Galaxy Nexus Watering Hole


Last Updated:

  1. DSCR

    DSCR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    309
    how do you measure the actual output? Multimeter? App?
     

    Advertisement
  2. lovebyte21

    lovebyte21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    71
    When I bought mine on launch day at Best Buy the salesperson told me there were already plans to offer it in white. I think he may have even mentioned February. Its also possible they could get the white exclusive like they did with the Stratosphere.
     
  3. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    178
    been meaning to post this for a while. get one of these adapters: Amazon.com: motorola car charger

    they are OEM motorola, they give you .95 AMP which is close enough to 1 amp and they cost $5 and no need to buy usb cables.

    I have one, it works perfect with the GNEX, charges as fast as the AC.

    Don't get me wrong, I don't mind spending money on my new toy, I got a $50 otterbox to keep it safe and a $25 battery. But people overspending on car charges is a pet peeve of mine. The cellphone manufacturers have been scamming us with this since the beginning of cell phones.
     
  4. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    178
    here's an easy to follow and indepth tutorial on juicedefender. without it, it is confusing. even if you don't follow all the settings, read the guys explanation of the big picture at the end. makes sense of JD.

    http://androidforums.com/verizon-galaxy-nexus/477968-good-juice-defender-tutorial.html
     
    RazorSharp likes this.
  5. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,691
    Likes Received:
    8,364
    Wow, I'm in trouble. I find the tutorial confusing. ;) I can't even find it.
     
    mistermojorizi, CaptainRon and Stigy like this.
  6. HanSolo

    HanSolo Guest

    So I got tired of Lydia in Skyrim. I took her out to an isolated frozen wasteland and killed her.

    Now I'm married to Aela the Huntress!

    Lol
     
    Khatmandu and halon like this.
  7. HanSolo

    HanSolo Guest


    Wow I'm glad I didn't get it! I spent a part of my bonus on a new laptop that can finally play 2011 high end games.

    Google is working on a nexus tablet for this year anyway. I forgot where I read it.

    I will wait for that.

    With my ski trip coming up in two weeks, I will be spent out anyway.
     
  8. CaptainRon

    CaptainRon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    I would like to read the tutorial if you can try again to post it. :)
     
  9. halon

    halon hakuna matata VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,397
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    You cold, heartless...LOL
     
  10. BabyBlues

    BabyBlues Trouble Just Finds Me! VIP Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    13,125
    Likes Received:
    9,766
    Wow. I hope you never get tired of Princess Leia. :p
     
  11. lovebyte21

    lovebyte21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    71

    Dang, I just tried getting it from GetJar but I get the message "No compatible version found for Google Galaxy Nexus". :confused:
     
  12. firechicken

    firechicken Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
  13. IHateMyTreo

    IHateMyTreo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    958
    Don't even THINK about what Hanette would call him.
     
  14. bxojr

    bxojr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    130
    Make sure your phone isn't trying to connect anyway. One of my gripes about Android (though I suppose it might apply to other phones too) is that it will always try to use a Wi-Fi network it knows (that is, one it has connected to before) in preference to 3G/4G, even if the Wi-Fi signal is barely detectable. If it can see the network at all, it will try to connect, even if the connection is so bad it's useless.

    So if you've ever connected to your work Wi-Fi in the past, I'd go into the settings and tell it to "forget" that network.
     
  15. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    178
  16. RazorSharp

    RazorSharp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    1,852
  17. SHIVA77

    SHIVA77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    70
    I am on the phone with Samsung about the battery charger and why does it go into flashing amber when you leave the battery in there.


    [​IMG]
    I have so far talked with 3 people with no resolve. I am on hold for another department.

    The issue is this, every time I park the battery in there, the LED on the charger starts blinking amber which is not a good sign. Flashing amber is usually a warning.

    OK, two agents now have said that flashing amber means "Standby." And if you park the battery in there for days there is no issue.
     
  18. SHIVA77

    SHIVA77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    70
    Question for you guys, what's a good Call Recorder App. I checked out a few and they all get lots of 1 stars. Thanks.
     
  19. BlueBiker

    BlueBiker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,534
    Likes Received:
    924
    Looks awesome on my phone too, thanks for sharing!

    Good find. They repeat the same old line about task-managers being harmful without any qualifications. Just this morning I was forced to kill a newsreader app that had gotten confused and wouldn't fetch more reads. Without a task manager I would've had to reboot my phone -- not friendly.

    Seems like an unfinished product if you have to fix it on arrival. :confused:

    In theory it could be the higher end OMAP4470 that has a better GPU and is good for up to 1.8GHz, but IDK if that's out yet.
     
  20. lovebyte21

    lovebyte21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    71
  21. AntimonyER

    AntimonyER AF Addict VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    13,646
    Likes Received:
    8,004
    I don't know why, but all of a sudden my phone refuses to switch to 4G unless I toggle airplane mode after it has a 3G connection. Didn't give me any trouble the first three weeks.
     
  22. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    11,047
    Likes Received:
    9,056
    Hey folks, question:

    Is Volume+ only for rooted phones? I downloaded it and set it up... but for the life of me I can tell no difference.

    I can find no settings in Accessibility to configure it :confused:

    EDIT: NVM, Apparently I had to reboot. DUH
     
  23. RazorSharp

    RazorSharp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Uh oh... I think I'm in trouble! This might be an emergency.

    I opened ROM Manager and scrolled down to "Backup current ROM" in the Backup and Restore section, hoping that was how to make a nandroid. The phone immediately went to the boot screen, then showed a picture of an Android lying with its chest open and a red triangle with an exclamation point.

    EDIT: Okay, update, after letting it just sit for a few minutes, the screen went blank, then back to the boot screen, after which it successfully rebooted. Nothing appears to be missing. Did I do any damage to the phone? Uh, also, how do I make a nandroid?
     
  24. halon

    halon hakuna matata VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    4,397
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Mine did that once when I was trying to root? I was scared I killed it!
     
  25. brocktice

    brocktice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    104
    That is fastboot, don't panic. Not sure why it didn't reboot into recovery though. Try trying into recovery and doing the backup from there.

    EDIT: wait, with the red triangle it's not fastboot. Anyway, try going straight to recovery like I said.
     

Share This Page

Loading...