Getting a replacement Eris. Quick question about restoring.General


Last Updated:

  1. meatwad

    meatwad Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    After I reciwve my new eris would it be possible to root it, pop in my old sd card and nandroid it back to my old phone's state?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    What were you running on the old Eris? What did you save on the card? Had you done a nand backup?
     
  3. Podivin

    Podivin VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    881
    Assuming you give all of the 'right' answers to Frisco's questions. You would have to rename the /nandroid/HTxxxxxxxx directory be the same as the serial number on your new phone, otherwise the nand restore is not going to find the backup from your old phone.
    There was a thread on this a few weeks ago, I believe that was the only caveat.
     
    meatwad likes this.
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    [​IMG] indeedy.. ;)
     
  5. meatwad

    meatwad Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so here is my plan. First I am rooted running Kaos V32. What I plan to do is root the new one. Nandroid that rom to get the serial number from that. Then copy the nandroid off of my old phone to the new folder. Then flash back the stock rom to my old phone. Will this work or am I risking really screwing something up and bricking my new one.
     
  6. VonKannick

    VonKannick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    Meatwad, I don't see any reason that would not work. It sounds to me like you are thinking exactly correctly. I guess the only catch would be you might need to be sure to use the same recovery (I assume Amon-RA). I recently did something similar with my wife's Droid, and it worked perfectly.
     
    meatwad likes this.
  7. meatwad

    meatwad Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help everyone. I will let you know how it goes when I get my replacement tomorrow.
     
  8. meatwad

    meatwad Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked perfectly it did not miss a beat.
     

Share This Page

Loading...