Galaxy Sim UnlcokSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Meia

    Meia Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, it seems i've searched enough.

    But i didn't find what i'm looking for.

    So here it goes.

    I'm about to buy a Galaxy. But here it's exclusive to TMN ( cell operator )

    I use Vodafone. So i'm obviously about to unlock my Galaxy the same day i buy it.

    I have an Omnia ( I900 ) at this moment and it's unlocking was very easy.

    Go to dialer, enter a code that would open a service menu. Chose SIM LOCK and disable it. Soft reboot and voila...

    Anyway i learned it too late so i have an X-SIM that allows me to use my phone with any sim card.

    My question is, did anyone unlocked a Galaxy ?

    How ?

    Anybody think my X-Sim will work on it ?

    Any ideas are welcome.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    samsung service could do it for you, but you'll lose waranty.
     
  3. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Are you sure they have locked the phones? I dont think any of the other operators have locked them yet.

    Samsung use a simsecure section i think, so you'll need an unlock tool, or a code from your operator to do it. The xsim might work for a while, but eventually u'll need to refresh the sim in another phone.

    You can also look on ebay, there are some pretty cheap ones coming from germany that are simunlocked.

    *shameless advert*
    I'm also selling mine if you're interested! Very good condition, and i'll customise it for you if u want :)
     
  4. Meia

    Meia Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thankss friend but i have 10% discount from a market price for a brand new phone as i work at a store of operator that sells the galaxy here... :)

    Well, i'm also curious about knowing did they lock their phones.

    If anyone has 2 sim from different operators give it a try please and post here the country of phone and result of the expirience.

    Hope there is a way to unlock it as Omnia does.

    Anybody tried mastercodes described at wiki ?

    Is there an option to unlock as Omnia has ?



    If Samsung service would unlock my phone, i wouldn't lose my warranty.
    I'll loose it if I use codes on my own or unlock box.

    But i must say, Samsung Portugal (and other cell brands) isn't worried about it when phone is sent to warranty by operators store cos it's not a Samsung warranty but it's cell operator warranty.

    I work in one of such stores and we ( operator store ) decide about phone has or not warranty and repair center only does their job, nothing more.
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trust me there isnt an easy way to do it! Master codes etc dont really unlock the phone. Some phones have some bug that means u can bypass it etc.

    You might find an online store that can generate a code for you, or an unlock box that can do it.

    My galaxy is O2 branded from germany and wasnt locked. None of the German O2 ones are locked.

    UK O2 phones are also unlocked.

    I think french ones are also unlocked.

    If you work in the store can't u quickly test it before u buy?

    BTW what price are you paying? Because you'll find them very cheap on ebay too!
     
  6. Meia

    Meia Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, thanks for that info, it means there is a great possibility that mine will be unlocked.

    Anyway if i need, i wouldn't search for an online store, there are many stores here in Portugal that unlock your mobile in front of you. A friend of mine has one also. But Smartphones isn't his area...

    It's price here is 400€ now.

    Take off 10%

    And I also can buy when i want and the phone will be payed from my salary at the end of the month.

    And i also love to buy brand new... :D

    And my warranty is always used. Even if phone works great, before i sell it, it travels to a repair center. As you may know, in EU, if you have something reapired, it renews its warranty for another 2 years.

    I'm about to sell my Omnia which i bought a year ago with 2 year warranty.
    And now, 1 year after, it still has 2 year warranty so i can sell it at higher price... :D


    P.S.: it's not very good testing the phone before i "sell" it to me. When you power on the phone for the first time, it registers its IMEI at operators system and from that moment the phone is active all operators of this country share the same database about active phones...
     
  7. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok fair enough. But i was talking about people on ebay who get it on contract then sell it new - u have waranty etc. you can get one unlocked at 300 euros or probably even less now.
     
  8. Meia

    Meia Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, i'm aware about it, but as you noticed, i pay a little more but when i sell my phone, i use to get good money for it. and for that i need to use warranty, a thing that is difficult to use when bought on ebay...
     
  9. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Actually nope! Becuase the phone is only manufactured x months ago, a receipt is not needed. You still have 2 year waranty. You have to love the EU!

    I totally agree with you tho, you pay a little bit more to get it locally and deal with it locally. Its worth it. I was just trying to point out the other option :) Its may mean an argument to get it warantied, but technically you are still covered
     
  10. Meia

    Meia Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, after lots of googling and hours of reading i've changed my mind.

    I'm decided to buy HTC Magic.

    I love Samsung production but there are some points that make htc a smarter choice.

    First: Galaxy has Android 1.5 and Magic has 1.6 native.

    Second: HTC is giving more support to their product than Samsung does. Everybody can confirm that by reading a topic here on android forums that Samsung won't provide Android 1.6 for Galaxy.

    Third: The guys from XDA are great developers and only buying an HTC i get a real benefit from their great work. Thinking about my Omnia, I use lots of things people from XDA made for HTC and then someone ported it for Omnia. And there are tons of things i would like to have/ try that was made by guys from XDA and i couldn't cus i had a Samsung.

    So Looking at this expirience i think HTC is better for me as my phone never stops, i want more and more from it everyday.


    Some good points for Samsung:

    It has AMOLED and it's really a great screen technology but i think it's not that big advantage since Magic screen is capacitive also and I really care about capacitive and not much about AMOLED.

    Samsung has 5MP camera and Flash. But i don't use my phone to make lots of photos so 3.2MP is still good for me and no flash also.

    And one last factor i noticed only after changing my mind.

    Here brand new Samsung Galaxy goes for 400
     
  11. MichaelW

    MichaelW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    26
    Just a quick point that HTC won't provide 1.6 for the Hero either.

    Who knows, samsung may surprise us all yet and release 2.0 in January at the same time as HTC updates.
     
  12. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am using my galaxy with 3 different sim cards.
    2 Turkish Sims and 1 Macedonian Sim
     

Share This Page

Loading...