Galaxy s3 decided the year is 1936...Support


Last Updated:

  1. camdaddy

    camdaddy New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My mother has a galaxy s3. There is something severely wrong with it. The first warning sign is that notifications pop up that applications that are not even running have stopped. After that, the phone changes its date to June 1936 (always this date for some reason). After this, the phone will not connect to any network, 3g 4g or wifi, and will not send texts or make calls, and after a few minutes just begins to randomly restart itself. I have taken it to a sprint store, and best buy 3 times (where she has insurance), and they all seem to be completely dumbfounded by this issue, and only suggest a factory restart, which doesn't help. I thought possibly something in her google account was corrupt, but even creating a new account after a factory restart did no good. Any clues?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,893
    Likes Received:
    13,076
    Best buy insurance will replace the device without a deductible.

    I'd suggest replacing it, if a factory reset didn't fix it, its a hardware failure.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  3. camdaddy

    camdaddy New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to mention that part. They did replace it. Second phone has the same problem. They connected the two to import the contacts.
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;) VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    21,470
    Likes Received:
    7,242
    Haunted!
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    17,893
    Likes Received:
    13,076
    Sounds like its a problem with either the network or saved settings to the Google account.

    Check your date and time settings. Try unchecking the box that says automatic

    What carrier do you have?
     
    funkylogik and Mikestony like this.
  6. nomarsgirl

    nomarsgirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    68
    Well of course it won't connect to any networks or make calls or texts. Cellular networks and Wi-Fi didn't exist in 1936.

    Sorry. Not helpful but I couldn't resist.
     

Share This Page

Loading...