Galaxy I7500 - Process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly.....Support


Last Updated:

  1. krangstyle

    krangstyle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I have a Samsung I7500, its latest issue means I cant ring anyone.

    A message pops up and says "The process com.android.phone has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again"

    It is like I have no network coverage.

    Has anyone seen this before?

    The SIM is not damaged as it works fine in my N95 8GB
     

    Advertisement
  2. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Welcome to the forum! :D

    I'm sorry to hear about your troubles. I'm assuming you meant to say that you can't ring anyone (not that your phone is in godmode with direct lines to Elvis and the pope ;)).

    I suppose you've tried to reboot. Have you tried resetting the phone? Depending on the amount of apps you've already put on it, that may be a bit of a hassle*.

    What firmware version are you on? Home->Menu->Settings->About phone->the last 4 entries.
    You might consider upgrading to the latest firmware, or maybe even a custom one (it's soo worth it).


    _________
    * Resetting the phone erases your install apps and their settings, including text messages and call logs, but does not erase photos or other stuff on your sdcard storage. You might want to use backup apps to salvage your text messages and call logs, and you can also backup your apps. Browse the forum for more info.
     
  3. krangstyle

    krangstyle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks heaps mate.

    I am running 1.5

    I think I will reset the phone, how do I do that? Will this be an ongoing thing? I dont really like the idea of resting the phone every month

    What custom Firmware are you running?
     
  4. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Right,
    you can do a "factory reset" by way of Home->Menu->Settings->SD card & storage->Factory data reset". As I said, don't worry about anything you have on your sdcard -- the menu is a bit too vaguely worded (but in any case, making a backup never hurt anyone...).

    You should not normally need to reset your phone. That's akin to re-installing your home computer, which is something that is done only rarely and usually after too-much tinkering.

    You might have to reboot every now and then, to clear caches or install services or something -- this thing runs linux under the bonnet, so I'm not really sure if you ever really need to reboot, but I've done so on occasion.
    -Oh right! When the "no APN" bug bites me, it's usually resolved with a single reboot.

    I'm running the Galaxo mod, version 1.6.3.2 (that's the 2nd release of the Galaxo rom that's based on Android OS v1.6.3, I think). There's a 1.6.3.3 out now too, but AFAIK the only upside is improved tethering which I have no use for anyway. The benefit of doing this is a massive increase in responsiveness, but with this particular mod you get very few changes to the overall UI (more home screens, dragging an app to the trash asks to uninstall, that's about it I think).

    A note on upgrading: you will need to install "NPS" (Samsung New PC Studio) in order to install the usb drivers etc. for your pc to be able to see your phone, but apart from that its use cannot be recommended. Most everyone here uses a firmware-flashing app called Odin which works solidly (once you are able to establish a usb connection with said drivers).
     
  5. krangstyle

    krangstyle New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks heaps for that :)

    Phone is working again.

    I will look into these new firmwares, are they hard to install?
     
  6. mrqs

    mrqs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    no, installing a standard firmware with odin is just clicking a bunch of buttons

    some custom roms like galaxo and gaosp might be a little more involved (still haven't installed one myself, but am planning to do so)
     
  7. master darko

    master darko Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have not rooted and/or hacked phones before, installing Galaxo (best custom rom) can be a little bit daunting at first.

    Installing standard 1.5 or 1.6 Roms with Odin is very easy provided you have all drivers sorted out, drivers which vista and beyond install auto.

    Sent from my Galaxy using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

Loading...