getting a replacement phone from verizon, titanium backup?


Last Updated:

  1. ucla2042

    ucla2042 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    1
    my phone is rooted, and i am wondering how i can use titanium backup to restore all my old settings and apps on my new phone?
     

    Advertisement
  2. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    someone advised me that it can be done...havent tried it yet but...
    waiting for some serious discussion on this so im subscribing :)
     
  3. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Just do restore all apps & data. I used it a lot when I had my Dinc. I actually had better luck with MyBackUp but TB should work. You may need to do some manual work after but it still saves a ton of work
     
  4. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33
    when u say data, that also includes settings...like brightness level, music profile set to 3-d mode etc?
     
  5. Dark Matter

    Dark Matter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    41
    I did it by backing up all the apps I wanted. Then just copied over the titanium folder that it makes of the backups on the sdcard to my desktop. Then onced I got rooted installed titanium I placed the folder back in the sdcard and restored.
     
  6. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    I really couldn't tell you for sure how much or what. All I was really looking for was restoring my home screens. With that sad I don't recall having to reset any app settings when I used it and it differently restored some but like I said I didn't really look that hard so I can be specific..

    sorry
     
  7. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    If you get a new phone you can just swap the sdcard with the one you've been using.
     
  8. Piiman

    Piiman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    153
    Well I just used it on my replacement DX and it worked like a charm. Only have to redo the widgets. Here what I did

    Swapped my sdcard to the new phone
    used Astro to install and run the root app I had on the sdcard
    once rooted
    reboot
    downloaded TB from market
    (Make sure to select"problems" button and let it download busy box, also make sure it it recognizes you license key)
    Restore "All apps and system data"
    Reboot as soon as TB is done
    Done!
    It looks just like before and has all my setting also (except widgets.)
     
  9. aleis

    aleis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    33

    android is THEE best! :)
    and TB :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...