Galaxy S root hack on Samsung Vibrant


Last Updated:

  1. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Has anyone gave it a try yet?

    Supposedly The original galaxy S root hack is supposed to work with all versions of which should include the Samsung Vibrant.
     

    Advertisement
  2. spiz

    spiz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    128
    I haven't yet. Don't really have a need with as fast as this thing is.
     
  3. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84

    Yeah thats true well in any case there are already 2 developers over at XDA working on some roms one of them is working on porting cyanogenmod6 of which if I am not mistaken has 2.2 Android.
     
  4. DKYang

    DKYang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    19
    Gonna wait for Froyo to come out first before I decide to root. All I really care about is the wireless tethering for now.
     
  5. Bschwartz40

    Bschwartz40 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've Done it and it works very well. To confirm I used Titanium Backup and it works. Also used ShootMe for the screen cap. :D
     
    2FR35H likes this.
  6. HoOn

    HoOn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used it too myself when I got my Vibrant yesterday. It was easy to do! It took longer for me to make Windows 7 detect my Vibrant. :)
     
    2FR35H likes this.
  7. coolguy949

    coolguy949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    17
    Are there any downsides or bugs that happen because of root like some other phones?
     
  8. chaoscentral

    chaoscentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    91
    none that ive noticed yet, better yet I removed some of the ******ed preloaded apps I will never use like avatar and Telenav :)
     
  9. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have to do anything special to remove the preloaded apps? Was just an option in the superuser? After removing them, is it possible to remove the root after and keep the apps gone?
     
  10. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
  11. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    I miss that a lot. The iPhone did a screen shot witout having to hack it. I used it all the time and is useful in forums. Especially useful sending MMS too.
     
  12. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, thanks. Now, do you know if the "bloatware" apps can be deleted or removed with a simple "Click" on the phone, or searched and removed in a windows directory or have to be removed in the command promt DOS style window? I only ask because i suck at dealing with the command prompt, and will probably not even try it if its that way.
    Thanks for the help.
     
  13. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    your going to have to rm -r them in terminal
     
  14. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was affraid of that. Is there a post thats "How to navigate Terminal for Dummies"? From what im seeing, rm - r means remove? Is there a listing of what to rm - r for all the apps that come with the phone?
     
  15. noonehereyet

    noonehereyet No One... VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    78
    here are the commands:

    su
    rm -r /system/app/appname.apk



    FYI it is case sensitive so if the app has caps make sure us use them....
     
    Sho Nuff likes this.
  16. chaoscentral

    chaoscentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    91
    and an easy way to list the contents of the app directory type

    Code (Text):
    1. cd /system/app
    2. ls
    then you are left with a list of available apks and you can do what you want with them
     
  17. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you noonehereyet, that helped, i was able to remove several that way, just not all, so im not sure what i am doing wrong. Can't remove kindle, TeleNav, think free and many others. Any ideas? I did make sure i used Caps where they were.


    Chaoscentral,

    How or where do i type in "cd /system/app"? I tried it after i entered sdk\tools, after su, and even after abd shell, but it will not show the list. At what point do i enter it?
     
  18. chaoscentral

    chaoscentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    91

    connect your phone to your pc in debug mode

    open up a command prompt window in your sdk/tools directory

    then type

    Code (Text):
    1. adb shell *enter*
    2. su *enter*
    3. cd /system/app *enter*
    4. ls *enter*
    then you should be presented with a wall of text each line being an apk

    then use

    Code (Text):
    1. rm /system/app/yourapkname.apk
     
    Sho Nuff likes this.
  19. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, that was perfect. Do you know if i should be removing the .apk and the odex? Whats the difference. If i never ever plan on having the app back on the phone, should i just remove both? For example, on my Vibrant, it came with the Avatar app along with the movie on the external sim. I removed the .apk and the app is now gone, but i also see a .odex, should i get rid of that too?

    Sorry for all the questions, but im a new Android user (iphone user for 2 years), so all of this is a little different than when i hacked my iphone.
     
  20. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Wouldn't it be a lot easier and safer for rooting newbies to freeze unwanted stock apps using titanium backup?
     
  21. chaoscentral

    chaoscentral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    91
    the odex files basically contain all the classes for the apk, so if you plan on removing them permanently remove the apps, just delete them, othersiw you can use the move command like so if u plan on resotring them back later or change your mind.

    Code (Text):
    1. mv /system/app/yourapkfile.apk /sdcard/backup/yourapkfile.apk
     
  22. Sho Nuff

    Sho Nuff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Man, you rock, i got rid of everything i did not want, all of yours and noonehereyet's help was great. I am finally done with moding this phone.

    One last question, do you know what the name of the Think Free Office .apk is?
     

Share This Page

Loading...