Galaxy gps problemSupport


Last Updated:

  1. blackfalcon

    blackfalcon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    After I successfully rooted my Galaxy everything works perfect only my GPS needs a lot of time to find the satellite. Only thing that I've done on my phone is that I followed the guide from this link http://androidforums.com/samsung-i7500/12365-galaxo-tweaks-get-more-memory.html I tried to reset all settings and set again a firmware from beginning it works fine and I tried it again with that guide and again problems with GPS. Is one of that files needed for GPS?
     

    Advertisement
  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    I'd be pretty surprised if kam&co would post a guide with detrimental effects. ;) So no, I don't think that your actions impacted your GPS, assuming you didn't delete something you shouldn't have.

    I have very varying success with the GPS as well; on my Galaxy and my Garmin car GPS. I think that's just how they work -- have you any idea on the weakness of the signals they work on? Amazing that it works at all!

    I I were you, I'd spend a few days paying attention to my surroundings, even things like foliage has an impact. If your device is really bad, speak up again.

    Also: Welcome to the forum! :D
     
  3. blackfalcon

    blackfalcon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't mater in what kind of surroundings i am. On wide open space or just on window of my apartment. In the beginning without rooting my phone GPS only needed a few seconds to find a satellite. Now it needs a lot of time if it find the satellite at all. I turned off rooted mode and now it needs about 3 minutes to connect with satellite. :)
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    ?

    thats not even possible
    all root does is enables Super user on the kernal it doesnt affect GPS

    if im outside and its not cloudy my galaxy connects in about 30sec to 1min
    its rooted but with out the memory saving tweeks

    rooted galaxy does not affect gps. i dont know about the guide though


    have you checked to see if wireless location is enabled as thats a-gps. if this is turned off then it will slow down the connection process as it uses cell info to update your connection to the gps
     
  5. blackfalcon

    blackfalcon Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never used a-gps I thought that it doesn't help with conection to GPS satellite. I will try with a-gps turned on and with rooted galaxy to see if it helps. Thanks :)
     
  6. qwerty100

    qwerty100 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    It can take a while to get a new GPS lock, this is simply part of the way the system works, it simply need to acquire a fair number of satellites. However once you roughly know where you are, if you lose lock, it should be fairly quick to re acquire.


    Where on the phone is the GPS antenna? Guess the question I really want to ask, is if looking for a lock, is it better to leave it screen up or screen down, or does it make bugger all difference??
     
  7. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    I suppose GPS antenna is designed in a way, that you can hold the phone as you naturally would, at around 45 degrees )
     
  8. nicholas

    nicholas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi bought my galaxy 4 months ago. And i never used gps but yesterday i went outside to try it out, i stood in one place for half an hour and nothing happend,not even a single satellite. I was so frustrated, so i went home. And upadet it to android 1.6(I7500XXJB2, kernel version(2.6.29 root@sep-53 #1) build number(Donut.XXJB6)) my previous version was android 1.5(I7500XXIG7).
    And when i update i went to test it and ... still NOTHING:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    The network my phone is on is Telenor Serbia
    Is there any way i can fix this issue or should i send my phone for a warranty repair?:confused:
     
  9. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    how did you test it? from what you wrote i cant imagine what you were waiting for as you dont describe which apps you were using to get gps fix?
    hope you were using some apps like google maps, ndrive, andnav or even gps status app. otherwise if u just ticked the gps on and didnt launch any app i cant imagine how you would get gps fix :)
    so describe what you did and we will try to help you
    btw. gps on 1.6 seems to be faster (including a-gps) and more accurate, but that's only what i noticed :)
     
  10. nicholas

    nicholas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used gps status and google maps
    And the"determined you location using cell towers an wifi was" option was on
     
  11. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    and you still got no gps fix? wow, that's not right, as i'm normally getting gps fix in 30s to 1min. with all firmwares i've tried it worked well and never had problems.
    hmm, something must be wrong. i hope satellites do fly over serbia (joking :) ).
    hope someone else can help in this situation.
    or you know what- try downloading ndrive from market as it's free without maps or some other app and see how it goes
    and make sure you do go to security & location -- tick use wireless networks --- and enable gps satellites. stand outside again and hope something will work
     
  12. nicholas

    nicholas Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed Ndrive. And went out side, the sky was mildly clear i was waiting for a connection for 15 minutes it just said "waiting for a valid gps signal".
    I gonna ask my friend that has the same phone if he had issues(he didnt buye it whit a carrier).
    I hate this phone i just wanna smash it on the ground and burn the leftovers.:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

    This probably isn't the real problem but its worth a look
    http://www.switched.com/2009/05/19/gps-satellites-could-break-down-by-2010/
    http://www.gpsworld.com/gnss-system/news/new-gps-satellite039s-problems-indicated-7089
     
  13. InfernalH

    InfernalH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, same problem here.

    Interesting is that when I test it with NDrive and click on GPS status, it show's lat/long BUT still says "GPS: No fix".

    I was unable to get it working after waiting for 30mins. Two days in a row with kinda clear sky.

    Any ideas?
     
  14. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    That sounds very strange indeed. Are you sure you've ticked "Use Wireless Networks" as well? It greatly increases the speed of getting a fix.

    Maybe try rebooting the phone and then immediately heading to Google Maps to get a fix? Cos once you get a GPS fix on maps the position should be shared throughout to all apps.
     
    InfernalH likes this.
  15. InfernalH

    InfernalH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have my "Use wireless networks" checked.

    I'll try your advise in a hour or two and give back if I succeeded to get a fix!
     
  16. InfernalH

    InfernalH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, that tip actually worked. It got fix on Google Maps quickly, then I turned on NDrive and it got fix in a moment too. But then something interesting happened: it dropped GPS fix after 3-4 seconds, then got it back in 3-4 and so on in endless loop (well, 10 mins of trying). I've also opened GPS test program from market and it showed nice permanent fix, accuracy, etc, without any problems

    I guess it might be NDrive issue then...
     
  17. damuffinman

    damuffinman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    13
    Try Sygic or Copilot, they're both quite good from personal experience ;)
     
  18. InfernalH

    InfernalH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll take a look :)
     
  19. mikvdw

    mikvdw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I have a Galaxy I7500 and I have the same problem.

    I shearch a fix for my GPS.

    verry Thanks

    Mik
     
  20. razvanmoise83

    razvanmoise83 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. Lelouch

    Lelouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    70
    Apparently, GAOSP 3 Beta 1 doesn't have that problem. With it Galaxy gets faster GPS fix then before. But it's still Beta so problems/issues are bound to exist.
     

Share This Page

Loading...