Gaosp


Last Updated:

  1. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    Hi folks,

    Is there anyone who has their I7500 flashed with GAOSP instead of an original firmware (for day to day use), and if so, what's your experience?

    I'm probably not the only one who's fed up waiting for Samsung to do a proper release of 2.X, I'd much rather have a community backed, 100% stock android system... (I don't really see the point of mods that install other homescreen software, loads of programs I'll never use, while I just want the bugs in stock android 1.5 fixed or an upgrade to 2.1)
     

    Advertisement
  2. unchai

    unchai New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    tried, GAOSP 2.1 is good, I just wait the CAM app is includes in Further BETA.
    some minor bugs not affecting me, I didn't encounter a serious battery drain when I was using GAOSP Beta 7, but the battery life is shorter than IL3 (1.5) or JB2 (1.6).

    Performance so far was ok, you need to understand i7500 is running with 528MHz CPU + 192MB ram only.

    You can upgrade to JB2 or IL3 if you don't want a beta.
     
  3. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    gaosp is nice in the things that work.

    3d, videos, camera, bt, secured apps on the market don't work.
     
  4. Mordred

    Mordred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can anyone compare applications loading speed between 1.5/1.6 and GAOSP?

    Since I've flashed to JB2 (now JC4), I got big lag when starting Handcent or any other app,...I can wait every app, but not for SMS :(
     
  5. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    didn't notice that on gaosp.
     
  6. Broomfundel

    Broomfundel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mordred,

    Sorry to say I had the same thing. Wipe / Factory reset from the recovery menu resolved it. Obviously that then means you have to restore all your settings again. God Bless Titanium Backup. :)

    It is worth it, as JC4 is noticably faster than any 1.5 / glaxo / Jb2 etc.. that I have tried.
     
  7. Mordred

    Mordred Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I applied wipe before and after updated from H8 to JB2, but from JB2 to JC4 only update PDA...I'll try wipe later today...
     
  8. dsyzug

    dsyzug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    4
  9. tsphere

    tsphere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
    looks very impressive!
     
  10. icedge

    icedge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you give me a download link please?
     
  11. tsphere

    tsphere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
  12. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    can't wait. Hoping it's quite usable.
     
  13. voulis

    voulis Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    link for the beta?????
     
  14. icedge

    icedge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. tsphere

    tsphere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    4
    I can also spell. which makes me 2-0 with you.

    Seriously, give the man time. It will be out when it's out, and a link will be posted both on the gaosp site and in this website.
     
  16. icedge

    icedge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just ask...
     
  17. Djolle

    Djolle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    14
  18. icedge

    icedge New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just ugrade my phone with public beta of gaosp.it's great...:)
    Thank you Drakaz
     
  19. voulis

    voulis Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed 2.1 before and have certain observations: 1. kamera does not work. 2.the reproduction video does not have picture only that sound. 3 I could not syghronise the telephone with google, it gave continuity fault.4 I could not charge the applications google according to the directives gaosp (possibly I am to blaim also i for this). At other I liked a lot and I want to say one I thank in the gaosp for effort that makes also the time that it dedicates for this.I wait for the next publication him to try.
    thanks gaosp
     
  20. FadeFx

    FadeFx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    12
    @voulis

    this is all knowen missing parts in the public BETA, except the google sync wich seems to be caused by not restoring google apps correctly which is for sure you are to blame for... ;-)
     
  21. dryhte

    dryhte Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    28
    Is google sync safe? I mean, If I sync with my google account on gaosp, will I still be able to return to another firmware (say, jc2) and sync? (there were rumors earlier on that you should create a new google account)
     
  22. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    he reason for that is because of the market and not because of the synch
    the market caches info on your phone kernal version and doesnt seem to drop it so when you return back to 1.5 you cannot see all the 1.5 stuff
     
  23. Broomfundel

    Broomfundel Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have not tried the beta because of this, but does anyone know if it happens going from 2.1 back to 1.6 (Instead of 1.5)

    Thanks
     
  24. cryingfreeman

    cryingfreeman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    20
    have anybody recovery v5.0?
     
  25. inFECT

    inFECT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    69
    ryko and MichaelW like this.

Share This Page

Loading...