System process
    8.  1097  1020 1000     S     155m166.0   0  0.0 system_server
    9.  
    10. # android core process
    11.  1159  1020 10005    S     131m139.8   0  0.0 android.process.acore
    12.  
    13. # handles all the google apps
    14.  1191  1020 10026    S     109m117.2   0  0.0 com.google.process.gapps
    15.  
    16. # keyboard and locale
    17.  1314  1020 10005    S     103m110.2   0  0.0 com.android.inputmethod.latin
    18.  
    19. # handles phone functions
    20.  1157  1020 1001     S     100m107.3   0  0.0 com.android.phone
    21.  
    22. # widgets app
    23.  1513  1020 10074    S    94984 98.8   0  0.0 com.levelup.beautifulwidgets
    24.  
    25. # twidpro (twitter client)
    26.  1545  1020 10075    S    94696 98.5   0  0.0 com.twidroidpro:remote
    27.  
    28. # handles android media functions
    29.  1203  1020 10004    S    94232 98.0   0  0.0 android.process.media
    30.  
    31. # twidpro (twitter client)
    32.  1406  1020 10075    S    93448 97.2   0  0.0 com.twidroidpro
    33.  
    34. # no idea.  google maps?
    35.  1521  1020 10035    S    93284 97.0   0  0.0 com.google.android.gm
    36.  
    37. # alarm clock, you can kill it, but you only save a few mb, and your alarms wont go off!
    38.  1369  1020 10058    S    92132 95.8   0  0.0 com.android.alarmclock
    39.  
    40. # system process, handles forking requests
    41.  1020     1 0        S    71300 74.2   0  0.0 zygote /bin/app_process -Xzygote /
    42.  
    43. # Handles media player, camera etc.  Also the headset keys for music get intercepted by this process
    44.  1021     1 1013     S    21708 22.5   0  0.0 /system/bin/mediaserver
    45.  
    46. # radio interface layer, an API to the modem
    47.  1018     1 1001     S     9576  9.9   0  0.0 /system/bin/rild
    48.  
    49. # Gets baseband info for NPS.  Not needed
    50.  1019     1 0        S     8500  8.8   0  0.0 /system/bin/drexe
    51.  
    52. # adb daemon
    53.  1025     1 0        S     3328  3.4   0  0.0 /sbin/adbd
    54.  
    55. # handles WPA encryption for wifi
    56.  1145     1 0        S     2012  2.0   0  0.0 /system/bin/wpa_supplicant -Dwext
    57.  
    58. # bash shell
    59.  1593  1025 0        S     1400  1.4   0  0.0 /system/bin/bash -
    60.  
    61. # handles auto rotate
    62.  1017     1 0        S     1276  1.3   0  0.0 /system/bin/akmd2
    63.  
    64.  
     
  21. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok so drexe seems to grab info from the baseband using AT commands. That can go too :)

    # Remount read/write
    adb remount

    # open shell
    adb shell

    # go to apps directory
    cd /data/app_s

    # delete QuickDroid
    rm QuickDroid.apk

    # delete NPS sync
    rm wssyncmlnps.apk

    # disable drexe
    mv /system/bin/drexe /system/bin/drexe.off

    # disable npsmobex
    mv /system/bin/npsmobex /system/bin/npsmobex.off

    oh and to flush the cash and get a good baseline of free memory you can run this:

    sync ; echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches ; echo 2 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches ; echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches ; cat /proc/meminfo ; free


    Total memory after boot with all tasks killed:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. MemTotal:        95948 kB
    3. MemFree:         23308 kB
    4. Buffers:            44 kB
    5. Cached:          15392 kB
    6.  
    a total of (23308 + 15392)/1024 = 37.79296875
     
  22. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Em, sorry to be retrded, but where are you typing those commands!? I'm in work so not at my home computer, but are you typing those in cmd once the phone is mounted in debugging mode, or is there an adb.exe command prompt-style program in the "tools" folder I downloaded to put galaxhero on??

    One other thing - has anyone noticed that if you use the "touch input" keyboard instead of the android one on galaxhero that the suggesstions that pop up when your typing actually cover the words being typed, rather than sit below the text area like with the android keyboard?? Kinda makes the touch input keyboard unusable..
     
  23. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    adb.exe is in the same folder as fastboot which is "tools"

    i dont like the htc keyboard even before it was on galaxhero, i use betterkeyboard. its a paid app but it works wonderfully
     
  24. spottyelephant

    spottyelephant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    17
    Are there any known issues with galaxhero RE 3g connectivity? Since i mounted it to remove quickdroid i cant seem to reconnect to it, but what im not sure is whether 3g had already been dropped when i came into my apartment (where i normally have full 3g coverage).

    3g was working this morning on my galaxhero btw.

    Edit: A re-registering on the network and reboot solved it :)
     
  25. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    hi to all,
    today i was in town shopping and somehow went to 3 shop to check what's new and i saw HTC Hero that was connected and working. so i checked it quickly to see how it compares to Galaxy.
    DAMN Hero is fast, huh actually i took my Galaxy out of my pocket and couldn't believe how much faster Hero is with millions of widgets on all 7screens. and app launching so fast and browser. i compared almost everything (keyboard, apps, market, camera, sound) damn this thing is good.
    so just wanted to ask if anyone with GalexoRom or other customised versions of Galaxy managed to get at least close to speed of Hero.
    and another question is why Hero is so much faster than Galaxy even though i think the processor is the same just Ram is way much more (is it because of that? )
    thanx
    btw still haven't rooted mine as haven't had much time today
     

Share This Page

Loading...