• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Galaxy Note - China Mobile

Hi all,

I am completely new to android based phones and was recently given as a gift a Galaxy Note :)
The phone was purchased for me by my in-laws who are based in Beijing and although having played around with it for a few days it seems to be working ok.
There are obviously China Mobile specific apps on there which are redundant but I just wanted to ask the question whether or not I should be aware of anything else that might cause me issues due to it being a phone from another country (China is this case).
Btw I am based in the UK.

Thanks

djj

Hi,

Now that I know a little more about android and the fact a colleague at work has a UK Galaxy Note I can see the differences. One major one was the absence of Android Market app on the device.
Can anyone advise the best way to get this loaded on the device?
I have setup the phone with a giffgaff sim and all seems well enough. I did have like many people it seems a few issues with the kies software and USB connection but that is all working now.
Would certainly like to hear from other people out there who also have a phone brought in from China or the far east to see how they are getting on?

djj

Upvote 0
Thanks for the Google Play download - problem is once I run it it comes up with 'You must add an account to the device to continue ..' I click Yes and the program just terminates. Searching around I see this problem a lot with people who have rooted their phones which is something I have not done but maybe because it's from China it has some restriction??. Btw Is this the only way I can get my Google Play account linked to the device?