Gapless music set possible?


Last Updated:

  1. m5houston

    m5houston New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have a music set that is really one long mix, but its divided into the different tracks. Is there a way to get it to play without any gaps in between? On my iphone this same set would play without any noticeable gaps.
     

    Advertisement
  2. randy0242

    randy0242 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    ditto
     
  3. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    the gap at the end of the song is set by you, when you rip the song. i have mine set to 2 seconds, so it's really 4 seconds, 2 at the beginning and at the end. if you have yours set to 5 seconds, you're looking at 10. check your rip settings.
     
  4. randy0242

    randy0242 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I am well aware of that SnotF.

    I rip all my mixed CDs with 0 seconds before or after a track. That's how you rip continuous mixed CDs. When these tracks are played with an iPod/iPhone, WinAmp, MediaPlayer or iTunes there is no gap between the songs, so the continous mix is till intact.

    I am just trying to find out if any developer has made a MP3 player for an Android device that supports gapless playback. This issue is always asked for an no one ever answers the question if the have found a player that DOES support gapless playback and if so, which one?
     
  5. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    This also annoys me with music tracks that lead into each other and there is a clear stop-start between them.
    Having had an iPhone for years it is seriously annoying that such a trivial thing could be over looked. I think nearly all media players these days have fluid track changing and It's a real shame that the stock media app doesn't.
    Maybe it will be added in the future in an update...
     
  6. SnotF

    SnotF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    12
    gapless playback - Android Developers | Google Groups

    this was the closest thing to a definitive answer i could find, other than the suggestion of a program called meridian, although no one ever said whether meridian actually did or did not achieve the desired effect.

    kaotix, this has been an issue dating back to the debut of android that people have complained about to no avail. if they haven't addressed it by now, i doubt they will. my feeling is they simply have bigger fish to fry.
     
  7. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Since day 1! damn that's really bad.
    Could someone not modify the source of the stock music app and fix this themselves? I have heard that even though android is open source, it's not always the latest source thats currently available.
     
  8. randy0242

    randy0242 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw that last night and converted an album to OGG files, transfered them to the Droid Eris and then created a playlist, because the Android player couldn't understand the Track # tag in an OGG file. Still a gap netween songs.
    :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...