Galaxy Dialer and Contact?


Last Updated:

  1. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    :cool: I have a question that I'm not sure if it's even possible since they are two completely different ROMS. I have been running BH-man's Galaxy 1.6 Rom R8 and have been loving it but the two things that have not been working is starting to become a factor and I
     

    Advertisement
  2. bleufox99

    bleufox99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    you could try and if it doesn't work just reflash, you will want to pull Contacts.apk and Phone.apk from the galaxy rom then rm twphone.apk and twcontacts.apk in a shell before you push the new files over then reboot. As a note the dialer you make calls with is part of the Contact.apk and Phone.apk is responsible for the in-call functions.
     
  3. BH_MAN

    BH_MAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    You will need googlecontact.apk I think, not 100% sure not, as it's been awhile since I messed with it
     
  4. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cool thanks guys. I will look into that.
     
  5. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    OK, I know it’s been a few weeks since this post, so, with no success thought I would try it again. Now since this post I’ve been running 1.6 No Twiz Warheads ROM and in my opinion, this is far the best ROM I’m ever ran, BIG thanks to you BH_man. Now have pulled the Contacts and the Phone apk files from the Galaxy ROM, I could not find the googlecontacts.apk file anywhere on the phone only GoogleContactsProvider file. I rm TouchWizContacts.apk and TouchWizphone.apk files, then pushed over the Contact and phone apk files to the phone and rebooted. Now it did work, kind of, I now had the Galaxy Dialer and the Galaxy contact list on the Warheads ROM but was getting major FC’s anytime I tried to make a call or scroll my list of contacts or view favorite list. Since it wasn’t working I ODIN my phone back to Warheads, I’m not sure if it’s possible but would Love to have this feature. Anymore help would be nice, thanks.
     
  6. NeoAndroid

    NeoAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    30
    Its funny that you wanted this and I do too. Warheads is by far the most stable for me especially using GDE for my home app. The Galaxy dialer and contacts require a lot less keystroke to use, hence i want to try and make it work with warheads. I'll let you know how it goes for me. Meanwhile, can someone upload Contacts.apk, Phone.apk and googlecontacts.apk from the Galaxy 1.6 R8 ROM?
     
  7. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
  8. steelerdynasty

    steelerdynasty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    i want to do the same thing with a different program...any ideas how?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. NeoAndroid

    NeoAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    30
    Okay, I have BH_MAN's Warheads ROM installed. I got the Galaxy 1.6 R8 dialer working so far with no FC. I swapped the TouchWizContacts.apk with Contacts.apk from the Galaxy ROM(properly renamed) but FC with an error of android.process.acore. I'll keep working on it. Meantime, I might just put the Warheads TouchWizContacts.apk back in.
     
  10. BH_MAN

    BH_MAN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,381
    Likes Received:
    1,667
    The Contacts.apk is the Dialer...
    It's not an easy Fix, this is the Very same thing I'm currently doing just fyi :D
     
  11. NeoAndroid

    NeoAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oops, got it backwards. I ended up swapping the "phone" and "contacts" APK's since they work together. I found a temporary solution. "Favorites" tab on the Galaxy dialer works, so I went to my GMail on PC and "Starred" all my contacts as "Favorites". Syncing with my phone right now. :D

    EDIT: For now, I have Warheads ROM with Galaxy dialer. My contacts button goes directly to the "Favorites" tab on the dialer. This in turn made my make-shift contact list like the Android 2.1. It shows contact picture with it. When you click on a contact, then you have a choice of Calling, Texting, etc. I love it. Did I mention that the Galaxy dialer behaves like the Samsung dialer that it actually vibrates as you press the keys?

    Thank you DGarmon for uploading the APK's.
     
  12. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Neo, would you happen to want to explain your steps....To me that's a great Idea, since I use the "Favorites" tab 99% of the time....Thanks..:).
     
  13. NeoAndroid

    NeoAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    30
    Well, just log in to your GMail account using a computer. Then under your contacts tab, Select "All" your contacts, then on the right pane, under "Group", choose Add To "Starred in Android". Then "Save". On your phone, under "Data Syncronization", press MENU, then "Sync Now". Hopefully that helps.
     
  14. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    lol...Sorry I know how to do that piece, I ment this part.." Oops, got it backwards. I ended up swapping the "phone" and "contacts" APK's since they work together. I found a temporary solution. "Favorites" tab on the Galaxy dialer works".... So do I need to push the phone and contacts APKs the my phone and replace rm TouchWizContacts.apk and TouchWizphone.apk files?

    Sorry should of be more clear....:), thanks for you help.
     
  15. leslied73

    leslied73 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    You will need to remove the existing TouchWizPhone.apk and TouchWizContacts.apk and download the apk's above. Rename them to TouchWizPhone and TouchWizContacts, then push them back in.

    I was getting the same acore forceclose in Warheads after I removed the Home++ launcher and put back Advanced Launcher, as Home++ was not working out too well for me. I don't know how removing that was tied to the contacts.apk, but I did the above and now it is working.
     
  16. brmayhem

    brmayhem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    I don't have the option "Starred in Android" under my "Groups" menu. Do I have to do anything in order for this to show up first?
     
  17. jdmfa5

    jdmfa5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    19
    What ROM are you using?
     
  18. leslied73

    leslied73 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am using Warheads with the new Kernal.

    And for the group in Contacts, I just created the group and named it Starred in Android, and it worked.
     
  19. brmayhem

    brmayhem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    Wow thank you guys.

    Galaxy dialer is awesome, much better than the default's IMO. Let's hope BH_MAN figures out a way to fix the FC but if not this is a great alternative.
     
  20. DGarmon

    DGarmon Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sweet everything is now working, minus the contacts but have Fav's setup for now.....Awesome. Thanks Guys.
     
  21. jdmfa5

    jdmfa5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    19
    So to make it clear, dialer works and the contacts only show up if make the changes stated above? Any FC's or other issues?
     
  22. brmayhem

    brmayhem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    Once you make the above changes to your contacts and replace the files the dialer will work along with the call log and the favorites (which now should be all of your contacts). The contact tab is the only one that will give you a FC. No other issues I can notice
     
    jdmfa5 likes this.
  23. jdmfa5

    jdmfa5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    19
    One more question, what's the benefit of doing this?
     
  24. brmayhem

    brmayhem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    19
    I can't answer incoming calls.

    Anyone else with this problem?
     
  25. leslied73

    leslied73 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm. Yes. Just tested it. Had to pull the battery. I wonder if NeoAndroid is having the same problem. Looks liek I'll have to flash back to original Warheads again. :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...